SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2010-124 (Short sleeve tuxedo shirt)

Viewed 232 times 
Reviewed by:Red Dragon
photo

 
 
About Red Dragonstar
Australia
Member since: 2/4/08
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/30/11 7:07 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Amanda.Claire said...
I may be wrong, but I think after one side of the band is attached lengthwise, that you fold it to back on itself, stitch the bottom edge and then turn it back right side out. I would trim the inside seam allowance at the bottom edge too.
5/30/11 7:45 AM
froggiebecky said...
I may be wrong, too..but I think you are supposed to flip the button band so it is right side out, fold/press the seam allowances so that they are inside the button band, and stitch them down, either by topstitching near the edge of the band, or by hand-stitching the band closed.
5/30/11 11:26 AM
Kemish said...
I understand your frustration in using Burda instructions. As they say, "I feel your pain". I usually give up on them and go to a how-to sewing book which usually can provide the basic sewing process, and then I usually guess fom there. Not the best method I suppose but it seems the only way -for me- to get the project done.
5/30/11 12:05 PM
taylormade said...
Red dragon, I just spent about 1/2 hour writing you a note about this pattern which I pulled out and studied, and then I lost the comment! I'm so bummed I was going to forget it, but then I've done all this work and so I might as well share! Your top opens all the way down. There are 8 buttons, 4 of which are marked on the band, and the next three are on the "buttonhole band'. then there is one on the collar edge. So essentially the buttonhole band is cut per instructions and then stitched on the short ends RST, turned right side out, pressed, and the folded edge lines up with the front edge of your blouse band. It is attached on the bottom of the blouse. (If you measure that section it is about 13 3/4" the length of the buttonhole band.) They want you to attach it to the seam allowance of the self facing that you've turned in (vertical basting they mention) and it should line up with the bottom of the blouse front band once you have sewn the facing on the bottom band closed (Just turn the facing back on itself and stitch across the bottom to finish the edge). The b. band should be no longer than the blouse band when finished. I read through the instructions about 5 times and each time it made a little more sense to me. They have you hemming the top before you attach the bands. Then when you finish the band everything will line up. They also have you working the buttonholes after everything is sewn together and you might want to rethink that! Hopes this helps1 Mary Taylor
5/31/11 12:41 PM
Red Dragon said...
Mary, thank you soooo much for explaining this! I gave up last night and tossed the buttonhole band and mocked it up how I thought it should work. I can add your instructions to the pattern envelope now and use it if I ever go back. Thanks for the support, all. Tracy
6/1/11 4:37 AM
taylormade said...
Glad itt finally made sense! If you don'y like the blouse buttoned up all the way, perhaps you could wear it like a little jacket and cami underneath? Good "working" with you :) M.T.
6/1/11 7:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8696

photo
by: mimi g.

Review
StyleArc Nikki Dress

photo
by: Robin Denn...

Review
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Buy Now