SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2010-124 (Short sleeve tuxedo shirt)

Viewed 236 times 
Reviewed by:Red Dragon
photo

 
 
About Red Dragonstar
Australia
Member since: 2/4/08
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/30/11 7:07 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
taylormade said...
Glad itt finally made sense! If you don'y like the blouse buttoned up all the way, perhaps you could wear it like a little jacket and cami underneath? Good "working" with you :) M.T.
6/1/11 7:27 AM
Red Dragon said...
Mary, thank you soooo much for explaining this! I gave up last night and tossed the buttonhole band and mocked it up how I thought it should work. I can add your instructions to the pattern envelope now and use it if I ever go back. Thanks for the support, all. Tracy
6/1/11 4:37 AM
taylormade said...
Red dragon, I just spent about 1/2 hour writing you a note about this pattern which I pulled out and studied, and then I lost the comment! I'm so bummed I was going to forget it, but then I've done all this work and so I might as well share! Your top opens all the way down. There are 8 buttons, 4 of which are marked on the band, and the next three are on the "buttonhole band'. then there is one on the collar edge. So essentially the buttonhole band is cut per instructions and then stitched on the short ends RST, turned right side out, pressed, and the folded edge lines up with the front edge of your blouse band. It is attached on the bottom of the blouse. (If you measure that section it is about 13 3/4" the length of the buttonhole band.) They want you to attach it to the seam allowance of the self facing that you've turned in (vertical basting they mention) and it should line up with the bottom of the blouse front band once you have sewn the facing on the bottom band closed (Just turn the facing back on itself and stitch across the bottom to finish the edge). The b. band should be no longer than the blouse band when finished. I read through the instructions about 5 times and each time it made a little more sense to me. They have you hemming the top before you attach the bands. Then when you finish the band everything will line up. They also have you working the buttonholes after everything is sewn together and you might want to rethink that! Hopes this helps1 Mary Taylor
5/31/11 12:41 PM
Kemish said...
I understand your frustration in using Burda instructions. As they say, "I feel your pain". I usually give up on them and go to a how-to sewing book which usually can provide the basic sewing process, and then I usually guess fom there. Not the best method I suppose but it seems the only way -for me- to get the project done.
5/30/11 12:05 PM
froggiebecky said...
I may be wrong, too..but I think you are supposed to flip the button band so it is right side out, fold/press the seam allowances so that they are inside the button band, and stitch them down, either by topstitching near the edge of the band, or by hand-stitching the band closed.
5/30/11 11:26 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
I may be wrong, but I think after one side of the band is attached lengthwise, that you fold it to back on itself, stitch the bottom edge and then turn it back right side out. I would trim the inside seam allowance at the bottom edge too.
5/30/11 7:45 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Burda 7203

photo
by: norie crea...

Review

Pattern

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now