Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5211 (Knock-Off Contest Entry) thumbsup - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in Knock-Off Contest - 2011 Contest    printable version
Viewed 462 times 23 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:pegsewer
photo
About pegsewerstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 10/6/10
Reviews written: 54
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 54
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/30/11 10:16 AM
Last Updated:5/30/11 10:45 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $15.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
DorothyK said...
Peggy, the final product is spectacular - so YOU! You carry the dress and the to-die-for earrings fantastically well. I like your choice of fabric and colors. They work very well. I bet this dress would also work in a silk noil. You should be very proud of this endeavor.
5/30/11 2:58 PM
arianamaniacs said...
So much work, but it turned out great! I bet you feel great when you wear this. I love the asymetrical cut!
5/30/11 3:11 PM
Karenino said...
I had a look at your blog pictures and I can really see how the "evolution" of the drape and lines developed through all your muslins towards your final product. Really wonderful! Congrats!
5/30/11 5:05 PM
Annette1 said...
Just WHO'S knocking off WHOM here? :o) This is fabulous and, just as Dorothy says, so YOU. :o) I love the colors, too. (It's been so long since I've commented on PR, I'm almost too embarassed TO comment, but here I am anyway!) BRAVO!
5/30/11 6:16 PM
Karendee said...
You have really risen to face the challenge of replicating that design. I so enjoyed following along as you were making all those dresses.
5/30/11 8:47 PM
Karendee said...
You have really risen to face the challenge of replicating that design. I so enjoyed following along as you were making all those dresses.
5/30/11 8:47 PM
Karendee said...
You have really risen to face the challenge of replicating that design. I so enjoyed following along as you were making all those dresses.
5/30/11 8:48 PM
Karendee said...
Excuse all the posts.
5/30/11 8:48 PM
mm said...
Success at last. Well done you. It looks fantastic and what a journey of discovery.
5/30/11 9:07 PM
fattyboomboom said...
Your perseverance is truly inspirational! Congratulations on all your hard work and a beautiful dress too!
5/31/11 9:09 AM
SewWil said...
Your dress turned out GREAT!!! It looks wonderful on you. I've enjoyed reading about the process of making this dress.
5/31/11 12:22 PM
Carol Mendoza said...
It turned out great!
5/31/11 1:06 PM
Aroura said...
Wow, very impressive! What a lot of work, but a great finished piece. You look fantastic!
6/2/11 1:05 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Spectacular to say the least. Your final version is priceless. Good luck!
6/2/11 1:57 PM
Dale C said...
What a unique, interesting dress! I really love the way the asymmetrical lines are emphasized by the drape. All your work paid off.
6/2/11 2:53 PM
MACANNE999 said...
I can't vote as I haven't been a member long enough, but if I could I would vote for your dress.
6/2/11 4:16 PM
Ann Smith said...
What an amazing process you went through to achieve this knockoff. Now will you produce the pattern for me? I love this.
6/2/11 7:24 PM
JillyBe said...
I'm glad you stuck with it, because I think the results are fabulous! And you wear it so well :)
6/3/11 2:12 PM
annakeeton said...
This was fun to follow your process with creating your dress- you nailed the drape!
6/3/11 6:01 PM
Sewingelle said...
awesome!
6/7/11 0:21 AM
Rosesred said...
What an awesome knockoff looks so very chic on you!
6/7/11 10:26 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Thank you so much for recording you process in your blog, I will have a fun reading it, your dress is impressive and just stunning, congratulation!!!
6/13/11 12:03 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Vogue Patterns 8742 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by GoodbyeVal... on 2/14/13
Read Review

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Baby Toy Basics Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Baby Toy Basics Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 4-8)
Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 4-8)

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 4703
photo
Review by maryfrana on 1/3/09
Read Review

Burda 7134 Pattern
Burda 7134 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6598 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6598 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us