SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2804 (Empire crossover top)

44 more reviews
Viewed 392 times 
Reviewed by:clothingengineer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About clothingengineerstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/7/10
Reviews written: 208
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 97 people
patterns reviewed: 198
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:6/1/11 9:00 AM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cleverkitty said...
I'm getting ready to make this and your review was helpful, the sweetheart top I had to make three times before it fit the way I wanted it to, so I think I will make a muslin before making this one too :) thanks!
5/21/14 8:56 PM
Raye Ann said...
I also had to adjust this pattern quite a bit, but it was also my first Jalie. I didn't have to use different sizes for bust/waist/ hip, but did have to do a broad back adjustment. I didn't have to do that for any of my other Jalies. This pattern just seemed to have a closer fit than the others....but I love it and made it a few times once I got the fit worked out. Your top looks very cute!
6/2/11 0:09 AM
clothingengineer said...
MNBarb - I think the stretch and drape of the fabric has a lot to do with it. I've made the Jalie sweetheart top out of a sturdy cotton/lycra knit and the neckline was at least an inch higher than when I used an extremely stretchy, lighter weight rayon/lycra jersey. Both had 4-way stretch but the rayon had more stretch lengthwise than the cotton did, so everything got shifted a bit lower.
6/1/11 2:28 PM
MNBarb said...
I wonder if it's this pattern or if crossover tops are just difficult to fit considering all of the heights and shapes of bustlines. I had to add inches to the bodice of my version so the seam didn't end up at the bust apex. It looks like you have it all figured out and can now make another.
6/1/11 11:27 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
I so agree with all of your comments. I have this pattern and I have had to adjust this one more than even my other Jalie patterns. It is a very cute top and I think worth all of the extra effort. Thanks for the review!
6/1/11 9:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2010-111

photo
by: allycovey

Review
Other GertiesBook

photo
by: LDT2011

Review
Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Petite Plus D202 DVD

Buy Now