Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Ottobre Woman Magazine: 02-2008-08 (Cross-Front Top) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 385 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Amanda.Claire
photo
Friend of PR
About Amanda.Clairestar
Member since: 3/20/07
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 36
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/2/11 6:01 PM
Last Updated:6/21/11 6:57 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Super cute!
6/2/11 6:47 PM
Seaspur said...
Great top! I had a look at your seam allowance curve. Brilliant idea! I too prefer 3/8" allowances and really resent it when I sew a pattern that has the 5/8ths already added. I try to stick to Knipmode, Burdastyle. La Mia Boutique. I would love to purchase the curve but I notice that you only ship within the US and I live in Canada. Any chance you would consider shipping it north of the 49th?
6/2/11 7:26 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Seaspur, I would be happy to ship to you in Canada. I just set that site up quickly and was not sure what to charge in shipping. I'll try and fix that on Etsy.
6/2/11 7:59 PM
sewing for fun said...
Beautiful top. The print and black accents look perfect together - very fresh looking!
6/2/11 9:46 PM
Mufffet said...
Looks very pretty!
6/3/11 0:39 AM
MNBarb said...
You've taken a simple pattern and made it into something very eye-catching.
6/3/11 8:20 AM
21wale said...
I guess we had the same idea in mind! This is very classy in black and white and I'm glad you were able to get a good fit without a camisole.
6/4/11 9:14 AM
Hilary said...
Both versions of your top are really cute! I love the black and white fabric especially, its very pretty. The pink lace edging is really nice too!
6/21/11 9:34 PM
sewing for fun said...
The tops are so beautiful. Your fit it wonderful, too. Can you expand a little on your dental floss technique?
6/21/11 11:12 PM
ArtAttack said...
Great top...they all look cute on you!
6/21/11 11:20 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Sewing for fun: About 1/4 inch from the edge, zigzag over dental floss without sewing through it. Take the dental floss and push the fabric together so that it is eased and not gathered. Then apply the binding. Dental floss is a great way to add gathers too.
6/22/11 8:00 AM
SewWil said...
Very pretty tops! Thanks for the review.
6/22/11 9:51 AM
nicegirl said...
A very nice top! I like that you created 3 different looks with your choice of fabric and trim.
6/22/11 11:00 AM
Ericaeli said...
This is a really nice top. I think I need to give it another look.
6/22/11 11:33 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2005-117 Moto jacket
photo
Review by HawkeMorni... on 4/30/13
Read Review

Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 6M- 4)
Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 6M- 4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern  ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5415
photo
Review by Anniinbc on 12/20/10
Read Review

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt
Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Library Dress Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Library Dress Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3506 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3506 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us