SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4044 (1940's Retro Suit)

14 more reviews
Viewed 339 times 
Reviewed by:lauramae
photo

 
 
About lauramaestar
CA USA
Member since: 4/28/09
Reviews written: 166
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 95 people
patterns reviewed: 162
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/3/11 7:48 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SavageCoco said...
Oy vey. I am currently making the trousers - for the second time as the muslin ended up a shredded mess that were way too tight in a size 12. And that dip in the front waist? Not so easy to do. Not for me anyway. Ended up doing it by hand. I am also adding in-seam side pockets, moved the zipper to the back seam, raised the waist height by 1" and added to the crotch to allow for my low, fat arse (I do this for all my trousers) and to avoid any feathering at the front crotch. Used a 9” zipper instead of a 7”. I want these as high-waisted vintage style Garbo trousers. So far it's working but have had to re-fit the darts twice. I cut a size 14 and the waist was too tight so let out the darts by half & lost some of that deep pleat in the front that creates the soft drape of the leg. The in-seam pockets are working out fine. I plan to add belt loops over the darts at about 1” down from the top of the trouser. I’m using a camel wool/poly/lycra suiting blend from Handcock Fabrics. Machine washes & drys beautifully, little to no ironing. No steaming during construction to avoid puckering. Using a mid-weight woven fusible on facings to avoid rollling and you should add a little Sulky or something to the fashion fabric front dip or it’ll slip and slide all over the place during construction. A Quilter’s Iron will get inside the dip/curve to aid in pressing. More as it develops. . .
1/9/12 5:47 PM
LDT2011 said...
I have this pattern. I have 28" waist but 40" hips so was in a quandry over what size to cut. As you found it quite generous I wonder if I could get away with cutting the 12.
1/6/12 8:04 AM
FreyaStark said...
A nice skirt, and a clever way to repurpose the fabric.
6/23/11 7:25 PM
waltzqueen said...
The skirt is terrific. I have the original vintage pattern but I bought the new one anyway to take advantage of modern methods. I hope my version comes out as well as yours!
6/6/11 3:27 PM
cleverkitty said...
I do remember this fabric and love it, It would make into a fabulous skirt and I agree, you will wear the skirt more enjoying the fabric further. The detail of the dip on the skirt's waist makes it special.
6/4/11 8:04 AM
Elemenopeo said...
another great outfit!
6/4/11 0:46 AM
Aixoise said...
My, don't you look elegant! The jacket and skirt coordinate beautifully. I always enjoy seeing your work and seeing you model your garments.
6/3/11 10:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8663

photo
by: lydianmode

Review
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

More Info