Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4044 (1940's Retro Suit) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 334 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:lauramae
photo
About lauramaestar
CA USA
Member since: 4/28/09
Reviews written: 157
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 153
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/3/11 7:48 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aixoise said...
My, don't you look elegant! The jacket and skirt coordinate beautifully. I always enjoy seeing your work and seeing you model your garments.
6/3/11 10:18 PM
Elemenopeo said...
another great outfit!
6/4/11 0:46 AM
cleverkitty said...
I do remember this fabric and love it, It would make into a fabulous skirt and I agree, you will wear the skirt more enjoying the fabric further. The detail of the dip on the skirt's waist makes it special.
6/4/11 8:04 AM
waltzqueen said...
The skirt is terrific. I have the original vintage pattern but I bought the new one anyway to take advantage of modern methods. I hope my version comes out as well as yours!
6/6/11 3:27 PM
FreyaStark said...
A nice skirt, and a clever way to repurpose the fabric.
6/23/11 7:25 PM
LDT2011 said...
I have this pattern. I have 28" waist but 40" hips so was in a quandry over what size to cut. As you found it quite generous I wonder if I could get away with cutting the 12.
1/6/12 8:04 AM
SavageCoco said...
Oy vey. I am currently making the trousers - for the second time as the muslin ended up a shredded mess that were way too tight in a size 12. And that dip in the front waist? Not so easy to do. Not for me anyway. Ended up doing it by hand. I am also adding in-seam side pockets, moved the zipper to the back seam, raised the waist height by 1" and added to the crotch to allow for my low, fat arse (I do this for all my trousers) and to avoid any feathering at the front crotch. Used a 9” zipper instead of a 7”. I want these as high-waisted vintage style Garbo trousers. So far it's working but have had to re-fit the darts twice. I cut a size 14 and the waist was too tight so let out the darts by half & lost some of that deep pleat in the front that creates the soft drape of the leg. The in-seam pockets are working out fine. I plan to add belt loops over the darts at about 1” down from the top of the trouser. I’m using a camel wool/poly/lycra suiting blend from Handcock Fabrics. Machine washes & drys beautifully, little to no ironing. No steaming during construction to avoid puckering. Using a mid-weight woven fusible on facings to avoid rollling and you should add a little Sulky or something to the fashion fabric front dip or it’ll slip and slide all over the place during construction. A Quilter’s Iron will get inside the dip/curve to aid in pressing. More as it develops. . .
1/9/12 5:47 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2005-117
photo
Review by ladylola on 9/3/05
Read Review

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)
Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern
You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $15.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Alpine Wonderland Puffy Coat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Alpine Wonderland Puffy Coat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Coney Island Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Coney Island Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5520
photo
Review by atmomma on 12/18/07
Read Review

McCalls 6755 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
McCalls 6755 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14 )
McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us