SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5009 (Boot Skirt)

5 more reviews
Viewed 2222 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 359
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 295 people
patterns reviewed: 259
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/25/04 9:44 AM
Last Updated:8/25/04 6:25 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
drsue said...
Nice job. A reliable straight skirt pattern is always good to have.
8/25/04 6:40 PM
jlg said...
Nice looking skirt, Deepika. You look very pretty in this outfit. I love the other elastic waist Textile Studio and Loes Hinse skirts so I know that I will eventually get this one too; so thanks for the review.
8/25/04 6:57 PM
Karen Bowers said...
deepika, it's great to see how the pegging looks on a real person! it's very cute on you. i'll look forward to seeing your view A.
8/25/04 7:20 PM
gabrielle said...
Hey, thanks for reviewing this! I've been hoping someone would, and it looks really nice on you.
8/25/04 8:45 PM
Kris O said...
That's a great skirt for you, Deepika. BTW, the FFC fabric description says it's 5% lycra--does it really not have any?
8/25/04 9:54 PM
Liana said...
Thanks for the review. I've been wishing someone would do one. I have the Brussels and love it, and didn't know if I really needed this. What do you think?
8/25/04 10:12 PM
alicia said...
I love elastic... will have to look at this. Looks awesome on you!
8/25/04 11:59 PM
SewTabby said...
Great skirt and boots, too!
8/26/04 0:09 AM
sewsue said...
Nice outfit Deepika. I have heard the term "pegged" used a lot, but could someone please tell me what it actually means in relation to this skirt?
8/26/04 5:03 AM
Deepika said...
Thanks everyone for such nice comments! Kris my bad... it does have lycra but since the fabric is a loose weave it does not retain its shape too easily. pressing was also challenging on it. But I still love the texture on the fabric and thinking of ordering the red in it.sewsue pegging means to slightly taper the side seams from hip to the hemline. The taper is very slight but it gives a slimmer look than a straight skirt. Sandra betzina recommends pegging all straight skirts. Hope this helps. I am going to try the longer version with vent soon.
8/26/04 6:50 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Wow - you sewed this one up in a hurry! Didn't you just order the pattern? Looks like a perfect amount of ease, and I think you'll be glad you spent the money for this pattern. After all, with one skirt, you've saved enough money to more than pay for the pattern. Good choice.
8/26/04 7:01 AM
SouthernStitch said...
I like the pegged look on you, and the boots look good with it. It's not overly pegged, and the elastic does not look bulky. Great job.
8/26/04 9:55 AM
sewywabbit said...
Deepika, thanks for the review. I too ordered this from Sewing Place, dont have it yey (maybe today!) and your review helped to assuage my "buyer's remorse". Really, though, I have never regretted a single LH purchase and have been lucky that so far they have all been keepers. Can't wait to see the FFC knit, thats how I see the front vent view, too. Good job.
8/26/04 12:00 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Nice work, Deepika! Thanks for the heads-up on a wardrobe staple pattern that whips up in an hour. Who isn't looking for one of those?
8/26/04 5:44 PM
PVA said...
Deepika, great skirt! I've had my eye on that style, my self, but I have to loose a few more inches off the backside, first! I'm getting there! I'm interested in this pattern, as well as "the other one", so many thanks for this review! Thanks, too, for the heads-up about measurements!
8/26/04 5:50 PM
xela said...
Skirt is fabulous on you. Great job. I'm glad to see you are wearing boots and find it very interesting that the "Boot Skirt" pattern front neither of the models is wearing boots :-) Thanks
8/27/04 10:14 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
I love your skirt. It really looks wonderful on you, as does your pretty top.
8/27/04 3:08 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Thanks for reviewing this.
8/27/04 4:57 PM
JDpenelope said...
You look beautiful in this pegged skirt. From your review .and the comments, it looks like a "must have".
8/29/04 7:55 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Cute! Your skirt has a classy expensive look. Nice fabric choice, too.
8/30/04 5:56 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Great looking skirt! It's very flattering on you.
8/31/04 12:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Vogue Patterns 1164

photo
by: MNBarb

Review
Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Buy Now