SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5847 

12 more reviews
Viewed 591 times 
Reviewed by:Lynnelle
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lynnellestarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 58 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/18/11 8:01 PM
Last Updated:6/18/11 8:03 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MilongueraThreads said...
Thank you for this! I picked this pattern out to duplicate a denim shirtdress I had in college also, and we're the same size! Your dress looks great and I hope the second one you make turns out wonderfully as well!
7/18/13 10:13 AM
madbadger said...
Really great dress - was looking at shirt dress patterns and your review (and dress) sold me on this one - thanks for writing an excellent review.
7/7/13 1:16 PM
AndreaSews said...
Your dress is fabulous! A great fit, and great construction. It's making me want to run out and get this pattern!
7/20/11 10:52 PM
Steffie said...
This dress looks even better in person -- I have had the pleasure of seeing it. You did such a great job on this one, Lynn. Very nice!
7/4/11 8:12 AM
Ruth Designs said...
You did a great job!
6/22/11 5:40 PM
ArtAttack said...
Adorable! Looks great on you...
6/19/11 11:56 PM
cmcarr said...
I love your dress. The fit is perfect. I recently made this dress but I have to work on the fit. I have another cut and ready to go. Very comfy.
6/19/11 10:43 PM
michellep74 said...
The dress looks great, and it fits you perfectly! I'm glad that you're making more of these.
6/19/11 9:42 PM
Erin D said...
Your alterations really paid off-the fit of the dress looks great. Love the topstitching!
6/19/11 6:34 PM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful, perfect topstitching. Love it on you as well.
6/19/11 3:25 PM
Margaret said...
Looks great on you, excellent fit! The topstitching is really nice!
6/19/11 11:16 AM
RLL said...
Nothing better than a shirtdress in denim. It will never go out of style!
6/19/11 11:12 AM
becca a said...
What a great shirtdress! Your topstitching is gorgeous, and your fit is perfect.
6/19/11 10:56 AM
jbrewer said...
How clever to make the dress out of denim! I'm really impressed with your perfect topstitching and your fitting. The belt adds a lot too. Great job!
6/19/11 9:27 AM
Scheryka said...
Great job! You could not have bought it better!
6/19/11 7:53 AM
Knitters Delight said...
It really does look like you picked it up at a store. Nothing homemade about this dress!
6/19/11 1:57 AM
Terri A said...
Fabulous dress!
6/19/11 0:52 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
I love your shirtdress. The topstitching looks very professional and the button choice really works. This is my choice of pattern for a shirtdress too so I'm going to tuck your review away for future reference. Thanks.
6/19/11 0:00 AM
RobinE said...
You did a great job-- it looks beautiful on you! Thanks for the great review.
6/18/11 11:29 PM
Q Valley Mary said...
I wasn't overly impressed with this pattern till I saw what you did with it. Great dress!
6/18/11 11:15 PM
SheBear0320 said...
Love your denim dress and the fit is fabulous -- a denim dress is on my future sewing list ... I'll definitely be keeping this pattern in mind. Thanks for a great review.
6/18/11 10:53 PM
Lynnelle said...
Thank you all for the comments. To get the topstitching even, I use my machine's blind hem foot to sew the line closest to the seam. Then I switch to the zigzag foot and move the needle over a bit (1.0 on my machine). In both cases, I set my machine's speed to sew slowly; this gives me the greatest amount of control.
6/18/11 9:47 PM
Patti B said...
This is such a classic and cute too. Nicely done!
6/18/11 9:47 PM
bananaoil said...
Your topstitching is excellent! I have one of these on my to do list. Have yet to track down just the right lightweight denim. Get yourself a thimble that fits your middle finger. Use it to push the needle through anything. I suffered till I learned to sew with a thimble. Now hand sewing is actually pleasant.
6/18/11 9:29 PM
Sallygirl1 said...
I just finished looking at your dress on the Summer Dress Challenge. It looks like a purchased jean dress.
6/18/11 9:15 PM
1betsy1 said...
Very nice dress. And what a Great review! Thanks
6/18/11 8:38 PM
Kay Y said...
What a great looking dress! Enjoy it.
6/18/11 8:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Vogue Patterns 1224

photo
by: jenleeC

Review
Sew Liberated Brynna Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Brynna Dress Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

Buy Now