Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 1218 (1944 Misses Housedress) - Type:Out of Print Classics
Review submitted in Vintage Pattern 2011 Contest    printable version
Viewed 280 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:indianajoni
photo
About indianajonistar
IN USA
Member since: 4/22/07
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/9/11 5:05 PM
Last Updated:6/9/11 5:09 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CAgirl said...
That is one cute housedress! To be honest with you I am kind of sorry they went out of style - they seem so practical and certainly prettier that jeans and a tee shirt! I remember my mother and grandmother having a collection of them and they always looked lovely at home. I never saw women in the grocery store wearing them, though! You did a beautiful job choosing fabric that suited your pattern and I love the pockets!
6/9/11 5:43 PM
KatieA said...
This is so adorable, especially with the ricrac.
6/21/11 5:38 AM
Margaret said...
What a great dress! Love the print and rickrack.
6/23/11 9:18 AM
Peter in NYC said...
I love this housedress -- the print is great and the style really flatters you. Great job!
6/26/11 8:08 PM
Heatherrique said...
Such a cheerful and stylish dress! Very nice color and style on you.
6/29/11 10:20 PM
velosewer said...
Talk about cute. This is such a pretty dress and you've pulled it together really well. Pretty.
6/30/11 0:08 AM
Aroura said...
Such a cute housedress, and the fabric is a perfect match for this pattern.
6/30/11 3:54 PM
marec said...
Ready for housework! So cute.
7/1/11 11:07 AM
fourkid said...
Very cute - love the rick-rac!
7/2/11 9:25 PM
homewerk said...
You are so channeling the 1940's! Charming combination of pattern, fabric and trim.
7/7/11 2:21 PM
ladybegood said...
Love those pockets! I think buttons would be really cute, but also maybe interfacing would help, too.
7/10/11 12:11 PM
RachelStonebreaker said...
Thanks for noting how you made some changes. I like the diagonal print pockets.
7/11/11 6:07 PM
Mebber said...
I love this! It reminds me of I Love Lucy dresses! What a fun and functional dress that is flattering and feminine. Great fabric matching for the style of pattern. I am going on an Etsy hunt for this pattern!
7/14/11 9:19 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2007-125 Cocktail dress
photo
Review by liliv on 11/6/13
Read Review

Vogue 8957 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8957 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5815 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5815 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1085 MISSES' TOP
photo
Review by CarolynGM on 6/24/09
Read Review

Oliver + S Sketchbook Shirt + Shorts Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Sketchbook Shirt + Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us