SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2209 (Lisette Passport Dress)

54 more reviews
Viewed 917 times 
Reviewed by:Christas
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Christasstarstarstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 3/16/06
Reviews written: 121
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 108 people
patterns reviewed: 118
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/17/11 4:16 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Heatherrique said...
You look delightful as summer! Very nice look with a lightweight sweater. I think you are too harsh on yourself with "not a good look" and it looks fine on you from my standpoint. A belt perhaps, if it is any consolation. I enjoyed your VH review!
6/17/11 5:51 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I just love this little sunny dress on you! You should DEFINITELY make it again. Think how cute it would be in a border print, now that I think about it. It's such a great look, styled with the belt, cardi and MY FAVORITE SHOES, but I ALSO like it just all by itself. :o)
6/17/11 6:15 PM
AuntieShel said...
Well, I think you look adorable in it, perfect for summer!!
6/17/11 6:52 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Wow! This is very cute! Your gathering at the waist is perfect. "not a good look" I thought you looked wonderful without the cardigan. Thanks for all the info and the Lisette blog link.
6/17/11 7:00 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Wow! This is very cute! Your gathering at the waist is perfect. "not a good look" I thought you looked wonderful without the cardigan. Thanks for all the info and the Lisette blog link.
6/17/11 7:00 PM
Haselinchen said...
I really like your dress and the first thing when I looked at your pictures was "It fits really well!" so I was little surprised when I read about the problems that you had with it. I think it turned out nice :)
6/17/11 10:00 PM
Peggy L said...
Regardless of the problems, it looks really cute the way you have it styled.
6/17/11 10:41 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Looks like a good save and I like it with the little knitted/crocheted? cardigan.
6/17/11 10:56 PM
Paris75008 said...
You really are being too hard on yourself. It's a cute little summer dress without the cardi and it looks adorable on you. If you read wendybirde's review carefully, you'll see that she redrafted the whole front bodice from her sloper. Also, she seems to be "well endowed" which explains why the open darts look good on her :-)
6/18/11 3:56 AM
mm said...
I like this line of patterns and am pleased to see one made up. A very nice summer dress.
6/18/11 8:40 AM
dingyadi said...
Your dress looks lovely! The changes you have made really make it work. Interesting that the photo on the pattern isn't representative. I hadn't seen these Lisette patterns before but I'll be keeping my eyes open for them in the future.
6/18/11 8:40 AM
MamaSewing said...
I don't think the dress turned out nearly as bad as you make it out to be. The dress is cute and fresh looking and looks great with the sweater and just fine without!
6/18/11 10:31 AM
carolynw said...
I like this dress on you - looks so summery and fresh. Like others I think you are being a little hard on yourself about the not so good fit - I like it with or without the jacket. Love those shoes!!
6/18/11 10:43 AM
cleverkitty said...
Yes I agree with everyone it looks great just the way it is, I was searching the picture to see what you did not like about it, it does look pretty on you in the picture. Thanks for adding the Lisette Blog, I enjoyed seeing that.
6/18/11 11:29 AM
marec said...
Wonderful summery look for you-thanks for the link to the Lisette blog.
6/18/11 2:48 PM
SewWil said...
I like the way you accessorized your dress but I think that the dress looks great on you without the knit top. It may be one of those pieces where have to ignore it for a while and then come back to it and think "Why on earth did I not like this dress on me?!!!"
6/19/11 7:48 PM
Catbird said...
I agree with everyone! This is such a pretty, summery dress, and that sleek fit in the bodice offsets the gathered skirt so nicely. It also looks perfect with the little cardigan and belt. It's light and breezy, just right for summer!
6/20/11 9:16 AM
Mahler said...
I am not certain I understood the dart project on this dress. Humm I like that simple light summery look and the sandales. I like that dress without the cardigan alos. It would be so cute with an original Levis jeans jacket (no side pockets) ... neat look.
6/21/11 10:09 PM
mesewlot said...
I agree, regardless of the problems, it is a very nice summer dress!
6/29/11 7:52 AM
fattyboomboom said...
I think it looks great! If you're uncomfortable with the fit, that's one thing. But I really don't see any problems with the darts or the gathering in your photos. Sometimes I need a week away from a project before I can like it.:)
7/10/11 9:39 AM
1SewSweet said...
I think this dress looks great on you! Frankly, I don't see anything wrong with the darts, we always see something that others don't. If I were you, I would definitely walk away for a while and look at it again with a "different eye"!
7/12/11 8:47 AM
gooner said...
Thank you for the link to the Lisette blog! I follow her on Oliver + S, but wasn't aware that she had one for Lisette also. I just bought one of her fall patterns S2060, so it will be very useful to see her styles more in-depth.
8/19/11 9:42 PM
2takeKate said...
I'm almost done with this dress, and my darts are more open at the top. Maybe because I sized it up a little being between sizes... my darts are nice, but it's causing armhole gaping for me, though. I do really like the sunny print on you, and it looks really cute with the cardigan! I think I will try this one again, too ;-)
9/16/11 7:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

New Look 6026

photo
by: Sister F

Review
No Pattern Used Make your own slip

photo
by: krazyknit

Review
SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

Buy Now