Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2209 (Lisette Passport Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 906 times 52 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Christas
photo
Friend of PR
About Christasstarstarstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 3/16/06
Reviews written: 118
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 107 people
patterns reviewed: 115
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/17/11 4:16 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Heatherrique said...
You look delightful as summer! Very nice look with a lightweight sweater. I think you are too harsh on yourself with "not a good look" and it looks fine on you from my standpoint. A belt perhaps, if it is any consolation. I enjoyed your VH review!
6/17/11 5:51 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I just love this little sunny dress on you! You should DEFINITELY make it again. Think how cute it would be in a border print, now that I think about it. It's such a great look, styled with the belt, cardi and MY FAVORITE SHOES, but I ALSO like it just all by itself. :o)
6/17/11 6:15 PM
AuntieShel said...
Well, I think you look adorable in it, perfect for summer!!
6/17/11 6:52 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Wow! This is very cute! Your gathering at the waist is perfect. "not a good look" I thought you looked wonderful without the cardigan. Thanks for all the info and the Lisette blog link.
6/17/11 7:00 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Wow! This is very cute! Your gathering at the waist is perfect. "not a good look" I thought you looked wonderful without the cardigan. Thanks for all the info and the Lisette blog link.
6/17/11 7:00 PM
Haselinchen said...
I really like your dress and the first thing when I looked at your pictures was "It fits really well!" so I was little surprised when I read about the problems that you had with it. I think it turned out nice :)
6/17/11 10:00 PM
Peggy L said...
Regardless of the problems, it looks really cute the way you have it styled.
6/17/11 10:41 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Looks like a good save and I like it with the little knitted/crocheted? cardigan.
6/17/11 10:56 PM
Paris75008 said...
You really are being too hard on yourself. It's a cute little summer dress without the cardi and it looks adorable on you. If you read wendybirde's review carefully, you'll see that she redrafted the whole front bodice from her sloper. Also, she seems to be "well endowed" which explains why the open darts look good on her :-)
6/18/11 3:56 AM
mm said...
I like this line of patterns and am pleased to see one made up. A very nice summer dress.
6/18/11 8:40 AM
dingyadi said...
Your dress looks lovely! The changes you have made really make it work. Interesting that the photo on the pattern isn't representative. I hadn't seen these Lisette patterns before but I'll be keeping my eyes open for them in the future.
6/18/11 8:40 AM
MamaSewing said...
I don't think the dress turned out nearly as bad as you make it out to be. The dress is cute and fresh looking and looks great with the sweater and just fine without!
6/18/11 10:31 AM
carolynw said...
I like this dress on you - looks so summery and fresh. Like others I think you are being a little hard on yourself about the not so good fit - I like it with or without the jacket. Love those shoes!!
6/18/11 10:43 AM
cleverkitty said...
Yes I agree with everyone it looks great just the way it is, I was searching the picture to see what you did not like about it, it does look pretty on you in the picture. Thanks for adding the Lisette Blog, I enjoyed seeing that.
6/18/11 11:29 AM
marec said...
Wonderful summery look for you-thanks for the link to the Lisette blog.
6/18/11 2:48 PM
SewWil said...
I like the way you accessorized your dress but I think that the dress looks great on you without the knit top. It may be one of those pieces where have to ignore it for a while and then come back to it and think "Why on earth did I not like this dress on me?!!!"
6/19/11 7:48 PM
Catbird said...
I agree with everyone! This is such a pretty, summery dress, and that sleek fit in the bodice offsets the gathered skirt so nicely. It also looks perfect with the little cardigan and belt. It's light and breezy, just right for summer!
6/20/11 9:16 AM
Mahler said...
I am not certain I understood the dart project on this dress. Humm I like that simple light summery look and the sandales. I like that dress without the cardigan alos. It would be so cute with an original Levis jeans jacket (no side pockets) ... neat look.
6/21/11 10:09 PM
mesewlot said...
I agree, regardless of the problems, it is a very nice summer dress!
6/29/11 7:52 AM
fattyboomboom said...
I think it looks great! If you're uncomfortable with the fit, that's one thing. But I really don't see any problems with the darts or the gathering in your photos. Sometimes I need a week away from a project before I can like it.:)
7/10/11 9:39 AM
1SewSweet said...
I think this dress looks great on you! Frankly, I don't see anything wrong with the darts, we always see something that others don't. If I were you, I would definitely walk away for a while and look at it again with a "different eye"!
7/12/11 8:47 AM
gooner said...
Thank you for the link to the Lisette blog! I follow her on Oliver + S, but wasn't aware that she had one for Lisette also. I just bought one of her fall patterns S2060, so it will be very useful to see her styles more in-depth.
8/19/11 9:42 PM
2takeKate said...
I'm almost done with this dress, and my darts are more open at the top. Maybe because I sized it up a little being between sizes... my darts are nice, but it's causing armhole gaping for me, though. I do really like the sunny print on you, and it looks really cute with the cardigan! I think I will try this one again, too ;-)
9/16/11 7:59 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2011-101
photo
Review by tigergirl on 11/2/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Red Velvet Clutch Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Red Velvet Clutch Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6429
photo
Review by Gelbean on 7/6/08
Read Review

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1920 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1920 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 20-22 )
McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 20-22 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us