Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 4391 (Jacket, skirt and pants) - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 1704 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Lori V
photo
Friend of PR
About Lori Vstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/20/02
Reviews written: 338
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 178 people
patterns reviewed: 337
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/29/04 11:12 PM
Last Updated:8/29/04 11:16 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KathleenS said...
It looks like you did a great job, particularly with the pockets. It's a shame you're not happy with the fit.
8/30/04 3:55 AM
AuntieShel said...
Your jacket looks wonderful, I'm sorry you don't like the fit.
8/30/04 12:52 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I think the jacket looks good. Sorry you are not happy with it. From the back it looks like it fits well, nowhere does it look like it is too binding. I bought this same fabric and was going to make this jacket also. Never got to it though.
8/30/04 6:21 PM
Jennie Pakula said...
The back doesn't look tight - it's a pity you don't feel comfortable in it. Lovely choice of fabric.
8/30/04 7:26 PM
Jan B. said...
Your jacket looks pretty on you. The color is becoming, and the fit looks good. You feel it is tight across the back, but it doesn't appear that way. Is it perhaps a little high in the underarm? That can create restriction in movement. I notice the jacket is shown without a top underneath in some of the views, and my experience has been that it may be more fitted in the armscye and sleeve when this is the case. You did a nice job on it, perhaps you just need to wear it and receive some compliments on it!!
8/30/04 10:15 PM
Mandolin82 said...
The jacket looks gorgeous. Although it doesn't look tight through the back, maybe a broad back adjustment would help the next one feel more comfortable.
8/30/04 10:16 PM
tamtay said...
Looks wonderful. I agree with Jan B.--maybe it's high in the underarm. I've had the same issues of the back looking good but still feeling tight; I checked Sandra Betzina's Fast Fit book and she said a too-high underarm could be the cause. Haven't had a chance to try the alteration to see if it works though.
8/31/04 1:47 AM
Lori V said...
Thanks all for the compliments. It might be the too-high underarm. I put it on again last night and reevaluated. Do you think it would help the underam if I removed the shoulder pads? I will take your advice Jan B, and wear it. A few compliments will help, might suddenly become my favorite jacket
8/31/04 5:49 AM
kimmielovesparis said...
I am in the process of making this jacket also! I added 1 1/2 inches to the length as it's shorter than I would like. You did an awsome job...I am inspired to get moving.
8/31/04 8:07 PM
CatherineN said...
This looks so pretty on you! (I like your haircut too.)
11/7/04 8:50 PM
Debra H said...
This was very helpful to me....your photo helped me verify a concern I had about the bell shaped sleeves. They just don't look as good in person as they do in the drawings. But you did do a good job fitting it considering the many problems you had! Thanks
2/21/05 9:43 PM
HeatherJanet said...
I like your jacket. I made a similar McCall's lined jacket with boucle (M5057) and I am not sure about the fit either. I think the problem is I am not used to wearing jackets with fronts that do not meet.
4/11/06 2:38 PM
Woolygal said...
I think we are sometimes too hard on ourselves. We try to overfit, don't we?
10/17/08 8:50 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

New Look 6071
photo
Review by atymonw on 3/22/14
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Natalie Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Natalie Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5791
photo
Review by katiessewi... on 10/19/11
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 0168 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0168 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8878 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8878 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us