SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4391 (Jacket, skirt and pants)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1708 times 
Reviewed by:Lori V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lori Vstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/20/02
Reviews written: 356
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 198 people
patterns reviewed: 355
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/29/04 11:12 PM
Last Updated:8/29/04 11:16 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Woolygal said...
I think we are sometimes too hard on ourselves. We try to overfit, don't we?
10/17/08 8:50 AM
HeatherJanet said...
I like your jacket. I made a similar McCall's lined jacket with boucle (M5057) and I am not sure about the fit either. I think the problem is I am not used to wearing jackets with fronts that do not meet.
4/11/06 2:38 PM
Debra H said...
This was very helpful to me....your photo helped me verify a concern I had about the bell shaped sleeves. They just don't look as good in person as they do in the drawings. But you did do a good job fitting it considering the many problems you had! Thanks
2/21/05 9:43 PM
CatherineN said...
This looks so pretty on you! (I like your haircut too.)
11/7/04 8:50 PM
kimmielovesparis said...
I am in the process of making this jacket also! I added 1 1/2 inches to the length as it's shorter than I would like. You did an awsome job...I am inspired to get moving.
8/31/04 8:07 PM
Lori V said...
Thanks all for the compliments. It might be the too-high underarm. I put it on again last night and reevaluated. Do you think it would help the underam if I removed the shoulder pads? I will take your advice Jan B, and wear it. A few compliments will help, might suddenly become my favorite jacket
8/31/04 5:49 AM
tamtay said...
Looks wonderful. I agree with Jan B.--maybe it's high in the underarm. I've had the same issues of the back looking good but still feeling tight; I checked Sandra Betzina's Fast Fit book and she said a too-high underarm could be the cause. Haven't had a chance to try the alteration to see if it works though.
8/31/04 1:47 AM
Mandolin82 said...
The jacket looks gorgeous. Although it doesn't look tight through the back, maybe a broad back adjustment would help the next one feel more comfortable.
8/30/04 10:16 PM
Jan B. said...
Your jacket looks pretty on you. The color is becoming, and the fit looks good. You feel it is tight across the back, but it doesn't appear that way. Is it perhaps a little high in the underarm? That can create restriction in movement. I notice the jacket is shown without a top underneath in some of the views, and my experience has been that it may be more fitted in the armscye and sleeve when this is the case. You did a nice job on it, perhaps you just need to wear it and receive some compliments on it!!
8/30/04 10:15 PM
Jennie Pakula said...
The back doesn't look tight - it's a pity you don't feel comfortable in it. Lovely choice of fabric.
8/30/04 7:26 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I think the jacket looks good. Sorry you are not happy with it. From the back it looks like it fits well, nowhere does it look like it is too binding. I bought this same fabric and was going to make this jacket also. Never got to it though.
8/30/04 6:21 PM
AuntieShel said...
Your jacket looks wonderful, I'm sorry you don't like the fit.
8/30/04 12:52 PM
KathleenS said...
It looks like you did a great job, particularly with the pockets. It's a shame you're not happy with the fit.
8/30/04 3:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Chelsea

Chelsea

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

Buy Now