SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5001 (European Pant)

23 more reviews
Viewed 4013 times 
Reviewed by:Diane E
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Diane Estarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 104 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/30/04 11:51 AM
Last Updated:8/30/04 11:51 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Diane E said...
Hi grammy27, I'm so glad I could help. Can't wait to see your Euros!
10/24/11 8:54 AM
grammy27 said...
Your review made my night. I made a pair of this pattern yesterday. They fit beautifully, but the the zipper closure was a nightmare. I am going to add the extra inch as you did, which will solve the problem. Was ready to do that anyway, but not sure if I was even doing the zipper application right at all, since it was so unprofessional looking. Thanks again!
10/23/11 10:54 PM
kiddo said...
Thank you for your tip as well as the conversation when you wrote the tip. It is still current.
1/2/07 5:31 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Awesome!
9/6/04 1:12 PM
Rebecca D said...
Your pants look wonderful and thanks so much for all the tips. I think this might be the weekend I actually get to this pattern and work on it. I am curious about what sort of silk you use for the pants liner, as I have some wools I want to *whip* up this fall (thinking positively). TIA
8/31/04 8:09 AM
MaryBeth said...
Great tip on removing the extra back fabric, Diane. I wasn't aware of this tip before and had struggled with explanations in trying to help others. But here you had it published, complete with pictures all along. Thanks for bringing it back up this summer. I think your RTW pants look elegant on you and hope that the "Diane E version" of this pattern gets perfected quickly and easily.
8/31/04 1:38 AM
ChrisK said...
Diane, thanks for the info on width and ease . I'm going to order this pattern and try the same method on my next pair of pants
8/31/04 1:06 AM
sewsue said...
Thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed and informative review. Your pants look great. I have made this pattern and took out quite a bit of width in the legs as I am only 5'3 and was absolutely swamped with the full width pant legs. My pants still hang nicely from the hips which is what I liked about the pattern when I purchased it. I like the tip about the zipper application with a button at the top. Thanks.
8/31/04 0:39 AM
KristenI said...
Wow, very nice results! Thank you for giving us all the tips. I will definately need to get this pattern.
8/31/04 0:31 AM
jlg said...
Beautiful pants, Diane. Thanks for reminding me about this pattern.
8/30/04 8:52 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I tried this pattern, but couldn't make it work for me. I sure envy those of you who can wear this style; it's so elegant. How nice that you had the RTW version to copy. They look great, Diane.
8/30/04 8:48 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Very nice, and the wide legs and relatively higher waistline (compared to the lower rise styles popular the past few years) are all the rage for autumn. Thanks for the tip on the zipper and waistline closure.
8/30/04 6:01 PM
Diane E said...
Hi all, thanks for your encouragement. Yes, Karen, it's so much fun to be back at the machine after a Camp Mommy summer! Chris, hem width varies from 21.50 (XXS) to 24.50 (XXL) minus seam allowances (3/8"). My math says this is 20" to 23" hem width, XXS to XXL). Also, no problem with easing the slightly longer front inseam to the back. This causes the back to cup under the bum a bit, reducing the extra fabric that tends to accumulate there.
8/30/04 1:58 PM
Lori V said...
nice looking pants, Diane
8/30/04 1:30 PM
ChrisK said...
These are good looking pants. I think I need to make the excess fabric adjustment. Do you have any problems easing in the excess fullness in the front inside leg seam? Also the pattern link doesn't give the lower leg width. How wide are they at the hem please? Thanks for the detailed review.
8/30/04 1:27 PM
Karen Bowers said...
diane, i'm glad you're getting back into the whole sewing thing!
8/30/04 1:01 PM
AuntieShel said...
Thanks for the great review. Very nice looking pants.
8/30/04 12:43 PM
Doris Stewart said...
Great reveiw - thank you.
8/30/04 12:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Other GNBBS: Shirtwaist Dress

photo
by: froggiegir...

Review
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Petite Plus D202 DVD

Buy Now
SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

Buy Now