Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5001 (European Pant) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 3981 times 23 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Diane E
photo
Friend of PR
About Diane Estarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/30/04 11:51 AM
Last Updated:8/30/04 11:51 AM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Doris Stewart said...
Great reveiw - thank you.
8/30/04 12:04 PM
AuntieShel said...
Thanks for the great review. Very nice looking pants.
8/30/04 12:43 PM
Karen Bowers said...
diane, i'm glad you're getting back into the whole sewing thing!
8/30/04 1:01 PM
ChrisK said...
These are good looking pants. I think I need to make the excess fabric adjustment. Do you have any problems easing in the excess fullness in the front inside leg seam? Also the pattern link doesn't give the lower leg width. How wide are they at the hem please? Thanks for the detailed review.
8/30/04 1:27 PM
Lori V said...
nice looking pants, Diane
8/30/04 1:30 PM
Diane E said...
Hi all, thanks for your encouragement. Yes, Karen, it's so much fun to be back at the machine after a Camp Mommy summer! Chris, hem width varies from 21.50 (XXS) to 24.50 (XXL) minus seam allowances (3/8"). My math says this is 20" to 23" hem width, XXS to XXL). Also, no problem with easing the slightly longer front inseam to the back. This causes the back to cup under the bum a bit, reducing the extra fabric that tends to accumulate there.
8/30/04 1:58 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Very nice, and the wide legs and relatively higher waistline (compared to the lower rise styles popular the past few years) are all the rage for autumn. Thanks for the tip on the zipper and waistline closure.
8/30/04 6:01 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I tried this pattern, but couldn't make it work for me. I sure envy those of you who can wear this style; it's so elegant. How nice that you had the RTW version to copy. They look great, Diane.
8/30/04 8:48 PM
jlg said...
Beautiful pants, Diane. Thanks for reminding me about this pattern.
8/30/04 8:52 PM
KristenI said...
Wow, very nice results! Thank you for giving us all the tips. I will definately need to get this pattern.
8/31/04 0:31 AM
sewsue said...
Thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed and informative review. Your pants look great. I have made this pattern and took out quite a bit of width in the legs as I am only 5'3 and was absolutely swamped with the full width pant legs. My pants still hang nicely from the hips which is what I liked about the pattern when I purchased it. I like the tip about the zipper application with a button at the top. Thanks.
8/31/04 0:39 AM
ChrisK said...
Diane, thanks for the info on width and ease . I'm going to order this pattern and try the same method on my next pair of pants
8/31/04 1:06 AM
MaryBeth said...
Great tip on removing the extra back fabric, Diane. I wasn't aware of this tip before and had struggled with explanations in trying to help others. But here you had it published, complete with pictures all along. Thanks for bringing it back up this summer. I think your RTW pants look elegant on you and hope that the "Diane E version" of this pattern gets perfected quickly and easily.
8/31/04 1:38 AM
Rebecca D said...
Your pants look wonderful and thanks so much for all the tips. I think this might be the weekend I actually get to this pattern and work on it. I am curious about what sort of silk you use for the pants liner, as I have some wools I want to *whip* up this fall (thinking positively). TIA
8/31/04 8:09 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Awesome!
9/6/04 1:12 PM
kiddo said...
Thank you for your tip as well as the conversation when you wrote the tip. It is still current.
1/2/07 5:31 PM
grammy27 said...
Your review made my night. I made a pair of this pattern yesterday. They fit beautifully, but the the zipper closure was a nightmare. I am going to add the extra inch as you did, which will solve the problem. Was ready to do that anyway, but not sure if I was even doing the zipper application right at all, since it was so unprofessional looking. Thanks again!
10/23/11 10:54 PM
Diane E said...
Hi grammy27, I'm so glad I could help. Can't wait to see your Euros!
10/24/11 8:54 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Self Drafted Pattern 277-1001
photo
Review by Darla in P... on 9/17/04
Read Review

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Angie Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Angie Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2013-123A Light Cowl Top
photo
Review by vchan38 on 1/1/13
Read Review

Simplicity 1882 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1882 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4636 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 4636 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us