Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4560 (Diaper Bag) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 187 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Anelie
photo
About Aneliestar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 3/11/08
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/20/11 11:52 AM


See other patterns in this category: Crafts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
hestiah said...
I love your choice of using contrast fabric, it makes a great modern looking bag! One tip you might try: when using thick interfacing or fusible fleece, trim off the seam allowances of the fusible--this way the bag has body but the seams aren't so thick. I have a variety of patterns that include this in the directions, and just as many that don't...hmmm, toss up to brand/personal preference I guess. You'll be a rockin' new mama with your custom nappy bag! And kudos on achieving such a professional looking finish as a beginning sewer!
6/20/11 7:23 PM
hestiah said...
Also, to fix the too long strap--if its nearly impossible to get one end out to shorten (and it looks like it might be b/c its sewn in between the lining & outside bag and topstitched), you could slide the shoulder pad thing down, chop out what you need to from the center of the strap, and sew it back together (either in a seam or overlapping), with the idea that the shoulder pad thing would cover up your fix (you could even tack it to the strap at the top so it never uncovered your secret). Depends on how much too long it is, and how annoying it ends up being as to whether its worth it.
6/20/11 7:29 PM
Anelie said...
Hestiah, you're a genius - I might just do that to the strap, as it really is exceptionally long! And you're right, if I'd been thinking, I should have clipped the fleece out of the seam allowances before sewing. Next time..! ;-)
6/21/11 6:29 AM
lisalu said...
I am in the process of making this bag and I found your review very helpful! Based on your experience I trimmed off the seam allowance of the fleece sections before fusing. I'm surprised the instructions didn't specify that to begin with. The extra bulk of the fleece is NOT necessary in the seams! I also shortened the strap by 5" - thanks for the heads up on that. As for binding the shoulder pad thingie, since I trimmed the SA on the fleece it wasn't unmanageable but also I have two words for the next person who is applying binding to this section: GLUE STICK! Works like a charm (I will elaborate when I write my own review!) Again, thanks for your review it got me off to a good start on this project. :)
3/9/12 10:53 AM
lisalu said...
I am in the process of making this bag and I found your review very helpful! Based on your experience I trimmed off the seam allowance of the fleece sections before fusing. I'm surprised the instructions didn't specify that to begin with. The extra bulk of the fleece is NOT necessary in the seams! I also shortened the strap by 5" - thanks for the heads up on that. As for binding the shoulder pad thingie, since I trimmed the SA on the fleece it wasn't unmanageable but also I have two words for the next person who is applying binding to this section: GLUE STICK! Works like a charm (I will elaborate when I write my own review!) Again, thanks for your review it got me off to a good start on this project. :)
3/9/12 10:53 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Vogue Patterns 2958
photo
Review by mysticotal... on 3/22/14
Read Review

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King
DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Real People DVD
Fit For Real People DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern
Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Relaxed Shift Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Relaxed Shift Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3374 Shirts & Pants
photo
Review by Erin D on 6/28/10
Read Review

Butterick 5480 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5480 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1819 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1819 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us