SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8513 (flared pants with yoke)

24 more reviews
Viewed 3504 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 360
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 295 people
patterns reviewed: 260
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/31/04 8:52 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Easy to Sew    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SandraB said...
Very nice Deepika. These pants fit you really well. Very flattering.
8/31/04 9:21 AM
Teri said...
Love the pants!
8/31/04 9:50 AM
jlg said...
Beautiful Deepika. You look so slim and long legged.
8/31/04 9:51 AM
JoleneF said...
These pants fit you real good. Thanks for the tip about the zipper. I have not tried zippered pants yet, maybe one of these days.....
8/31/04 9:51 AM
Lou. said...
Deepika, I have to say I think these are the best pants you've made. They're great!
8/31/04 9:56 AM
gabrielle said...
Love those pants! Your legs look about ten miles long.
8/31/04 10:02 AM
Diane E said...
Wow, these are great pants. They fit you beautifully!
8/31/04 10:14 AM
captreestarfish said...
Hi Deepika. Thanks for such a detailed review..very helpful. Those pants are very metro chic. The bootleg style really suits you and I'm determined to try it when I'm feeling more adventurous. Paron Fabrics is a fabulous place and what a great buy with 3$ a yard Liz Claiborne. NICE!
8/31/04 11:18 AM
SouthernStitch said...
I love these too, with the wide yoke. Wish I could wear Burdas but I'm too flat butt. Your pockets look so professional also!
8/31/04 11:37 AM
SewTabby said...
Beautiful pants! They flatter you perfectly :)
8/31/04 12:16 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Great looking pants, Deepika!
8/31/04 12:39 PM
Skymom said...
Really chic, Deepika. You did a great job on these, and I hope will feel more comfortable working with wovens in the future after this success. Your zipper looks very good--and you aligned the yoke seam on each side of it perfectly, which can be quite tricky. I love the boot-leg cut on you.
8/31/04 1:39 PM
cindyann said...
They do ROCK. Love the style, the side zip and the shape of the pocket. Your zip looks fab, btw. Adding to wish list.
8/31/04 1:49 PM
alicia said...
They fit you beautifully!! Great review.
8/31/04 2:01 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Gorgeous! The fit is beautiful on you--very figure flattering!
8/31/04 4:03 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Great pants! They are very flattering on you.
8/31/04 5:10 PM
sewsue said...
Great pair of pants. Excellent fit. Thanks for the information about the zip, I always find a side zip challenging because of the curve which makes the fabric stretchy! I will be trying this pattern. Just 1 question, how wide are they at the hems and how high or low is the waist? Sorry, that's 2 questions actually!
8/31/04 5:14 PM
sewsue said...
Great pair of pants. Excellent fit. Thanks for the information about the zip, I always find a side zip challenging because of the curve which makes the fabric stretchy! I will be trying this pattern.
8/31/04 5:16 PM
Meredith P said...
I echo the WOW! These look really great on you and wonderful sewing job. The photos and review are very helpful. May have to check this one out, although I don't have your "youthful" figure.
8/31/04 6:10 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Love the tip about the side zip, Deepika! I always have a VERY curved s.s. on pants in the zip zone, so I tend to avoid side zips as I can never get them to fit properly. I can see great potential in this method! I may retry a previous pair of pants with this method. Is this a two piece yoke or a four piece?
8/31/04 7:14 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I'm so glad this pattern worked for you; it sure worked for Laura. And I'm glad you forced yourself to finish them. They look perfect.
8/31/04 7:22 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Absolutely fabulous! Great fit!
8/31/04 8:48 PM
Joyfullife said...
Wow, great job! I'm jealous that you can make a pair of pants right out of the envelope.
8/31/04 11:59 PM
Schnauzer said...
Great pants! Great fit!
9/1/04 0:33 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Perfect fit! Great color too. Thanks for the tips on stabilizing the crotch and waist--I'll try that. :)
9/1/04 3:16 AM
JDpenelope said...
Sensational on you! I believe this is the style recommended by those What Not to Wear girls. I put it in my favorites. 'Course it helps to have your slender, youthful curves.
9/1/04 6:44 AM
slow to sew said...
Very attractive! Thank you for your great reviews and for patternreview.com! You really inspire a beginner!
9/1/04 7:57 AM
Deepika said...
You guys ROCK! Thanks for such nice comments. You know thats why I got off my lazy ... and finished these pants. You all motivate me! After wearing it for a whole day at work yesterday I realised that I should have taken these in a bit. They are comforatable but I feel that I have to pull them up a bit every now and then. So in the next pair I will definitely make that small alteration. I really want to learn how Karla converted these pants to fly front. I love the shape and fit of these pants and would like to reuse this pattern many times. sewsue I didnt measure the hem but Karla mentioned in her review that they are 23" at the widest part. But since they were too long on me I had to do a 2.5" hem so its not that wide for me. I like this this way. How high they sit on the waist? Well I'd say just at the belly button.
9/1/04 10:29 AM
Danvillegirl said...
The pants are very flattering on you. Love the look of the zipper, you did a great job.
9/1/04 6:28 PM
Rennie Ashby said...
Never noticed this pattern. The pattern photo looks too young for me but now I must think again as I see (once again) that really depends on fabric choice, etc. Thanks for this review.
9/3/04 7:07 AM
PVA said...
WOW -- ditto all of the above! Thank you for a really great review & all of the helpful tips.
9/3/04 9:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Buy Now
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Buy Now