SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Christine Jonson> 426 (Shirred Top & Princess Wrap)

61 more reviews
Viewed 737 times 
Reviewed by:EveS
photo

 
 
About EveSstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/26/06
Reviews: 116 (patterns: 98)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 112 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/23/11 2:57 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ArtAttack said... (6/26/11 11:20 PM) Reply
Great review and even greater looking top...I've wondered about this pattern and you have weighted the scale to the "yes" side!
Heatherrique said... (6/25/11 0:47 AM) Reply
Simply a superb looking top on you!
sewing for fun said... (6/24/11 11:16 AM) Reply
You made a BEAUTIFUL top. I love this pattern - made it a bunch of times, from tshirt fabrics to silver stretch velvet. I, too, had to tweak it. For the neckline, I stabilized using very soft 3/8" knitted elastic - stretched just a bit at neckline and not at all from CF towards side seams. Zigzagged, turned and double needle topstitched. I had the same placement problems... needed an FBA, but still wished the edge crossed at a different spot. For the cap sleeve, I cut 4 and do a self-lined sleeve... stitch RST at hemline, turn and press and you get a very nice lined sleeve with NO hemming :) I also love the CJ keyhole top - it is my TNT T with some changes no neck and hemlines.
cindy-lou said... (6/24/11 9:41 AM) Reply
ADORE the top. You made my day with this review! I have my free CJ pattern on my desk, and it inspired me to order a couple more. Can't wait to try her patterns out!
mssewcrazy said... (6/24/11 7:59 AM) Reply
The top is really great looking. I missed the other 50 something reviews somehow and loved the link to the clear elastic tip. Thanks.
pterion said... (6/24/11 0:44 AM) Reply
Good pattern score! Although I hear what you're saying about being more comfortable with a little extra length for tops, I think this proportion works better with your cropped pants. Nice ensemble, Eve!
marec said... (6/24/11 0:42 AM) Reply
As always, I learned some new tips when reading one of your reviews-thanks for the info about using standard elastic on the neckline. Your top looks just perfect on you-it is very flattering.
Christas said... (6/23/11 9:12 PM) Reply
Your new top looks great on you!
Leslie in Austin said... (6/23/11 6:07 PM) Reply
What a pretty and flattering top!!!
Mahogany Stylist said... (6/23/11 5:15 PM) Reply
Great looking outfit.
MNBarb said... (6/23/11 4:48 PM) Reply
Very flattering fit. I like to see these patterns made up for real life since the pattern art is so stylized. Thanks for the review since I don't remember the other 49.
Bonnie O said... (6/23/11 3:44 PM) Reply
Great top, Eve!
Knitters Delight said... (6/23/11 3:36 PM) Reply
Your top really looks well put together. Love the black and white, too.
Mermie said... (6/23/11 3:27 PM) Reply
This is one of my all time favorites. I agree about adding length. I add 2" to mine. Your top looks great on you and looks faboo with your ridiculously comfy pants.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1086

photo
by: julliams

Review
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details