SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2931 

10 more reviews
Viewed 1088 times 
Reviewed by:Wormymole
photo

 
 
About Wormymole
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 1/6/10
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/26/11 4:27 PM
Last Updated:6/26/11 5:29 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
45 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
rivergum said...
Can we have a larger pic please? I would really love to have a look.
6/26/11 5:02 PM
Elona said...
I bet the dress is lovely, but the photo is unfortunately beyond teeny-tiny.
6/26/11 5:14 PM
Wormymole said...
Hi Thanks for looking at my review so quickly. Yes I'm working on a bigger picture! My computing skills are not on par with my dressmaking and my daughter promised to help but she's skyping her husband - they married but now are waiting for relevant visas to allow her into the States.
6/26/11 5:18 PM
Wormymole said...
I can direct you to my flickr page (if it works!) where I have more pictures including making the dress. http://www.flickr.com/photos/61163376@N00/sets/72157626927518029/
6/26/11 5:21 PM
rmusic1 said...
what a labour of love. I cant believe the amount of work you've put in to making and modifying that dress. I'm ambitious, but something like that is totally beyond me! congratulations, it is amazing.
6/26/11 5:32 PM
Wormymole said...
Yay Daughter sorted out my picture links issues.
6/26/11 5:35 PM
Baba Yaga said...
I'm sitting here all teary but with a big smile on my face. Lovely dress! Lovely pictures! Lovely wedding! And, what a lovely mum!
6/26/11 5:37 PM
michellep74 said...
What an amazing dress! Your daughter made a beautiful bride.
6/26/11 6:00 PM
Erin D said...
This dress is really beautiful. The ivory color of the fabric really suits your daughter, and all of your tremendous work paid off!
6/26/11 6:16 PM
Finicky Petite said...
This dress and the bride are so glamourous! Thank you for sharing!
6/26/11 6:20 PM
no7262 said...
Just gorgeous! You really did an amazing job! Nora :)
6/26/11 6:23 PM
QueenZ said...
Absolutely gorgeous!
6/26/11 6:36 PM
ArtAttack said...
It is simply glorious! What a fabulous job...congrats!
6/26/11 7:42 PM
brrmm said...
Oh what a beautful dress !! Absolutely love the underneath foofness with that little bit of blue peeping through. Gorgeous wedding. Congrats on a magnificent job wit the dress.
6/26/11 7:50 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Beautiful dress! Beautiful bride!! Handsome couple!!! ;)
6/26/11 7:52 PM
Elke said...
Beautiful dress and bride!
6/26/11 9:12 PM
cindy-lou said...
Beautiful dress, beautiful bride, and beautiful accomplishment. What a wonderful thing to have done, and what a beautiful memory to have!
6/26/11 9:45 PM
DaisyEsq said...
The wedding gown is stunning! Your daughter looked radiant in her well fitting gown and your photo journal is truly special.
6/26/11 9:48 PM
miausiau said...
What a great photo journey and one gorgeous dress!!! Thank you for all the details! Best wishes to the newlyweds.
6/26/11 10:08 PM
Elona said...
What an absolutely gorgeous gown! I loved your account of modifying it and putting it together, and the result is truly stunning. As an aside, the groom's kilt ain't too shabby, either. They didn't cheat on the yardage, and the kilt has great swing.
6/26/11 10:48 PM
mesewlot said...
Wow-OMG-Superb and all words in between, what an awesome job you did creating this wedding gown ...the fit is fantastic! You should be so overwhelmingly proud of yourself! Thanks for sharing all those wonderful pictures!!
6/26/11 10:56 PM
Irene said...
This is amazing dress, especially since you made up so much as you went along. Multi-colored, multi-textured floofage is such a fun touch. Your daughter's sense of style (40's bathing suit) compliments her physical features beautifully. What a wonderful set of wedding experiences and memories you and your daughter share!
6/26/11 11:26 PM
slmstyle said...
Beautiful job on your daughter's wedding gown!She looks fantastic in it and I'm sure was very proud to wear what you created just for her on her special day. Great work! What a lucky lady to have a great mom like you :)
6/26/11 11:41 PM
Karen Easter said...
Perfect dress! And it's a perfect pairing with the groom's kilt and Prince Charlie!
6/27/11 0:49 AM
kremmer said...
You need to stop referring to yourself as an amateur dressmaker! Fantastic dress!
6/27/11 1:45 AM
JillyBe said...
oh. my. gosh. LOVE your pictorial story! And the dress is a smashingly beautiful success! I love every single detail about it - a special day made even more so by the love and detail you put into everything. Thank you for taking us on such a delightful journey!
6/27/11 3:24 AM
SewSho said...
Amazing dress!
6/27/11 8:16 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Absolutely beautiful!! Your hard work is clearly apparent here and the bride is radiant. I'm also so happy to hear there's another newlywed US-UK couple with a handmade wedding gown!! :)
6/27/11 9:27 AM
MaryDB said...
Absolutely lovely! Beautiful work. Nice job. Thanks for the review.
6/27/11 11:13 AM
SewWil said...
Stunning!!! Your daughter looks radiant. Great job and great review!
6/27/11 12:20 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Your daughter's dress is absolutely stunning! Thank you for sharing and for all the lovely photos.
6/27/11 2:07 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
Just gorgeous! I appreciate how you cataloged photos marking the various stages of making this beautiful dress. Very, very nice work!
6/27/11 4:29 PM
Ericaeli said...
What an amazing dress!
6/27/11 5:35 PM
Kay Y said...
Floofage :D This is a very pretty dress! Nice job modifying the bodice!
6/27/11 10:00 PM
poppykettle said...
JUST AMAZING. I'm so impressed and 'G' looks so fabulous and happy! Such a great job :)
6/28/11 3:18 AM
sewcool21 said...
This dress is gorgeous!
7/1/11 11:17 AM
sewtofit said...
What an excellent display of workmanship. "Professional" you are. "For hire" maybe not. But definately "professional!" Just gorgeous!
7/2/11 10:05 PM
Sewnla said...
What a gorgeous bride your daughter was in her dress. You did a magnificent job. Really appreciated all the great pictures. Such beautiful work.
7/2/11 11:58 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Just gorgeous! Great job and I love the way you modified the bodice. That bow...ugh.
8/8/11 7:35 PM
barb90 said...
hey I willing be using this pattern too,to make a lace gown. My question is about the top, I wont be using the bow and straps do you think I will need a new bodice top bc it seems like I will new too i'll just buy another dress with a nice bodice top and sew it on to this one.
8/19/11 8:14 PM
Wormymole said...
Barb90 - you can make the dress without the bow but because the way the bodice is constructed there will be seams over the bust. See my early pics to see what I mean. Straps can be left out if you make the foundation garment. You could try a bodice from another pattern but you'll have to adjust it to fit to the skirt.
8/27/11 12:55 PM
barb90 said...
That's what I was thinking. I will just another bodice top. Thanks
8/27/11 1:08 PM
barb90 said...
Ooo..One more thing does it tell you how to sew on the netting because I want some puff. I'm trying to achieve this look.....Ann Barge Windsor http://wedding.ustcan.com/wedding-dresses/designer/anne-barge/dress/sweetheart/mermaid/floor-length/windsor/ and I might make the train a bit longer or is it all ready really long. I ordered the pattern but had to return it bc it was the wrong size so I didn't get to read it. Thanks for your help.
9/6/11 5:15 PM
barb90 said...
I pretty much changed my dress idea I'm going for this one http://www.neimanmarcus.com/store/catalog/prod.jhtml?itemId=prod132010006&parentId=cat27490731&masterId=&index=1&cmCat=cat000000cat000001cat40550765cat000131cat10040734cat27490731&isEditorial=false . I just wish there was a way to hind the seam line on the bust and I'm going to use a bodice top
9/6/11 5:16 PM
KathleenS said...
Wow! Well done, and thanks for all the detail; it's really interesting to read.
3/11/12 7:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

The Essential Tote

The Essential Tote

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Buy Now