Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 00000 out of print (Vogue Special Design) thumbsup - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in Vintage Pattern 2011 Contest    printable version
Viewed 248 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:bananaoil
photo
Friend of PR
About bananaoilstar
NY USA
Member since: 7/9/05
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/11 10:30 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Amanda.Claire said...
I really like this dress and pattern. It reminds me of something my grandmother would wear in some old pictures. Nice work!!
7/1/11 7:30 AM
OlindaM said...
I too think this a really nice dress, one that will take you to lots of places. And very well made of course!
7/1/11 8:01 AM
Karine said...
I like the dress a lot, especially that inverted pleat on the bodice. It looks like you did a beautiful job with the construction.
7/1/11 9:43 AM
marec said...
I really like this dress and hope you sew another version in a color you prefer. I like the "drab navy blue" as it goes well with gray hair :-) How about vibrant red?
7/1/11 10:52 AM
fourkid said...
You may call it a nana dress, but I think it is lovely. I am so glad you had your blog link here - I am now a "follower" (not a stalker!) I love reading your writing.
7/2/11 4:13 PM
Margaret said...
I think the dress looks great! Very nice work on that yoke and collar. I love how the plaid comes together at the front.
7/9/11 3:31 PM
ladybegood said...
I like how the fabric works in this pattern, but I do think a fuller skirt would look better, and maybe some more waist shaping... I think that blouson look only works on models. Do you think waist darts would ruin the check pattern?
7/12/11 9:24 PM
bananaoil said...
Update: This one I wore more than once and found easier to wear. Easier, but not entirely there yet. I think a dead straight skirt is only wearable for me if it is in fact a skirt, not attached to a top. And a belt, I can only wear a belt if it's holding up pants, this thing spun around me and didn't stay at my waistline. Maybe I move around too much. I'm still looking for a dress I can feel comfortable in. I don't think it can have a waistline seam.
2/15/12 9:09 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

McCall's 3762 Jumper
photo
Review by SewingSusa... on 1/24/04
Read Review

Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant
Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Purse-Nickities
Purse-Nickities

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern
Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Alabama Chanin Corset
photo
Review by Lynn67 on 11/10/13
Read Review

Simplicity 1784 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Simplicity 1784 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1352 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 1352 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us