SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1036 (MISSES' JACKET)

13 more reviews
Viewed 628 times 
Reviewed by:sewingmel
photo

 
 
About sewingmelstar
TX
Member since: 4/3/07
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/9/11 7:52 PM
Last Updated:7/9/11 8:11 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SavageCoco said...
Absolutley OUTSTANDING work.
2/15/12 1:52 PM
LynnG said...
You did a beautiful job on your jacket.
7/13/11 1:58 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
Wow! This is so sharp looking!!! I know that's it's already been said but it's gorgeous!....REALLY! What great skill you've illustrated here! You'll be wearing this for years to come! Nice work and GREAT review!
7/11/11 10:11 AM
RobinE said...
Wow! Beautiful work. Your close attention to all of the details really make this jacket sing. And thank you for the awesome review. I'm hoping to get brave enough to attempt a jacket here soon, and I'll definitely be looking to this for guidance and inspiration.
7/10/11 2:25 PM
Amanda S. said...
I just added this to my list! What a gorgeous jacket - your topstitching looks perfect!
7/10/11 9:43 AM
BexInMD said...
Beautiful jacket! I especially like the detail on the sleeves highlighted with topstitching. Thanks for a very helpful review.
7/10/11 8:56 AM
halleyscomet said...
Wow all the effort put into this amazing jacket! I think the topstitching really adds to it!
7/10/11 8:45 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
Beautiful jacket! Thanks for the info about feed dogs. I'll try that. I usually sew tops and do not have big issues with bulky seams. Now, I'll have another trick up my sleeve! Thanks.
7/10/11 8:45 AM
Lynnelle said...
Love it! Great job!
7/10/11 8:02 AM
Renren said...
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed reply. I truly appreciate it.
7/10/11 1:27 AM
Lori V said...
Amazing jacket, great review. Your topstitching is superb.
7/10/11 0:21 AM
sewingmel said...
I used size 24 heavy duty snaps from Dritz, and I used the hammer tool with it. I don't really have a trick for setting them. I do always put the decorative side on first, and I use those snaps to set the placement for the other side. If I get a little off in my placement, then they still match up with the other part of the snap. I try to measure on each one rather than just going by the marks on the pattern. To lower my feed dogs, I just flip a lever on my Singer 500A. Your machine manual should be able to tell you if you can do it. It is common for quilters, but I drop my feed dogs ALL the time in garment sewing. As for the detailed review, I have been saving this as a project in progress for the last few days. I had the review written by the time I finished, and I only had to add some pictures. Thanks!
7/9/11 9:31 PM
Ann Smith said...
Beautifully done. The top stitching really makes this wonderful.
7/9/11 9:22 PM
Claverie said...
I'm in awe that after making such a time consuming jacket, you took the time to write a very detailed review ;) This indeed was a tricky project in places, but you've definitely proved it can be done well. Very nice work.
7/9/11 9:10 PM
Renren said...
Great jacket and nicely detailed review. Two questions: 1) What kind of snaps did you use and how did you apply them so perfectly? 2) When you say you lowered the feed dogs, how did you do that? (Maybe my machine can't do it.) Thanks!
7/9/11 9:07 PM
Scheryka said...
Great job! I love your topstitching. Your jacket should be on the cover!
7/9/11 9:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Fehr Trade 000

photo
by: squirrelly...

Review
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Buy Now