SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6648 (Misses Knit Tops)

61 more reviews
Viewed 724 times 
Reviewed by:Lynnelle
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lynnellestarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 58 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:7/10/11 2:07 PM
Last Updated:9/25/12 9:55 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Levone said...
Love all of your tops!
9/26/12 3:48 PM
ggf2005 said...
I think the orange is my fav...they are all lovely!
9/26/12 10:23 AM
Lynnelle said...
Thank you all so much the comments. =) @Margaret: I'm not sure. I just made Simplicity 2614 and found the exact same problem with the armband piece, and this is for a woven! Why on earth would they draft a piece to have the lengthwise grain go around the arm? I just don't understand that. I mentioned this in my review, but I haven't posted it because I need pictures.
7/12/11 9:01 AM
Margaret said...
Very nice top, looks great on you and I love the print! Thanks for pointing out the waist piece grain issue. I have had a similar issue with a different New Look pattern where a draped piece ended up on the straight grain going around the body. I wonder if they use only four-way stretch for their samples?
7/11/11 12:08 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
Great review! Love your top! Very flattering!
7/11/11 11:51 AM
VivianZ said...
I made this pattern a few years ago and loved it! Yours looks great, and I also had the too big neck line. I have been wanting to make it again, and took it out the other day, and had written on it "make neck 1-2 " smaller. I like your method.
7/11/11 7:52 AM
michellep74 said...
Pretty top--perfect fabric choice!
7/11/11 2:08 AM
Christas said...
Your top looks great on you!
7/11/11 0:51 AM
Gold said...
Cute top!
7/10/11 8:50 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
This style really suits you. Very very pretty!
7/10/11 8:18 PM
Gelbean said...
Your top looks great on you. I have made this view twice. I followed the pattern instructions for the waistband but I like your way better. If I ever make this top again I will also reduce the neckline. It is a bit large as is. Great job and wonderful review!
7/10/11 6:21 PM
snowflake0703 said...
Great top on you. I have made this pattern twice now, this view and the sleeveless view. Great pattern.
7/10/11 4:55 PM
SheBear0320 said...
Thanks for the tip on how to fix the neckline -- I have this pattern and just haven't got around to sewing it up yet. Great choice of fabric -- very flattering.
7/10/11 3:45 PM
Scheryka said...
Great top. The fabric and pattern lines were made each other. Realy cute. Oh, I really could have that neck line tip on my tank I just made! If it stretches any more i could use around my waist.
7/10/11 3:14 PM
EleanorSews said...
Lynn, that's really a beautiful top, both fit and fabric! You look great! Useful tip on how to fix that wide neckline. Thanks!
7/10/11 3:10 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Very beautiful top. It really looks great on you!
7/10/11 2:23 PM
RobinE said...
Your top looks fabulous! It is very flattering and I love the gorgeous print you chose. Thanks for the detailed review. :)
7/10/11 2:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 2398

photo
by: MaidenJane

Review
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Buy Now