SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6557 (Misses Dresses)

64 more reviews
Review submitted in One Pattern Many Looks Contest
Viewed 673 times 
Reviewed by:Gelbean
photo

 
 
About Gelbeanstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 2/17/08
Reviews written: 125
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 31 people
patterns reviewed: 113
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Posted on:7/13/11 3:30 PM
Last Updated:7/20/11 8:57 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crazygrad said...
You look so gorgeous and glamorous! Though in the pic, the blue dominates. Maybe the flash?
7/13/11 4:09 PM
KensingtonCrab said...
You look so fantastic! You need to be taken out and shown off! Glad to hear it is bra friendly and easy to sew up.
7/13/11 4:53 PM
MNBarb said...
If I looked this good in a dress I'd make at least 3 more. Everything about this really works for you. How wonderful when it all comes together.
7/13/11 5:45 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Wow, that is a great dress! Nice work!
7/13/11 6:35 PM
Riesie said...
Great color on you!
7/13/11 6:41 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Wow! Stunning on you. Great idea to make the straps wider.
7/13/11 8:26 PM
Kim12469 said...
This is such a great shape on you. I really need to buy this pattern.
7/13/11 8:43 PM
Aroura said...
This is such a gorgeous dress! It really accentuates your figure in all the right places. And that fabric is beautiful, the blue really does stand out.
7/13/11 10:15 PM
cmcarr said...
Beautiful dress and fit.
7/13/11 10:40 PM
Heatherrique said...
Totally hot, Gelbean! Wow! Very nice dress on you.
7/14/11 3:53 PM
Obrooks770 said...
Pretty dress, looks gorgeous on you!
7/14/11 5:20 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress! Looks great on you.
7/14/11 6:30 PM
Sew tell me said...
Va va va Voom!
7/14/11 11:01 PM
sewbarbie said...
Wow! This is a perfect argument for making your own clothes, it's beautiful.
7/14/11 11:34 PM
OlindaM said...
Really glamorous, and such neat sewing too!
7/20/11 8:55 AM
marec said...
These two views are just perfect for the OPML contest. Your work is superb and shows that just changing the fabric will take a pattern from day to evening. Nice work!
7/20/11 11:03 AM
TracyKM said...
I made two versions of this dress 4 years ago, same sort of idea--one was rayon and summery, one was a flocked taffeta for a Christmas party. But it was before I understood about needing a FBA so they didn't fit right. Then I tried it again last summer, but I still didn't get a good outcome. Do you have any tips you can share to fit a busty lady? Your's looks awesome and fits very well without showing too much! I tried to post a comment on your blog, but BLogger won't let Google users post comments unless the comment box comes up in a separate window (or you have Name/URL option, which you don't).
7/20/11 11:46 AM
Elizabeth made this said...
You look fabulous! It's nice to find undergarment friendly patterns. Strapless is a 4 letter word imo! ;)
7/20/11 7:36 PM
Norsecross said...
I really like your choices of fabrics. The sturdiness of the brocade being snug with no pulling just looks fabulous. The drape falling away from the legs is so evening appropriate and fetching! The summery version with flats, perfection! Good pattern, good visualization too!
7/21/11 1:38 AM
nicegirl said...
Love the way this looks so different in the day and evening fabrics! Very flattering and a great fit.
7/21/11 10:31 AM
ElizabethDee said...
Fabulous work choosing your fabrics (and of course, in sewing them up)! They are so different but you make such splendid use of both. I have the VW fabric stashed and hope to use it half as well as you have. What great dresses!
7/31/11 5:22 PM
Bonnie O said...
Lovely dresses!!! You look wonderful.
7/31/11 11:39 PM
Silknmore said...
I just love these dresses. Your fit is amazing.
8/1/11 8:27 PM
marjoriekh said...
Such beautifully-fitting and sexy dresses. Beautifully made, too, judging from the inside photo. I bet you feel great wearing them.
8/4/11 10:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Popolok Design Avita Dress

photo
by: newmama

Review
McCall's 6360

photo
by: Legal.Deal...

Review
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Buy Now
9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

Buy Now