Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 06-2010-123 (Sack Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 345 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 148
Favored by: 220 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/15/11 7:50 AM
Last Updated:7/15/11 7:53 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Auntie Allyn said...
Wow, this dress is absolutely adorable . . . looks terrific on you!!!
7/15/11 8:27 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
I agree with Auntie Allyn..Wow! It really looks great on you. That silk jersey is lovely and it has the perfect drape for that pattern.
7/15/11 8:43 AM
manola6176 said...
So chic dress. The fabric is beautiful with a great drape!!!
7/15/11 9:52 AM
Nancywin said...
Cute, quick and easy (except for your sewing machines eating it) What more could you ask for? And silk jersey for $15.00? You're on a roll.
7/15/11 10:09 AM
AndreaSews said...
This is adorable on you! You make the most beautiful garments. Gotta love silk jersey, too.
7/15/11 10:34 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Love this on you! (And envious that you can wear a sack dress and not look like you're wearing a sack).
7/15/11 10:47 AM
marjoriekh said...
Yes, where is the sack-ness? (I see it in the line drawing, but not on you.) I like that you did not center the plaid in front. That makes it somehow. Is that a plaid rule I haven't heard of, or did you just know to do that in this case?
7/15/11 12:28 PM
cindy-lou said...
Just a big wow. LOVE that dress. Beautiful on you. Love that the gathering is in the back. Can't wait to see the party version too!
7/15/11 12:47 PM
Erin D said...
So cute! Your fabric choice is ideal for this design.
7/15/11 3:13 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Great dress!
7/15/11 6:26 PM
TracyTheMaterialGirl said...
I didn't look twice at this pattern in the magazine - but your fabric choice has made this look fantastic. Wonderful
7/16/11 8:43 AM
ChristineBR said...
This is beautiful, but I think you are clothes rack: anything looks good on you! Checked out your blog, and my suspicion was confirmed.
7/16/11 9:06 AM
marec said...
Love this more than I have words for.
7/16/11 10:57 AM
1SewSweet said...
This dress is goregous!!! I really like the changes you've made, such a perfect fit, color/design and fabric choice!! Beautiful job on your part!!
7/16/11 11:55 AM
crisford said...
Awesome dress!!!
7/17/11 0:05 AM
SandyinMO said...
I really want to make this dress after seeing yours. I was wondering - What happens if you put it on backwards? It looks like it might work either way.
7/17/11 9:11 AM
Deepika said...
Such a cute dress. And your matching is perfect. Love the silk jersey. I am so jealous of you being so close to Michael's Fabrics :) ETA: for the skipped stitches, try the following - ball point needle (size 10), straight stitch. I usually try to poke the fabric still in my hands with different needles and whichever is least resistance, I use that in the s/m. Hope this helps.
7/18/11 2:49 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Simplicity 4568
photo
Review by Lori V on 3/2/06
Read Review

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern
SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Claire Handbag
Claire Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Flip Flops Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Flip Flops Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5354
photo
Review by Gelbean on 6/3/10
Read Review

McCalls 6101 Pattern ( Size 3/4-5/6 )
McCalls 6101 Pattern ( Size 3/4-5/6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5432 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5432 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us