Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Serendipity Studio: 117 (diane kimono dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 643 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:sew2little
photo
Friend of PR
About sew2littlestar
CA USA
Member since: 1/12/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/19/11 1:17 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aroura said...
Love this dress in both its versions. Version one is so vibrant and fun! In version two, I don't think you were overly zealous in avoiding flowers on the bodice or dress in general. The flowers heavily on the right sleeve and sort of diagonally across the skirt give a nice asymetric balance that looks very artfully done. Such a simple pattern, and you really made both versions stand out, excellent!
7/19/11 1:35 AM
sewsunny37 said...
Both of the dresses look fabulous on you! Nice way to survive the heat and look wonderful while doing it! Thanks for the review. I love Kay Whitt's patterns.
7/19/11 1:51 AM
mm said...
Great summer dresses.
7/19/11 2:51 AM
CindyHa said...
Adorable!
7/19/11 5:41 AM
Lori V said...
Two very pretty dresses, they look great on you.
7/19/11 7:12 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
Your dresses look so fresh and pretty!
7/19/11 8:21 AM
Barbara V said...
Wonderful and easy summer dress pattern. Both versions look great on you! Version 1 is so summery and light and good coloring on you and I couldn't agree with you more about wearing dresses to stay cool in hot weather.
7/19/11 9:34 AM
GodsgirlT said...
This is just lovely! I love it! I am a magnet for printed fabrics but find myself getting quite overwhelmed whenever I venture into the quilting fabric section of a fabric store. There are just SO MANY options and possibilites! GOOD ONES!! And although they seem to group like matches together I still am just all over the place. Anyway, I admire those people that can make gorgeous garments using those fabrics as you did here. Great looking dress!
7/19/11 9:36 AM
pterion said...
Both versions of this dress are lovely and I agree that such a versatile dress deserves to be made up multiple times!
7/19/11 10:20 AM
OlindaM said...
I love your dresses too! Isnt it amazing how different the same dress pattern can look with totally different fabrics? Well done.
7/19/11 10:28 AM
marec said...
Wonderful dresses and your use of the fabrics makes them special. I love both and am drawn toward version #2.
7/19/11 11:20 AM
sewbehind said...
Very pretty. The design is so simple, yet the result is stunning.
7/19/11 11:30 AM
MNBarb said...
You did such a nice job of using bright fabric and not getting a "little girl" look in your floral dress. I really like the texture of the subdued version. You were so smart to use elastic in the casing, a drawstring just doesn't work and causes one to spend too much time fiddling with clothing. I wondered about gaping, glad to see you came up with a solution. I might have to try this dress to wear during our 6 weeks of summer.
7/19/11 1:37 PM
Erin D said...
I love both versions! Thanks so much for this review-I wasn't familiar with this pattern.
7/19/11 3:10 PM
MarianS said...
Both of these dresses look great on you. I love the fabrics!
7/20/11 8:50 AM
VivianZ said...
What a fun summer dress pattern. I think they are both great and look like an anthropologie dress. I particularly like the second. I would have not paid an ounce of attention to this pattern, but I like yours, and might get it for my hot climate in Louisiana.
7/20/11 9:55 AM
bananaoil said...
WOw. That is the dress I've been looking for. It looks so cool.
7/21/11 10:06 AM
mary in FL said...
I have this pattern, and now I think I will have to make it up!
10/17/11 9:52 PM
Cultured Purl said...
I can only link up to one dress but it is very pretty and compliments you well~ I have this pattern but I purchased it for a swim cover up or a tunic, never did I think it would work up so WELL for a pretty day dress! It looks like this would make a great tunic also~ have a few of her patterns ( her easy trench is the best) and some of her skirt patterns,,,,she is one talented young designer just coming into her own (, I made her " Betty June shirtdress) but used less fabric on the skirt, am in my early five ohs( was worried it was too ' young looking) and get compliments on her dress all the time~ ALL her patterns are drafted well, she is precise and is just an email away~ Now I have to make this one up for summer b/c it looks SO SO comfortable and flattering! good sewing to you! ( and THANK YOU for your review, wow, it opened my eyes to possibilities! Enjoy your new garments! ~ take a look at her whole line, very nice indeed! I would have used elastic also so it looked neat all the time,,,now that think about this,, white eyelet would be so pretty and so summery w a prettty sunhat for a picnic or for church! love it!
5/21/12 6:07 AM
caper81 said...
Wow, what a lovely dress you made! Looks great on you :)
6/10/12 8:40 AM
teri b said...
I know this is AGES too old, but am hoping to get a response. Exactly how did you enclose the waistband on the inside? I'm at that point right now on my first one, and would LOVE to make it all nice and enclosed. Thanks in advance, teri b
4/23/13 2:04 PM
teri b said...
Your tip about the elastic in the casing and reversing the sleeve bands worked perfectly. Thanks so much!! Love this pattern!
4/25/13 5:54 PM
teri b said...
Oh, and P.S. I figured out about enclosing the waist....and I love that SO much better than raw edges, even if serged. Way more professional looking.
4/25/13 5:55 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2012-119
photo
Review by rabitgrl on 2/20/13
Read Review

Butterick 5322 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5322 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3146 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3146 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1426
photo
Review by KWNightwin... on 4/21/14
Read Review

Victory Chloe Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Chloe Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern
Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Katy Bags
Katy Bags

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern
You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us