SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1241 (Misses' Dress Kay Unger)

14 more reviews
Viewed 747 times 
Reviewed by:mesewlot
photo

 
 
About mesewlotstar
GA USA
Member since: 4/2/09
Reviews written: 59
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 58
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/18/11 0:34 AM
Last Updated:7/19/11 11:23 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $6.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $6.99 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewsunny37 said...
This dress looks beautiful on you--a perfect fit and great fabric choice. Thanks for the tips and thorough review, too.
7/18/11 1:19 AM
Leora said...
I find that sizing discrepancy annoying. I hope you didn't have to buy another envelope just to get the 12. Lovely dress and perfect fit!
7/18/11 3:53 AM
mesewlot said...
Thanks ladies! @ Lenora~ No, I didn't, my pattern ranged from size 8-16.
7/18/11 7:50 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Great fit and I love your fabric choice! Thanks for the fit tips, I appreciate it!
7/18/11 8:09 AM
JenniferMM said...
I've admired this fabric several times and it looks great on you! Very nice dress! (I agree, the sizing is annoying! My very first dress looked like a trash bag because it was so big based on the envelope! I'm glad I know better now.)
7/18/11 8:13 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
Love that! The fabric choice is top notch! I have a Kay Unger pattern that I've had for some time. You're making me want to bring it forward. Nice work!
7/18/11 9:49 AM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous dress! Thanks for the detailed review.
7/18/11 10:15 AM
BexInMD said...
Beautiful job on a great design. You look fabulous!
7/18/11 10:32 AM
ArtAttack said...
Oh, it looks fabulous on you! Fits like a glove! Great comments on your blog, too, which I will go back to when I have more time to soak it in...great job!
7/18/11 10:39 AM
mesewlot said...
Thanks ladies! @ GodsgirlT, go ahead and pull out your pattern...you can't go wrong with KayUnger. :) @ ArtAttack, thanks for visiting my blog. :)
7/18/11 12:20 PM
Fran G said...
Beautiful dress! I agree with the statement concerning the annoying info on sizing. The dress is definitely designed to be a fitted look..as most Kay Unger's designs are. Why so much ease? Well, you followed your intuition and have a beautiful result.
7/19/11 8:05 AM
goal100 said...
Thank you for the review! I have this pattern and fabric for it in my stash! If the current heat wave continues, I'll get it sewn in the next 2 weeks! Very helpful!
7/19/11 8:34 AM
goal100 said...
Thank you for the review! I have this pattern and fabric for it in my stash! If the current heat wave continues, I'll get it sewn in the next 2 weeks! Very helpful!
7/19/11 8:34 AM
carolynw said...
Great looking dress - the fabric is beautiful and the fit is perfect - small wonder you got loads of complements
7/20/11 9:07 AM
Christas said...
Pretty dress!
7/20/11 9:47 AM
slmstyle said...
Great looking dress! I agree with a trial run in muslin or tissue fitting for the best results. Pattern sizing is usually off and extremely generous in my experience. I have this pattern in my stash and can't wait to sew it. Thanks for your review and tips; I'll definitely refer to them for this pattern and most likely for others.
7/20/11 7:58 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Butterick 5247

photo
by: Erin D

Review
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

Buy Now