SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5466 (Misses' Skirt and Belt)

34 more reviews
Viewed 287 times 
Reviewed by:redcleo
photo

 
 
About redcleo
MN USA
Member since: 12/23/08
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/26/11 10:24 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nicegirl said...
Very cute! It's great to find those TNT patterns. I am going against Grain Orthodoxy here, but as long as your fabric is stable cutting on the crossgrain probably won't be a problem. I've done it in fabric shortage emergencies with no noticeable ill effect. It is best to cut all pieces on the same grain, though, whether straight of grain or crossgrain.
7/26/11 10:50 AM
ClioBklyn said...
The fun fabric really works on such an unfussy pattern! Very fun! I second cutting it crossgrain. I just used a border print which I cut crosswise and it turned out fine.
7/26/11 11:14 AM
redcleo said...
Thanks for the cross-grain advice! I'm going to give it a shot! What do I have to lose, except one yard of fabric.
7/26/11 2:07 PM
hme75 said...
Another great skirt! I've been trying to decide on a pencil skirt pattern for fall and I'll definitely take a closer look at this. Too bad I just missed the $0.99 Butterick sale at Joanns..
7/26/11 11:40 PM
sewman100 said...
Can this Skirt be made below the knee as I am looking for patterns below the knew to mid calf and longer
7/27/11 1:11 AM
sewman100 said...
Can this Skirt be made below the knee as I am looking for patterns below the knew to mid calf and longer
7/27/11 1:11 AM
redcleo said...
sewman100 - I hemmed this up 4 1/2" and I'm 5'8", so it's pretty much a below-the-knee skirt already. I think if it was much longer, you'd have to add in a back vent, as it's fairly slim. My stride wasn't hindered with the shorter length, but I think it might be awkward if it was longer. Otherwise, I don't see why you couldn't make it longer. All of the pattern pieces are just a plain rectangle except for the hips/waistline part, so it would be really easy to make longer.
7/27/11 11:29 AM
Anne Cherry said...
Wow love the fabric you used! I LOVE this pattern - really need to break out and try some of the other views (I'm stuck on View A) :-0 I added a back vent to my versions - it helps with movement but not critical for knee length. Agree that you need it if making a below knee version. Also, I've made this on the cross grain, works fine!
7/29/11 10:52 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Buy Now
Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Buy Now
No Pattern Used couch slip cover

photo
by: Passion4Se...

Review