Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5466 (Misses' Skirt and Belt) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 277 times 32 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:redcleo
photo
About redcleo
MN USA
Member since: 12/23/08
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/26/11 10:24 AM


See other patterns in this category: Accessories    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $17.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nicegirl said...
Very cute! It's great to find those TNT patterns. I am going against Grain Orthodoxy here, but as long as your fabric is stable cutting on the crossgrain probably won't be a problem. I've done it in fabric shortage emergencies with no noticeable ill effect. It is best to cut all pieces on the same grain, though, whether straight of grain or crossgrain.
7/26/11 10:50 AM
ClioBklyn said...
The fun fabric really works on such an unfussy pattern! Very fun! I second cutting it crossgrain. I just used a border print which I cut crosswise and it turned out fine.
7/26/11 11:14 AM
redcleo said...
Thanks for the cross-grain advice! I'm going to give it a shot! What do I have to lose, except one yard of fabric.
7/26/11 2:07 PM
hme75 said...
Another great skirt! I've been trying to decide on a pencil skirt pattern for fall and I'll definitely take a closer look at this. Too bad I just missed the $0.99 Butterick sale at Joanns..
7/26/11 11:40 PM
sewman100 said...
Can this Skirt be made below the knee as I am looking for patterns below the knew to mid calf and longer
7/27/11 1:11 AM
sewman100 said...
Can this Skirt be made below the knee as I am looking for patterns below the knew to mid calf and longer
7/27/11 1:11 AM
redcleo said...
sewman100 - I hemmed this up 4 1/2" and I'm 5'8", so it's pretty much a below-the-knee skirt already. I think if it was much longer, you'd have to add in a back vent, as it's fairly slim. My stride wasn't hindered with the shorter length, but I think it might be awkward if it was longer. Otherwise, I don't see why you couldn't make it longer. All of the pattern pieces are just a plain rectangle except for the hips/waistline part, so it would be really easy to make longer.
7/27/11 11:29 AM
Anne Cherry said...
Wow love the fabric you used! I LOVE this pattern - really need to break out and try some of the other views (I'm stuck on View A) :-0 I added a back vent to my versions - it helps with movement but not critical for knee length. Agree that you need it if making a below knee version. Also, I've made this on the cross grain, works fine!
7/29/11 10:52 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2013-3 Ottobre
photo
Review by blue moone... on 6/29/13
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3715 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3715 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3880 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18 )
Butterick 3880 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4589 Misses' Tops
photo
Review by Secretsuga... on 3/22/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Digital Pattern
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us