SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8719 (mens's jacket and pants)

6 more reviews
Viewed 396 times 
Reviewed by:coffeepezaddict
photo

 
 
About coffeepezaddict
Member since: 2/2/08
Reviews: 3 (patterns: 3)
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/29/11 5:47 PM
Last Updated:7/29/11 10:24 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    Mens - Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewtofit said... (9/21/14 11:20 PM) Reply
Wow you did a terrific job on these. I have to say, you have a lot of patience to do that seam finishing. I really don't like doing it, but admit it is gorgeous on the inside.
susie k said... (7/31/11 10:53 AM) Reply
nice jacket and very cool button
coffeepezaddict said... (7/30/11 11:06 AM) Reply
I think that the twill actually supports itself pretty well too, but my posture in the pictures does not. I also think I shrunk the corduroy one so it fits perfectly. I'll have to try a lined jacket thanks to your encouragements. That'll be forthcoming. I have no idea what that potato joke means, but thanks for the humor. I've got a pair of pants I need to whip up in that olive color fabric.
becca a said... (7/30/11 9:30 AM) Reply
Great sport coats! The corduroy one is fabulous--the fabric supports itself better. The seam binding is such a nice finish, but I agree with a life in stitches that linings are often quicker.
Woolygal said... (7/30/11 7:00 AM) Reply
Great job.
a life in stitches said... (7/30/11 2:56 AM) Reply
Serious sewing, wear with pride! Can I offer encouragement on the use of linings? A lining goes together much faster than the outer fabric and the time spent is often less than what you would spend on finishing edges with binding. Love the traditional terminology (coat) - Tailors' joke: 'Only potatoes have jackets'.
beth5646 said... (7/30/11 0:20 AM) Reply
Very impressive. You have done a great job. I have always been scared of men's jackets and pants for some reason. Maybe I should give it a shot. Thanks for the review.
sfshaza said... (7/29/11 11:10 PM) Reply
I only see the blue version, not the olive version. It looks great! Well done!
beginagain said... (7/29/11 11:06 PM) Reply
Very nice. I'm really loving the corduroy one.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

StyleArc Monica Pant

photo
by: lah119

Review
J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Pattern Details