Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2962 (Misses Swimsuit) thumbsup - Type:Swimwear    printable version
Viewed 375 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:The Funky Seamstress
photo
About The Funky Seamstressstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 7/22/10
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/4/11 2:47 PM


See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
rmusic1 said...
you're right, the fabric is great, so much more fun then the boring black or navy your normally find in the shops for sport style swim suits. I'm sure the final version will get lots of use!
8/4/11 3:00 PM
carolynw said...
Great fit and really gorgeousl fabric - you'll turn head for sure in this beauty
8/4/11 3:10 PM
sewing for fun said...
Your suit looks GREAT! I love the fabric, and it fits beautifully. I like the KS swim patterns, too. I used the fitting instructions out of the KS swim and actionwear book. I started with one size smaller than measurements, then made the FBA, torso and crotch length adjustments exactly according to their instructions and got an almost perfect fit the first time. Where did you get that great fabric??
8/4/11 3:22 PM
persevering said...
Wow - I'm so impressed! I've got the KS book and I haven't finished my 1st .... how wonderful that 'sewing for fun' commented too. Your fabric is great and the fit looks perfect too me ... swimsuits stretch out somewhat at least, so tight but not too tight, would be the right size, IMHO. If it helps, the label in my swimsuit has the fabric content as shell 47% P.S.T., 53% polyester, lining 100% nylon, according to the label. This swimsuit, alas not available anymore, has lasted me over 1 full year of I think about 100 wearings or so, with only the cleavage overstretched out now, though still wearable. All my other purchased swimsuits never lasted as long. Please share your fabric and finding info. I'm so happy to read your review .... I was just about to give up trying anymore. Your review is greatly appreciated!
8/4/11 3:47 PM
bagabon said...
Didto for me too looks great !!! And I love your hair cut too!!!
8/4/11 5:33 PM
The Funky Seamstress said...
I got the fabric from Fabricland. It was on clearance for 70% off and had been sitting there forever. It just feels like regular swimwear fabric. I'd love something a bit beefier, and a full lining would eliminate the cling you get when you get out of the pool. It's definitely too tight, but I'm only going to make small adjustments to the next one.
8/4/11 7:14 PM
persevering said...
Thanks for the additional info...I'll certainly be looking for your next swimsuit review re: fabric, etc.... appreciating your fitting photos of this review .. 'cause I'm kind of blocked with the the one I'm working on ... and seeing your process is extremely helpful ... also I've realized the exact fabric used will make quite a difference on the fit vs (size) cut out of fabric. Anyways, thanks for giving me hope in continuing to make my own swimsuit (actually I've spent months on it .... the unknown fabric I'm using has about 100% 2-way stretch & it has been suggested to me that I use the fabric also as the lining.) I'd also like a beefier fabric that has the fabric content of the RTW I mentioned. Congratulations on your excellent work!
8/4/11 7:55 PM
Elizabeth made this said...
Such a flattering print, and the fit is great. Nice work.
8/4/11 9:56 PM
marec said...
What a great looking suit, and thank you for the review pictures. It helps me to see what is possible. I am saving this in my faves.
8/4/11 10:47 PM
NancyZL said...
Great fit on this and such a pretty fabric!
8/4/11 11:18 PM
jenleeC said...
Sewing bathers!! I'm impressed!! I'd assumed a home sewer would never get the fit or the finish right without a commercial sewing machine but yours look fantastic.
8/4/11 11:24 PM
Knitters Delight said...
Perfect job on this swimsuit!
8/4/11 11:28 PM
sewbehind said...
Great looking swimsuit. Looks fabulous and funtional. The diagonal stripes are very flattering.
8/4/11 11:38 PM
GayMcDonell said...
Great work - I love a racer back too - and I too would increase my bum curve - your fabric is very nice too! Very inspiring!
8/5/11 0:44 AM
sfshaza said...
What a great fit! A very cute swimsuit.
8/5/11 0:52 AM
pdiddly said...
Well done on your first swimsuit - looks great and love the fabric - I have just tried panties for the first time and think I now need to cut my teeth on a swimsuit.
8/5/11 2:55 AM
Sharon1952 said...
You fit your muslin perfectly for the final model. What a wonderful print. It looks really good on you- flattering colors.
8/5/11 7:14 AM
JEF said...
Just wonderful! It looks super on you.
8/5/11 9:31 AM
MNBarb said...
You are too cute in this suit! The neckline area is just perfect and flattering to your face and racerback is perfect for swimming and aquafitness. I want my hair to look like yours. Maybe you could send me some positive hair vibes.
8/5/11 10:03 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Burda 7940
photo
Review by loohoo44 on 9/30/07
Read Review

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern
Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

In-House Claire Shorts Digital Pattern
In-House Claire Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Weekend getaway blouse + dress Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Weekend getaway blouse + dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3475
photo
Review by daleygirl on 7/11/12
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3171 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3171 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9490 Pattern
Burda 9490 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us