SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> StyleArc> Laura Knit Cardi (Laura Jacket J012)

6 more reviews
Viewed 549 times 
Reviewed by:becca a
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About becca astarstar
VT USA
Member since: 11/6/04
Reviews written: 83
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 80
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/6/11 0:03 AM
Last Updated:8/6/11 5:33 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
no7262 said...
LOVE IT! I have no answers to your questions, sorry. It looks like a great sweater! I am loving the Style Arc Patterns! You did a great job! Even the flat feld seams look great, not wonky at all! Nora :)
8/6/11 8:16 AM
Aroura said...
I can't help you either, but it looks great! How neat that the shawl collar is actually a hood.
8/6/11 11:17 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice sweater! I particularly like the back view. The hood/collar and shaped waist gives a nice silhouette. Thanks for the review.
8/6/11 9:00 PM
GayMcDonell said...
Great work - I've made 2 of these - With the seam through the CB / collar - on one version I did a French seam in lightweight knit- and the other I did an open seam and the stitched down the 2 seam allowances flat - close to the raw edge and left it at that. I too like the slim fit and casual style of this cardi and I get much wear out of it. Size 8 - and it's still big - you must be quite petite!
8/7/11 0:15 AM
1SewSweet said...
This is really lovely!!! I love everything about it including fabric and color!! I would do a "faux" flat felled seam. It would be faster and much easier to do. Sew the seams (right sides together), finish the edge with a rolled hem or just serge edge with a small stitch. Now press seam flat to one side, then topstitch edge. To complete, topstitch close to seam on opposite side. Hope this helps!
8/7/11 7:26 AM
becca a said...
Thank you all for your lovely comments! 1SewSweet, yes, you are right that a faux felled seam would be faster and neater. I was thinking of how that looks on the inside of my jeans with the 4 thread serging, but using a small edge stitch would make it look a lot nicer. Thanks for the tip!
8/7/11 11:10 AM
beth5646 said...
Wonderful sweater. Looks fabulous on you. I absolutely love this pattern. I have it in my stash and plan on making it up soon. Thank you for the great review.
8/7/11 11:35 AM
Margaret said...
This looks great on you! Sounds like it does have a standard shawl collar construction with those inside corners -- nice that it's also a hood! Yes, the 1/2" doesn't really sound like enough for it to be easy to do a flat-felled seam, especially if the knit is at all thick. On some knits it also looks fine to stitch the seam allowance down to one side, say 1/4" away, and trim the excess away close to the stitching.
8/11/11 12:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Simplicity 1939

photo
by: lauramae

Review
Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Buy Now
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Buy Now