Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8718 (misses jacket, top, dress, skirt, and pants) thumbsup - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 879 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 263 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/7/11 9:07 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewingsilly said...
Fantastic looking jacket!! Beautiful fit and flattering style.
8/7/11 9:13 PM
V8Mustang said...
Wow - beautiful, and the whole outfit looks fantastic on you. The sleeves are fabulous. I wouldn't want to be the drycleaner who has to figure out how to press them!! Very impressive work!
8/7/11 9:18 PM
Lynnelle said...
Nice jacket, Kay. Tell me, what drew you to the pattern? =P
8/7/11 9:40 PM
Christas said...
Oh, wow, Kay! That is one very nice looking jacket. I have looked right past this pattern over and over, but your version is very lovely.
8/7/11 10:31 PM
SewWil said...
What a wonderful suit! I've been eyeing this jacket for quite some time. Thanks for your detailed review.
8/7/11 10:40 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I really like your version. i habe this pattern and plan to stitch up the jacket this fall so i thank you for your advice on the sleeve pleats!
8/7/11 11:04 PM
Gold said...
Wow nice looking outfit!
8/7/11 11:07 PM
Fran G said...
Beautiful fit, Kay. An unusual jacket that is perfect on you. Enjoy wearing!
8/8/11 7:44 AM
jenleeC said...
Your suit looks fantastic! The construction is flawless and I am in awe of your beautiful top-stitching! I have never tackled underlining but I can see it makes a big difference to the finish of the garment. Oh, to be back in the corporate world where I could wear such a wonderful outfit!
8/8/11 8:22 AM
GodsgirlT said...
This is gorgeous! Good eye that you have to spot this jacket in the Collection. This looks fantastic on you. I have had this pattern for a little while - a few Vogue sales ago - I too was drawn to the sleeves. You've set a pretty high standard for me sew up to! When I get to it I am sure that I will refer to this great review! Thanks! This turned out spectacular! Great work!
8/8/11 8:27 AM
Karine said...
Your suit looks fabulous on you! And those sleeves... Your review was really helpful, reading how you did the sleeves with the ribbon and also the collar. The thread bars were such a good idea. Love the edge/top stitching too!
8/8/11 9:33 AM
21wale said...
Gorgeous jacket! It's a very flattering style on you.
8/8/11 12:41 PM
peachfuzz said...
this is absolutely phenomenal looking. Just killer.
8/8/11 2:46 PM
Marge99 said...
I love it!
8/8/11 4:24 PM
Sigrid. said...
Gorgeous, as always.
8/8/11 4:27 PM
waltzqueen said...
So chic! soo cooool. Your suit is wonderful, right out of the couture window! You look fabulous and like you're having waaaay too much fun!!! Perfect!
8/8/11 6:49 PM
khunter said...
Fantastic!!! I want one too.
8/8/11 7:32 PM
Lee-Lee said...
As always, you do fantastic work, Kay! I'm regularly in awe of your precise, beautiful sewing, perfect fabric choice and fit.
8/8/11 10:28 PM
Diane333 said...
Just love reading and seeing what you make.
8/8/11 11:24 PM
Maree P said...
Simply stunning...congratulations on a beautiful suit Kay.
8/9/11 6:04 AM
sewbarbie said...
I was curious about this one, I think it looks better on you than on the envelope. You did a great job.
8/10/11 0:30 AM
Margaret said...
Great jacket!
8/11/11 11:42 AM
Mahler said...
Again, I am impressed with your skills. This is such a great jacket. Wonderful project. Bravo Kay !!! The look is as good as the Akris jacket.
8/23/11 9:37 PM
MareeAlison said...
Amazing!
9/9/11 2:18 AM
QueenBeeOne said...
Your did a very good job on this and it fits very well on you!! I hope I do as well for my daughter..She saw The Akris version and begged me to make it for her.
12/7/11 1:14 AM
Bonnie123 said...
Great, I can't wait to make my suit. Yours turned out so well. Great color. I think that I am going with white.
1/26/12 12:13 PM
Dmd4106 said...
great looking outfit.I too fell in luv with the sleeves.
6/12/12 7:19 AM
ocean girl said...
Your jacket is beautiful, and did I mention I liked the sleeves. I also liked the fact that like many of us with 35+ or more years of sewing, that we often change the pattern instructions so that they lend for an easier construction. I was glad that you mentioned that you also took in the sleeves at the edge. As a woman of mixed sizes , I often find that the sleeves are very large on me and not tailored to my needs. The top stitching makes a fantastic finishing detail and thoroughly adds to the classy look of your garment. You ought to be very proud of your sewing talents with this jacket and skirt combo.
7/17/12 11:15 AM
ocean girl said...
Your jacket is beautiful, and did I mention I liked the sleeves. I also liked the fact that like many of us with 35+ or more years of sewing, that we often change the pattern instructions so that they lend for an easier construction. I was glad that you mentioned that you also took in the sleeves at the edge. As a woman of mixed sizes , I often find that the sleeves are very large on me and not tailored to my needs. The top stitching makes a fantastic finishing detail and thoroughly adds to the classy look of your garment. You ought to be very proud of your sewing talents with this jacket and skirt combo.
7/17/12 11:16 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Favorite Things L008
photo
Review by marisa.jam... on 4/26/09
Read Review

Oliver S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2787
photo
Review by Lori V on 8/21/08
Read Review

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern
You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5640 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
McCalls 5640 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6465 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
McCalls 6465 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us