SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> EvaDress> 7531 (1933 Ensemble)

Viewed 383 times 
Reviewed by:Nick D
photo

 
 
About Nick Dstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 5/16/10
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/24/11 4:51 AM
Last Updated:8/25/11 4:27 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
a life in stitches said...
A very interesting review. I like what you have done, and thanks for the link to Eva Patterns (I'd not heard of this company). You did well with your shoulder-pads/sleeve supports. With regard to the lack of side shaping, if Eva Patterns are reproducing the originals, as they seem to be, rather than making modern re-drafts, it is quite common in patterns of this era. There seems to have been an assumption that the dressmaker would achieve quite a lot during the fitting process. I look forward to seeing more of your work.
8/24/11 5:24 AM
Rhoda K said...
A beautiful jacket and a well done review.
8/24/11 7:57 AM
marec said...
Very interesting review and a beautiful jacket. The shoulders are quite strong, and you achieved that look-well done! I love this pattern company for inspiration, though have not used any of the patterns. You have given me good info on what I must expect if I tackle an EvaDress pattern.
8/24/11 10:28 AM
Time4me said...
Very very nice. I love the fabric. You look like you just stepped out of the 30's!
8/24/11 11:02 AM
Jacqui315 said...
This is a pattern that had caught my eye before. You've made it up beautifully with a fantastic review!
8/24/11 12:22 PM
rozzybabe said...
Beautiful jacket, & well done, as is normal for you. I'm just adjusting a muslin for an Eva Dress pattern, so am looking forward to sewing the garment, & making more garments from this great site. Keep up the super work & reviews!
8/24/11 6:25 PM
Bethwhitch said...
This is so smashing! I have wanted to try an Eva pattern- now this may be the one! Where did you find the horse canvas?? Can't find it anywhere!!
8/25/11 8:28 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Gosh, this is gorgeous, and your wife is wearing the perfect shoes for the authentic look! I'd never heard of EvaDress so thank you for the link. They seem to have a lot of dramatic styles that I wish would come back in style.
8/25/11 8:50 AM
Nick D said...
Thank you all! Bethwhitch, I'm lucky enough to live near a haberdasher that stocks hair canvas at a good price, but I've found it online as well.
8/25/11 4:30 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Lovely! your wife is very lucky to have such an experienced sewer in the homr!
8/25/11 5:42 PM
XandraReynolds said...
I very much like your solution to building the sleeve cap details, Nick. Also, I agree with Rhoda K. Your review is very articulate.
12/12/11 4:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Vogue Patterns 8409

photo
by: Scheri

Review
Vogue Patterns 8587

photo
by: Passion4Se...

Review
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

Buy Now