Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
EvaDress: 7531 (1933 Ensemble) - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 380 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Nick D
photo
About Nick Dstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 5/16/10
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/24/11 4:51 AM
Last Updated:8/25/11 4:27 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
a life in stitches said...
A very interesting review. I like what you have done, and thanks for the link to Eva Patterns (I'd not heard of this company). You did well with your shoulder-pads/sleeve supports. With regard to the lack of side shaping, if Eva Patterns are reproducing the originals, as they seem to be, rather than making modern re-drafts, it is quite common in patterns of this era. There seems to have been an assumption that the dressmaker would achieve quite a lot during the fitting process. I look forward to seeing more of your work.
8/24/11 5:24 AM
Rhoda K said...
A beautiful jacket and a well done review.
8/24/11 7:57 AM
marec said...
Very interesting review and a beautiful jacket. The shoulders are quite strong, and you achieved that look-well done! I love this pattern company for inspiration, though have not used any of the patterns. You have given me good info on what I must expect if I tackle an EvaDress pattern.
8/24/11 10:28 AM
Time4me said...
Very very nice. I love the fabric. You look like you just stepped out of the 30's!
8/24/11 11:02 AM
Jacqui315 said...
This is a pattern that had caught my eye before. You've made it up beautifully with a fantastic review!
8/24/11 12:22 PM
rozzybabe said...
Beautiful jacket, & well done, as is normal for you. I'm just adjusting a muslin for an Eva Dress pattern, so am looking forward to sewing the garment, & making more garments from this great site. Keep up the super work & reviews!
8/24/11 6:25 PM
Bethwhitch said...
This is so smashing! I have wanted to try an Eva pattern- now this may be the one! Where did you find the horse canvas?? Can't find it anywhere!!
8/25/11 8:28 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Gosh, this is gorgeous, and your wife is wearing the perfect shoes for the authentic look! I'd never heard of EvaDress so thank you for the link. They seem to have a lot of dramatic styles that I wish would come back in style.
8/25/11 8:50 AM
Nick D said...
Thank you all! Bethwhitch, I'm lucky enough to live near a haberdasher that stocks hair canvas at a good price, but I've found it online as well.
8/25/11 4:30 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Lovely! your wife is very lucky to have such an experienced sewer in the homr!
8/25/11 5:42 PM
XandraReynolds said...
I very much like your solution to building the sleeve cap details, Nick. Also, I agree with Rhoda K. Your review is very articulate.
12/12/11 4:43 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

McCall's M5433
photo
Review by Rustybobn on 3/16/08
Read Review

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt
Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo All Star Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )
Peek-A Boo All Star Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2010-102
photo
Review by MissCelie on 11/8/13
Read Review

Burda 7084 Pattern
Burda 7084 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6244 Pattern
New Look 6244 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us