Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
My Pattern Designer Software: 15271391 (darted dress, circle skirt) - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in PR Challenge - Unconventional Materials Contest    printable version
Viewed 455 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Clareew
photo
Friend of PR
About Clareewstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 33
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/13/11 5:39 PM
Last Updated:8/14/11 12:14 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crazygrad said...
Cute- but what is curtain lining? I've never had lined curtains!
8/13/11 6:35 PM
Marie367 said...
The dress is very cute. How creative. Beth should be careful going outdoors with that on. The birds might take a liking to it!
8/13/11 7:07 PM
lucylal said...
That is really cute! What an amazing imagination the two of you have. My girls will think this is very cool!!
8/13/11 7:10 PM
SheBear0320 said...
Very imaginative idea from you and your daughter -- glad you were able to use the project to work through some teenage hormones. Well Done!
8/13/11 8:51 PM
Clareew said...
Crazygrad, curtain lining keeps the warmth in and stops fabrics fading and disintegrating in the sun. I use it for muslins quite often because it is cheap or often got at charity shops.
8/14/11 3:58 AM
Claverie said...
Love it. Brings a smile to anyone who sees it. ;)
8/14/11 2:04 PM
crazygrad said...
Thanks, Clare! I guess the lack of lining explains why some of curtains look old and sad!
8/14/11 7:50 PM
Judy Kski said...
What a fun project to do together with your DD. I love your creativity. This was an interesting project to read about. I just love the final dress!
8/14/11 7:57 PM
annakeeton said...
I like the idea of having to eat chocolates to work on a project!
8/14/11 8:43 PM
lnwmelon said...
Very creative and very fun dress. Wow--I love all the materials you used.
8/15/11 9:00 AM
marjoriekh said...
This is wonderful! My daughter is in awe, and wants all her friends to see this. She just wandered off mumbling something about making a shirt out of twizzlers.
8/16/11 3:08 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Oh my goodness, what little girl wouldn't love this dress! Love to eat it that is, LOL! Awesome job and great imagination!!
8/16/11 7:25 PM
dreamdesigner said...
I LOVE this! what fun!!!! It's better than any of the creations from the last episode of PR! Love that the dog had a part as well! lol!
8/16/11 7:58 PM
Gail in Western WA said...
Clever! Love the popcorn idea!
8/17/11 0:39 AM
ElizabethDee said...
What could be more fun than a sewing project involving popcorn, eating chocolate, and attracting a puppy? Very clever.
8/17/11 10:05 AM
CAgirl said...
Just reading the review of the process was fun! I can't imagine what a great time this must of been for you both. The dress is a knockout!
8/22/11 6:42 PM
Clareew said...
Thank you all for your kind comments. The dress was a real bonding experience (and I don't just mean the hot glue gun)
8/23/11 4:12 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Fun. ;) I love that photo of Beth at the sewing machine.
4/28/12 2:52 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Simplicity 2599
photo
Review by Dilliander on 12/25/12
Read Review

Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 6M- 4)
Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 6M- 4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Spring dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Spring dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3740 Tops
photo
Review by Danvillegi... on 6/27/10
Read Review

SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern
SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Sheer White
PerfectFuse Sheer White

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7326 Pattern
Burda 7326 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5891 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5891 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us