Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2365 (Misses' Tunic Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 401 times 28 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR
About Annette1starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 147
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/13/11 3:46 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $15.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Well, of course, I was WHINING!!! I saw it on the dressform and HAD to see it on you (make-up or not). And.... your eyes don't look like the pee-holes in the snow! This "DRUSTER" as Karendee calls it, is going to be SOOOO perfect with those boots. I love it! It was totally worth all of your trouble! Thanks for another very helpful review! :-)
8/13/11 4:20 PM
Karendee said...
Hate to keep repeating myself, but your reviews are the best ever!! I always feel like I have completed a sewing lesson. You have made an amazing garment and I am jealous. This fabric drape, color, and texture really enhance the nice pattern. Who would have thought this pattern would make such a wonderful garment. Enjoy with your trendy boots and scarf!!
8/13/11 4:29 PM
carolynw said...
I love your "Druster" - it came out a 10+ but I can feel your pain with this fabric - have sewed it but I didn't have the staying power you do - mine did not make it even to "let's think" closet - it's a bugger to sew and using a sew in interfacing is probably the best thing to do. The color is lovely ion you and the scarf adds a really nice touch. Good to see a review from you - very helpful as usual!!
8/13/11 4:30 PM
cmarie12 said...
I'm thinking that all of the pain of dealing with the fabric was worth it. This is a very pretty dress on you!
8/13/11 4:58 PM
SewWil said...
This pattern makes a great dress. Very nice dress on you. Your scarf is perfect for it. As usual your reviews are very informative. Thanks for the information.
8/13/11 6:04 PM
Peggy L said...
Wow! I like it - especially with the drawstring knotted. I'm afraid this would have been a wadder if I attempted it. Bravo for you for dealing with that fabric. Great review as always.
8/13/11 6:13 PM
Barbara V said...
What? you blocked out the "hideous sewing mess" behind you? It CAN'T be that bad! For a difficult fabric you turned it into a beautiful looking dress! I bought this pattern for a turnic, but your clever alteration makes me want to morph it into a dress as well. Really nice work thorughout and I really like the knotted drawstring detail.
8/14/11 9:26 AM
sewtime said...
You made a fantastic dress, very cute!! Enjoyed your review!!
8/14/11 10:27 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Love, love, love the dress but darling, you have to tell me where you got those boots!
8/14/11 2:33 PM
1SewSweet said...
Wow, this dress is really nice on you despite your challenges! It is definitely going to be a knockout with those boots!!!
8/14/11 3:29 PM
Catbird said...
I'm so impressed with how you handled that tricky fabric! My favorite shot is the "drawstring knotted" where you can see all the nice design detail. I'd love to see this with a wide belt & your killer boots!
8/15/11 8:39 PM
MNBarb said...
Now I want to see the boots, on you, with the dress. It's like getting into a good book then not being able to read the last chapter. I'm a scarf fanantic and am lusting after both scarves shown in this review. I love the word duster (and druster) but would not give this classy dress that name. In addition to being cool, wearing a dress, especially one from soft fabric, is like stepping out in public in your jammies. Thanks for all of the tips. You are so good at tutorials. By the way, your new Avatar is cute, cute.
8/21/11 8:13 AM
Mahler said...
I agree with you, dresses are way mor cooler then pants. What a great colour. Wonderful to mix with your brown boots. That look rocks !!
8/23/11 9:28 PM
FreyaStark said...
It was really clever of you to see the potential for a dress in that pattern and worth all the effort it took to me it work. The colour is lovely and it looks good on you. And I ADORE that leopard print scarf nestled around the neck.
9/20/11 5:40 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

McCall's 2132
photo
Review by Sister of ... on 12/5/09
Read Review

Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2648
photo
Review by aburlock on 3/11/12
Read Review

Gracie Handbag
Gracie Handbag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern
SewBaby

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 0119 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0119 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5998 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5998 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us