SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 6559 (1970s dress and jacket)

Viewed 1684 times 
Reviewed by:Tonya
photo

 
 
About Tonyastarstar
CO USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 50
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/12/07 8:20 PM
Last Updated:8/12/07 8:29 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Budo Bear Designs


Asian Designs
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aunt Cathy said...
Very nice Tonya. I have made that dress so many times for my mom way back when. I've also kept all those old patterns and always wondered if I should try using them again. Thanks for the great review and thanks for taking us back in time.
9/17/04 10:09 AM
jlg said...
Tonya, very pretty on you (and you don't look at all dumpy).
9/17/04 11:14 AM
Neefer said...
Very Cool!
9/17/04 11:25 AM
ladylola said...
Very nice! Love the fabric!
9/17/04 12:58 PM
Snowblossom said...
What a beautiful dress it looks very good on you, and good choice of fabric too. Its really worth it to keep old patterns which work. They may come back in style or may be able to be adapted to current styles.
9/17/04 1:18 PM
JDpenelope said...
Beautiful color and fits so nicely. I think the 70's are back "in"--everything seems to be "so retro" now.
9/17/04 5:06 PM
Diana M said...
I remember that pattern -- I made it for my first trip to Las Vegas out of Qiana -- does anyone else remember that fabric? Very nice look for you.
9/17/04 5:40 PM
Tonya said...
Thanks for the kind comments all - it's quite interesting to me to see that several people recognized this pattern! Must've been a popular one in its day.
9/17/04 10:07 PM
mag said...
Very nice review. I like the oldie patterns. It is fun to find this type of thing. I have some really old ones that I got at an antique auction that don't even have the cutting lines on them. Afraid to use them. Also some not quite as dated that I would like to try.
9/18/04 1:27 PM
candyo said...
Very cool! Nice to see you back- I was wonderng what happened to you!
9/18/04 1:48 PM
christine A said...
It is wonderful!
8/12/07 8:35 PM
tomed said...
I would definitely not say "dumpy"! Very nice indeed.
8/12/07 8:47 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Both dresses look great on you! Love the fabric used in the shorter version and like the ribbon touch.
8/13/07 6:47 AM
Re Becca said...
I reall like the bigger print and the shorter length, it looks very "now". nice dress.
8/13/07 7:41 PM
ZoeP said...
Very nice. This motivates me to sew some of the vintage patterns my mother-in-law. It looks great on you. And by the way, I remember what qiana is...
8/14/07 4:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2005-103

photo
by: LoriB

Review
BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 8990

photo
by: Heatherriq...

Review