SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1224 (misses dress)

76 more reviews
Viewed 472 times 
Reviewed by:Steffie
photo

 
 
About Steffiestarstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/6/04
Reviews: 99 (patterns: 89)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:8/17/11 7:34 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Sue Parrott said... (8/19/11 10:07 AM) Reply
Great fabric, beautiful dress that fits your daughter beautifully!
Fran G said... (8/19/11 6:39 AM) Reply
I was the one who asked about your elastic technique so Thanks for the photo! I understand now.
waltzqueen said... (8/18/11 12:40 PM) Reply
What a cute dress, and it looks fabulous on you!
Steffie said... (8/18/11 10:45 AM) Reply
Elke - here is a link to a pic of another dress I did. In this example, I put the casing below the waist seam. In the Vogue dress, the casing was placed above the waist seam. The Vogue directions call for a narrower elastic than the example I am showing here. http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4073/4819072174_70336eecac.jpg (I think you will have to copy/paste the link to view the pic or look at my review of McCalls 6112 for a direct link)
Elke said... (8/18/11 9:17 AM) Reply
very cute!
Fran G said... (8/18/11 8:07 AM) Reply
I agree, this dress is a great look. Could you elaborate a bit on how you formed the casing for the elastic using the lining? I can't quite visualize what you meant when you said you "shifted the lining up when sewing the seam. Sounds like it might be a technique to know. Thanks!
Aixoise said... (8/17/11 9:33 PM) Reply
Your daughter would look good in anything - but, that said, you've made her a beautiful and very becoming dress.
Mary M. Mohr said... (8/17/11 8:22 PM) Reply
Love the pattern and fabric. Looks wonderful on your daughter. I especially appreciate the tip about the lining forming the casing. I always hate to add a casing piece. Great idea.
SewWil said... (8/17/11 8:18 PM) Reply
Very pretty dress! Perfect fabric for this pattern.
Lori V said... (8/17/11 7:39 PM) Reply
Gorgeous dress, the fabric is great,too.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

New Look 6123

photo
by: DCDeigns07...

Review
Vogue Patterns 1011

photo
by: elizaturn

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Pattern Details
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Pattern Details