SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1224 (misses dress)

75 more reviews
Viewed 463 times 
Reviewed by:Steffie
photo

 
 
About Steffiestarstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/6/04
Reviews written: 99
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:8/17/11 7:34 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Gorgeous dress, the fabric is great,too.
8/17/11 7:39 PM
SewWil said...
Very pretty dress! Perfect fabric for this pattern.
8/17/11 8:18 PM
Mary M. Mohr said...
Love the pattern and fabric. Looks wonderful on your daughter. I especially appreciate the tip about the lining forming the casing. I always hate to add a casing piece. Great idea.
8/17/11 8:22 PM
Aixoise said...
Your daughter would look good in anything - but, that said, you've made her a beautiful and very becoming dress.
8/17/11 9:33 PM
Fran G said...
I agree, this dress is a great look. Could you elaborate a bit on how you formed the casing for the elastic using the lining? I can't quite visualize what you meant when you said you "shifted the lining up when sewing the seam. Sounds like it might be a technique to know. Thanks!
8/18/11 8:07 AM
Elke said...
very cute!
8/18/11 9:17 AM
Steffie said...
Elke - here is a link to a pic of another dress I did. In this example, I put the casing below the waist seam. In the Vogue dress, the casing was placed above the waist seam. The Vogue directions call for a narrower elastic than the example I am showing here. http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4073/4819072174_70336eecac.jpg (I think you will have to copy/paste the link to view the pic or look at my review of McCalls 6112 for a direct link)
8/18/11 10:45 AM
waltzqueen said...
What a cute dress, and it looks fabulous on you!
8/18/11 12:40 PM
Fran G said...
I was the one who asked about your elastic technique so Thanks for the photo! I understand now.
8/19/11 6:39 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Great fabric, beautiful dress that fits your daughter beautifully!
8/19/11 10:07 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Buy Now
Petite Plus 203 Pattern

Petite Plus 203 Pattern

Buy Now