Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8717 (misses vest, jacket and pants) - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 609 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Mahogany Stylist
photo
About Mahogany Styliststarstarstarstar
IL USA
Member since: 6/26/07
Reviews written: 250
Favored by: 146 people
patterns reviewed: 239
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/19/11 8:28 PM


See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jenleeC said...
I like the jacket on you, particularly the pleated sleeves. The back zipper looks fine. Maybe you would be happier with the pants if the front pleats were not sewn down?
8/19/11 9:51 PM
sewtime said...
I love your outfit! !
8/19/11 11:17 PM
pdiddly said...
Its horrible when you spend so long making a complete outfit only to be unsure about it - I don't think it looks as bad as you think thanks for the review
8/20/11 4:31 AM
1SewSweet said...
Sorry, that's so unfortunate so much time was spent on something you're not totally happy with...I can definitely relate! (been there, done that!).
8/20/11 7:18 AM
Claverie said...
Actually, I think you're 'stylin' it.
8/20/11 7:20 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Lovely outfit! But I hear you on the shortwaisted issue. Have you tried a no or far less contrasting color for the blouse? Think that would solve the visual conflict between your (mine too) long legs short torso build. Pants look fab!
8/20/11 7:25 AM
JoyceP said...
Thank you! I have this pattern and will definitely not abandon my muslin-makin' ways :-) BTW, I agree with jenleeC that the front pleats are the issue. They end at just the most inconvenient spot - otherwise the ensemble looks really good on you. Hope you can tweak it!!
8/20/11 9:47 AM
cleverkitty said...
I know what you mean about the high waisted pants, I made a pair and I'm done with that style, pleats don't look good on me. I can relate too...
8/20/11 10:11 AM
Sue Parrott said...
I really like the outfit and believe me, we can be our own worst critics!
8/20/11 10:52 AM
Terri A said...
You look better than you think:-)
8/21/11 0:09 AM
grey ann said...
Ditto comments re: the pleats. Try a white belt with that white top. It will lengthen your torso, or like Nancy said, less of a contrast color for the top.
8/21/11 3:14 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Thank everyone.
8/26/11 12:34 PM
Gendun said...
Yes, it's a cute outfit. I have the pattern but wasn't keen on the jkt until I saw yours! As for the pants, don't give up on back zips - they make your derriere look cute! (hehe) As for the front, I agree there is something hinky with the pleats. The pants fit perfectly until you hit the them. Overall, however, it's totally cute!
2/18/13 0:25 AM
Babs313 said...
I made this jacket because I loved the styling. What a disappointment, though. I had the same flyaway effect in the back as pictured, but the entire jacket made with the correct size and cupsize that I always use was way off. I ended up giving it to someone who weighs about 40 lbs more than I do. She loves it.
9/9/13 11:11 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2007-03: short sleeve
photo
Review by hongkongsh... on 11/17/07
Read Review

Simplicity 1885 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 1885 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3921 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Simplicity 3921 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1247 Rachel co Mey
photo
Review by fabricepip... on 2/29/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern
SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us