SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1248 (AKO Misses' Top and Skirt)

7 more reviews
Viewed 464 times 
Reviewed by:Marge99
photo

 
 
About Marge99star
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 4/8/10
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/20/11 6:45 AM
Last Updated:8/20/11 6:46 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
NJcowgirl said...
It looks fabulous. You did a wonderful job. I have this pattern so I really appreciate your comments about the sizing! Thanks.
8/23/11 5:26 PM
Batik said...
Your fabric makes this skirt! I think it looks a bit steampunk.
8/22/11 11:56 PM
Elke said...
Great looking skirt...it looks fabulous on you!
8/21/11 8:12 PM
Ebony mood said...
I looooove this skirt! I have this pattern too and am now excited to make it.
8/21/11 5:39 PM
Carolyn.S said...
Oh, SO fabulous! I wish I had this pattern too (not in catalogue anymore sadly!), it is just gorgeous!!!
8/21/11 8:55 AM
lesliez said...
I love your skirt. I think it looks great in the softer fabric and I like the longer length. Bravo!
8/21/11 0:36 AM
mmcp said...
Thank you so much for this--I have had this pattern on my desk for about a month, so really appreciate the review. I have the 4-10 package, will def. check the sizes there before I start to cut! On my copy, you sew the ctr back seam in para. 33--after you've installed the invisible zip, which is where I'd expect to find it.
8/20/11 2:50 PM
Marge99 said...
Poor Jane Griffiths - if only she had a skirt like this one! I like the pockets on the website too.
8/20/11 11:46 AM
mad stash said...
Wow - thanks for the notice about the sizes on the skirt AND top! I think your skirt looks better than the pattern model. The length, fabric type and print work fantabulously. Sock puppets are cute too. :)
8/20/11 10:34 AM
sfshaza said...
Superb!
8/20/11 10:27 AM
jenleeC said...
What a fantastic skirt! I have just read through your blog and love the garments you have made...they are all the patterns I covet but have not been brave enough to make up. I am petite and would get lost in all the fabric but I still adore the designs. I even have V1476 in the stash!
8/20/11 7:59 AM
Wino said...
Love your review. never would have considered this pattern, but looks like a fun and interesting design. Thank you for pointing out the potential sizing issues.
8/20/11 7:59 AM
FreyaStark said...
A fabulous skirt, and thanks for a delightful review.
8/20/11 7:32 AM
a life in stitches said...
I think you've created an amazing skirt, and I enjoyed the humour of your review. Can I give you a quote from Barbara Burman's 'Pockets of History': 'In 1777, Jane Griffiths, a woman known locally for 'having a bad character', was... accused by Thomas Wainwright of stealing two live ducks. She had tried to hide them in her pockets and escape across the fields'. More info. on www.vads.ahds.ac.uk/collections/pocketsofhistory.html.
8/20/11 7:27 AM
prttynpnk said...
I love this- love the sock puppets!
8/20/11 7:17 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2008-116

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Butterick 5145

photo
by: guineveres...

Review
Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Buy Now
8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now