SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5490 (Misses' Dress)

9 more reviews
Viewed 402 times 
Reviewed by:Andreahg
photo

 
 
About Andreahgstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 12/19/05
Reviews: 97 (patterns: 97)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 60 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/21/11 1:25 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Deals!

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
crazygrad said... (8/29/11 10:36 AM) Reply
Thanks for the broad shoulders comment. I have VERY broad shoulders so this pattern may warrant a look.
Riesie said... (8/21/11 10:20 PM) Reply
Sorry it didn't work - it kind of has that retro vibe that you like. It will make a lovely skirt, though. If you do salvage it, be sure to update the review - I'd love to see it.
Kayseri said... (8/21/11 7:30 PM) Reply
Shame this didn't work, its lovely fabric.
Gail in Western WA said... (8/21/11 3:05 PM) Reply
I'm find this problem with RTW tops and even bras -- plus size people aren't necessarily wider! Straps and necklines are often too wide, when we need... thickness? I don't often sew tops for myself, but if I do, thanks for the heads-up on this issue.
aliesje said... (8/21/11 2:29 PM) Reply
what a bummer that the dress (which i've made and love) doesn't work well in plus sizes; according to a plus size designer friend of mine, it's true that you can't just grade up indefinitely, and that plus size clothes simply need different slopers. Esp in the bodice. It does look like it'll make a really nice skirt - I like the print!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8828

photo
by: onegirlsop...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Pattern Details
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Pattern Details