Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Ottobre Design Magazine: 01-2011-29 (No Kung Fu outerwear pants) - Type:Kids(boys & girls)
Review submitted in Sewing For Children Contest    printable version
Viewed 120 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:J Wo
photo
Friend of PR
About J Wostar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 6/5/06
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/23/11 6:14 AM
Last Updated:8/23/11 6:37 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancy Rhodes said...
Did the boy love them? I am paticularly impressed with the perfection of you top stitching & how pro' your waistband elastic looks. Any tips for us on how you got that stitchin To look so sharp?
8/23/11 7:04 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
These are so professionally done! Beautiful work!!
8/23/11 7:51 AM
M.S. said...
Great pants! Ottobre pants are the best. Fussy and time consuming, but worth every minute as the results look RTW! I like to make their boy pants for my little girl sometimes......in girly colors of course. It appears you're quite experienced with a sewing machine!
8/23/11 9:58 AM
J Wo said...
Thank you for the comments! Nancy, my colleague and his son were delighted with the pants! For the topstitching I used my edge stitch and 1/4" feet (it's a little tedious swapping them over all the time but produces a really nice finish) and I used a topstitching thread. For the back pocket topstitching, I ironed a freezer paper outline onto my material and simply stitched around the outside
8/23/11 2:21 PM
Gail in Western WA said...
Clever with the freezer paper! I think cargo pockets are so much fun to do. Great job! What elastic did you use in the waistband?
8/23/11 3:22 PM
kiwilass said...
I can only agree with Nancy; the finish and that topstitiching and are very professional. Great job!
9/12/11 0:30 AM
Silknmore said...
You did a great job on these pants - impeccable top stitching. Could I ask what type of snaps you used for the pockets and where you purchased them?
9/13/11 2:20 PM
J Wo said...
Silknmore, the snaps were purchased Online from The Snap Source. They have a fantastic range and seem very reasonably priced. Gail in Western WA, the elastic was an inch wide - nothing special. The boy did not want adjustable buttonhole elastic so I had to secure the ends with topstitching and decided to add the other topstitched rows for decoration and to hold the elastic a little more firmly in place
9/14/11 7:25 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Fashion Sewing Group 1945 Jacket
photo
Review by Sewing Chi... on 3/2/10
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Pier 49 Convertible Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Pier 49 Convertible Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Zippy Jacket Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Zippy Jacket Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5271
photo
Review by Patty the ... on 10/2/10
Read Review

SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern
SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern
You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2790 Pattern
Jalie 2790 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1369 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 1369 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us