SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Design Magazine> 01-2011-29 (No Kung Fu outerwear pants)

Review submitted in Sewing For Children Contest
Viewed 120 times 
Reviewed by:J Wo
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About J Wostar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 6/5/06
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/23/11 6:14 AM
Last Updated:8/23/11 6:37 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancy Rhodes said...
Did the boy love them? I am paticularly impressed with the perfection of you top stitching & how pro' your waistband elastic looks. Any tips for us on how you got that stitchin To look so sharp?
8/23/11 7:04 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
These are so professionally done! Beautiful work!!
8/23/11 7:51 AM
M.S. said...
Great pants! Ottobre pants are the best. Fussy and time consuming, but worth every minute as the results look RTW! I like to make their boy pants for my little girl sometimes......in girly colors of course. It appears you're quite experienced with a sewing machine!
8/23/11 9:58 AM
J Wo said...
Thank you for the comments! Nancy, my colleague and his son were delighted with the pants! For the topstitching I used my edge stitch and 1/4" feet (it's a little tedious swapping them over all the time but produces a really nice finish) and I used a topstitching thread. For the back pocket topstitching, I ironed a freezer paper outline onto my material and simply stitched around the outside
8/23/11 2:21 PM
Gail in Western WA said...
Clever with the freezer paper! I think cargo pockets are so much fun to do. Great job! What elastic did you use in the waistband?
8/23/11 3:22 PM
kiwilass said...
I can only agree with Nancy; the finish and that topstitiching and are very professional. Great job!
9/12/11 0:30 AM
Silknmore said...
You did a great job on these pants - impeccable top stitching. Could I ask what type of snaps you used for the pockets and where you purchased them?
9/13/11 2:20 PM
J Wo said...
Silknmore, the snaps were purchased Online from The Snap Source. They have a fantastic range and seem very reasonably priced. Gail in Western WA, the elastic was an inch wide - nothing special. The boy did not want adjustable buttonhole elastic so I had to secure the ends with topstitching and decided to add the other topstitched rows for decoration and to hold the elastic a little more firmly in place
9/14/11 7:25 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

McCall's 6436

photo
by: Doobee64

Review
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Buy Now
DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

Buy Now