SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Japanese Pattern Books> Simple chic 8 (Blouse)

Viewed 277 times 
Reviewed by:TracyTheMaterialGirl
photo

 
 
About TracyTheMaterialGirlstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 11/20/09
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/24/11 8:45 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
a life in stitches said...
What a shame, and what a hard way to learn how careful you have to be when buying vintage fabric to sew with. I do hope you make up the pattern again in a new fabric, the design has such a nice simplicity. You would hope sellers at fairs would identify fabrics and tell you whether they have trial washed them.
8/24/11 10:01 AM
Elona said...
Aw, rats! It is indeed a cute little top, and what a pity to have it partly dissolve in the wash. You know, based on long years of experience, I do not fully trust ANY vendor to have labelled things perfectly accurately, so I simply wash and dry every piece of fabric that comes into the house. No surprises there--not any more!
8/24/11 12:15 PM
mm said...
What a shame. I hope you make it again and better luck next time.
8/24/11 9:08 PM
FreyaStark said...
I think you have to be very wary of vintage fabrics as they might well be worn or weakened, and I don't think you can trust non-mainstream vendors (I can't think of a better term) completely. Fabric I've bought from discount vendors has turned out to have uneven wear patches, suggesting great age, or has ripped when touched, suggesting either age or perhaps being faulty. Better luck next time. The pattern is worth persisting with if you basically like it.
8/25/11 2:33 AM
becca a said...
How terribly disappointing to have your fabric melt in the wash. Your top is a lovely shape and I'm sure you'll have better results in better fabric.
8/25/11 9:06 AM
marthamyers said...
This is a good reminder for us all. It's always tempting to just right into something that just feels right. I hope you will make another perhaps in pre-washed fabric. It looks like it will be a great top on you.
8/25/11 10:40 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

BurdaStyle Downloadable 7969

photo
by: julliams

Review
Simplicity 1882

photo
by: lydianmode

Review
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Buy Now
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Buy Now