SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Japanese Pattern Books> Simple chic 8 (Blouse)

Viewed 284 times 
Reviewed by:TracyTheMaterialGirl
photo

 
 
About TracyTheMaterialGirlstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 11/20/09
Reviews: 25 (patterns: 23)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/24/11 8:45 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marthamyers said... (8/25/11 10:40 AM) Reply
This is a good reminder for us all. It's always tempting to just right into something that just feels right. I hope you will make another perhaps in pre-washed fabric. It looks like it will be a great top on you.
becca a said... (8/25/11 9:06 AM) Reply
How terribly disappointing to have your fabric melt in the wash. Your top is a lovely shape and I'm sure you'll have better results in better fabric.
FreyaStark said... (8/25/11 2:33 AM) Reply
I think you have to be very wary of vintage fabrics as they might well be worn or weakened, and I don't think you can trust non-mainstream vendors (I can't think of a better term) completely. Fabric I've bought from discount vendors has turned out to have uneven wear patches, suggesting great age, or has ripped when touched, suggesting either age or perhaps being faulty. Better luck next time. The pattern is worth persisting with if you basically like it.
mm said... (8/24/11 9:08 PM) Reply
What a shame. I hope you make it again and better luck next time.
Elona said... (8/24/11 12:15 PM) Reply
Aw, rats! It is indeed a cute little top, and what a pity to have it partly dissolve in the wash. You know, based on long years of experience, I do not fully trust ANY vendor to have labelled things perfectly accurately, so I simply wash and dry every piece of fabric that comes into the house. No surprises there--not any more!
a life in stitches said... (8/24/11 10:01 AM) Reply
What a shame, and what a hard way to learn how careful you have to be when buying vintage fabric to sew with. I do hope you make up the pattern again in a new fabric, the design has such a nice simplicity. You would hope sellers at fairs would identify fabrics and tell you whether they have trial washed them.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
All About Buttons and Buttonholes
All About Buttons and Buttonholes

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 100492-1046

photo
by: petro

Review
Beginner Sewing Lab 103 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 103  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Pattern Details
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Petite Plus D202 DVD

Pattern Details
Butterick 5954

photo
by: catintheha...

Review