Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8280 (gored skirt) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 2307 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 337
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 238
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:01 AM
Last Updated:9/19/04 11:32 AM


See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $6.71 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $6.71  List Price: $8.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
gabrielle said...
You are the queen of cute skirts, I think. I would also leave it unhemmed--it looks perfectly fine in ultrasuede, and you eliminate the bulk. Nice job!
9/19/04 11:50 AM
CarolynGM said...
Wow Deepika -- this is really cute! I've already cut out my second version of this pattern in guess what, brown microsuede!
9/19/04 12:01 PM
Deepika said...
Gabrielle thanks! Irina I love your version so much more than mine. I am going to try the longer one next. Oh and if you are making yours in microsuded, you can eliminate the zipper like I did.
9/19/04 1:09 PM
Gigi Louis said...
What a great skirt! Yes, you can leave the bottom unhemmed - it probably hangs better that way in this type of skirt. Just be sure you have reinforced the seams if you had to cut anything off - otherwise they will open up during wear.
9/19/04 1:49 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Great skirt, Deepika! Beware though: when wearing that microsuede, you'll find yourself endlessly petting it--it's so soft!
9/19/04 3:06 PM
JDpenelope said...
Beautiful! OK, that's it. I'm going to place an order for this and other dynamite Burda patterns reviewed by Deepika, Irina and others.
9/19/04 3:45 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice skirt. Could you show a picture of the inside waist with the binding showing? I am trying to visualize how this looks.
9/19/04 3:56 PM
Deepika said...
Linda, if you look at the bound waistline photo again, I've replaced it with a new photo, showing the outside and inside of the finish. The one you see on top is the inside. Basically what you do is sew the band into a circle then sew it to the skirt RST and then wrap the excess over the SA and pin it to the inside. Then you stitch in the ditch. Hope this makes sense. Since this fabric is a knit, I did not finish the inside. In a woven I would first serge finish one end (the one which is inside).
9/19/04 6:30 PM
D1Diva said...
I was just looking at this microsuede today at Joanns. Now I have to go back! I would leave the bottom edge raw. I did that on a leopard print skirt I made from stretch twill last week and let it fringe in the wash. Very cute! I know the suede won't fringe, but I still like the look of the raw edge. Great skirt, great review as always!
9/20/04 0:52 AM
LiZ said...
Your skirt looks great, I think that I will get this pattern and try it out. I would also not hem a skirt in microsuede.
9/20/04 3:27 AM
PVA said...
Ditto all of the above! Thanks for the great review, love the bound waistline finish!
9/20/04 10:12 AM
mag said...
Very pretty skirt and very simple with your time saving suggestions. You are lucky, with my wide hips I know I would have to put in the zipper. Still worth trying the pattern.
9/20/04 7:18 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Studio Kat Designs 02100
photo
Review by RenaeA on 3/14/10
Read Review

Sis Boom Maddie Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Maddie Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Bubble Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Bubble Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5666
photo
Review by racehorse on 2/14/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6277 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
New Look 6277 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1767 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L )
Simplicity 1767 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us