SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8280 (gored skirt)

11 more reviews
Viewed 2312 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 355
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 293 people
patterns reviewed: 255
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:01 AM
Last Updated:9/19/04 11:32 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $6.71 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $6.71 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
gabrielle said...
You are the queen of cute skirts, I think. I would also leave it unhemmed--it looks perfectly fine in ultrasuede, and you eliminate the bulk. Nice job!
9/19/04 11:50 AM
CarolynGM said...
Wow Deepika -- this is really cute! I've already cut out my second version of this pattern in guess what, brown microsuede!
9/19/04 12:01 PM
Deepika said...
Gabrielle thanks! Irina I love your version so much more than mine. I am going to try the longer one next. Oh and if you are making yours in microsuded, you can eliminate the zipper like I did.
9/19/04 1:09 PM
Gigi Louis said...
What a great skirt! Yes, you can leave the bottom unhemmed - it probably hangs better that way in this type of skirt. Just be sure you have reinforced the seams if you had to cut anything off - otherwise they will open up during wear.
9/19/04 1:49 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Great skirt, Deepika! Beware though: when wearing that microsuede, you'll find yourself endlessly petting it--it's so soft!
9/19/04 3:06 PM
JDpenelope said...
Beautiful! OK, that's it. I'm going to place an order for this and other dynamite Burda patterns reviewed by Deepika, Irina and others.
9/19/04 3:45 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice skirt. Could you show a picture of the inside waist with the binding showing? I am trying to visualize how this looks.
9/19/04 3:56 PM
Deepika said...
Linda, if you look at the bound waistline photo again, I've replaced it with a new photo, showing the outside and inside of the finish. The one you see on top is the inside. Basically what you do is sew the band into a circle then sew it to the skirt RST and then wrap the excess over the SA and pin it to the inside. Then you stitch in the ditch. Hope this makes sense. Since this fabric is a knit, I did not finish the inside. In a woven I would first serge finish one end (the one which is inside).
9/19/04 6:30 PM
D1Diva said...
I was just looking at this microsuede today at Joanns. Now I have to go back! I would leave the bottom edge raw. I did that on a leopard print skirt I made from stretch twill last week and let it fringe in the wash. Very cute! I know the suede won't fringe, but I still like the look of the raw edge. Great skirt, great review as always!
9/20/04 0:52 AM
LiZ said...
Your skirt looks great, I think that I will get this pattern and try it out. I would also not hem a skirt in microsuede.
9/20/04 3:27 AM
PVA said...
Ditto all of the above! Thanks for the great review, love the bound waistline finish!
9/20/04 10:12 AM
mag said...
Very pretty skirt and very simple with your time saving suggestions. You are lucky, with my wide hips I know I would have to put in the zipper. Still worth trying the pattern.
9/20/04 7:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

StyleArc Jenny Shirt

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Butterick B5796

photo
by: QuikSew

Review
Perfect Pouches

Perfect Pouches

Buy Now
Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Buy Now