SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Pamela's Patterns> #104 (The Perfect T Shirt)

12 more reviews
Viewed 642 times 
Reviewed by:Renren
photo

 
 
About Renrenstarstarstarstar
Member since: 7/20/05
Reviews written: 228
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 219
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/30/11 5:31 PM
Last Updated:8/30/11 5:41 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cultured Purl said...
Oh I forgot to say I did do the petite adjustment, did you try that?? makes A huge difference~
5/13/12 12:41 PM
Cultured Purl said...
Yes, you do have to have a skin tight measurement as the pattern talks about in order to work w/ fit, like I said, I did take out a LOT b/c I am a 0/2 but I really did get the best fitting T ever, I also purchased her DVD as I was kind of new to " knits" once again, I am very happy w/ all the pattern I purchased ( banded cardi, pencil skirt) but take the time to fit, as I learned and it gave me one really cute T top, and I could have worn a neg ease Jalie etc but I liked the way I can add pretty details to his pattern, I took in 1/2 in CB, 1/2 CF on the smallest size,then kept trying on my muslin for waist shaping, this one does look like an expensive T when done, I like the curved hem( flattering if worn untucked tho I added to tuck in) and I get compliments all the time,,,,,also I purchased the diff necklines pattern to go w/ it, will be doing some boatnecks now and a T dress or 2 for summer, I hope you can get yours to work for you! Good Sewing!
5/13/12 12:40 PM
Darla in PA said...
I would be interested to hear how the next size down went for you. I just tried this top in a M and it was huge on me. The only changes that I made to the pattern was the shoulder slope, drop the armhole, and make the neckline a scoop. It didn't look too bad from the front and the hemline hung really well but you could tell by looking at the back that the the top was too big. Unfortunately, the knit that I chose to use doesn't photograph well so you can't see most of the problems. Pamela gave me instructions to narrow the back but also had me remeasure. I'm am now going to try the pattern in a SM. Pamela told me that when measuring that the tape measure had to be skin tight to get the correct measurement.
4/21/12 4:56 PM
Cultured Purl said...
I am sorry you had difficulty w/ this pattern, I got a perfect fit and I am very small ( 2 RTW) I did not need the darts at all and I took the back in so maybe some help from Pamela would be good? I have all the patterns from Jalie to CJ and this one is the best fitting pattern I own, I do lay this over a Sewing workshop pattern I want to make up and will franken pattern it b/c I do not want to re invent the wheel, if a pattern fits well, keep it! I also think some of the problem ( as mentioned) may be lack of lycra? Now I used to wear negative ease in my t tops but as of late have given those away bc I see a trend that is a little looser in better RTW, but I love Eileen Fisher clothes etc,,,,,,,dont give up! Call or emal Pamela she will walk you thru it and with the persistance you have, you WILL get a custom fit t! REALLY,, just hang in there, and keep trying!
3/11/12 5:32 PM
Renren said...
Thanks, grey ann. Yes, I did use the high bust measurement. I read the pattern directions several times and I also watched the video I bought about 6 times!!! I also bought the stay tape and the hem tape from the website as well as several patterns! I was going to make this work. I really thought this was going to be the most perfect project I would complete to date. I think you are right on the fabric being at least part of the problem, but I also think it's more complicated. I almost certainly should start with a Medium. We shall see.
9/2/11 6:54 PM
grey ann said...
I am sorry you had such a bad experience with this pattern. I love it. I am 5'2" and have all the problems of aging that Pamela addresses. I think part of the problem was your fabric. I think you need lycra for the knit to recover. I have made this in rayon, ITY, poly/cotton ponte and yes, cheap interlock from Joanns and that cotton was the worst fitting one ("I only wear it around the house to clean" bad. ) Since I have such a short torso, I fold out 1/4" between shldr and armscye on both F and B; shortened the shoulder width. I widened and deepened the scoop neck a little; and widened to two sizes larger at the hips. I have used a dart and no dart. Did you use your high bust measurement and measure correctly? I hope you try it again with a better fabric and a smaller size. This is my go-too tee pattern. Good luck!
9/2/11 6:50 PM
sewing for fun said...
I had to go down in sizing on this pattern, too. Try again (if you don't feel alien-ized!) I also use Christine Jonson keyhole top as a base, then used PP neckline and hem with excellent success!
8/31/11 7:54 PM
Renren said...
Thanks for your comments, everyone! I definitely will give it another try and I will carefully reread everyone's comments at that time and see if I can make it work.
8/31/11 4:56 PM
Judy Kski said...
I have this pattern and love the fit of it. I made a size Medium (normally XL in RTW) and had to do a forward shoulder adjustment, lengthen the front and back and take 3/8" from the shoulder before it fit me. It worked well for me because it's one of those patterns that goes from Sz. 12 at the top, Sz. 14 at the bust and ends up at Sz. 16 at the hips (for example). I don't know how many times I've seen this written in reviews here on PR, but it seems to be a common denominator with the mature figure. Renren, you definitely have the body type that this pattern is designed for, forward shoulders and a mature figure. You appear to have a rectangular figure so you don't need the waist shaping. Go down one size and redraw the waistline area straight down as Pamela shows you on the first page of the directions. If you feel the sleeves are too large on your arms, use the narrow sleeve line when you make your pattern piece for the new sized sleeve. For the bust, use your high bust measurement. Do you think you can get away with using the undarted pattern piece? Once you've sewn the shoulder seams together, put the top on and look in a mirror. If the shoulder seam extends beyond your shoulder, trim the seam off and taper to nothing at mid sleeve. One other suggestion would be to contact Pamela Leggett and ask for her assitance in helping fit this pattern for you. Good luck with your next try!
8/31/11 4:08 PM
FreyaStark said...
Sorry you had such a disappointing and frustrating experience. At first glance, the top looks quite good from the front, but I saw your point as I went through the review. Do try again, maybe with a different pattern. The next one will be even better!
8/31/11 6:17 AM
Margaret said...
Sorry this pattern didn't work out. It sounds like aside from the fitting changes probably being to pronounced to fit you well (especially in back), it may also have way more ease than you want -- and the shoulder seams look a little too long, so I think going down at least a size is the right move. I would bet you might still have to shorten the armhole area, as well, because there probably isn't enough difference in armhole depth between sizes to take care of all the extra. (Personally, I don't usually fit any patterns out of the envelope, so it's just a matter of choosing the companies/lines/styles/sizes that will require the simplest/least number of alterations for me. It's possible that like Erika, you'd find the Christine Jonson patterns, or some other line, fit you better as drafted.)
8/31/11 4:27 AM
clothingengineer said...
I appreciate your honesty. I was thinking of ordering this pattern but it sounds like it addresses all the figure flaws I don't have!
8/30/11 11:23 PM
jannw said...
I thought this looked pretty good on you until I noticed the sleeve seams...I admire your determination to make it work!
8/30/11 10:08 PM
treefrog said...
Sorry you had such a rough time with this pattern. I'm not so keen on darts in a knit top - some KS and Vogue patterns have gathering on the side seam which work quite well.
8/30/11 7:50 PM
RadarRadiance said...
It does look pretty large for you. I have done up this pattern and was very pleased but I didn't use the dart for a knit and found with a two way stretch I almost needed to use the XS or S. I didn't use the extra hip but kept the sides straight other than a little smaller at the waist. I hope you get this one to work for you it isn't a bad pattern. I am petite and size 38 bust so negative ease worked going smaller in this pattern.
8/30/11 7:26 PM
Elona said...
Actually, my first response to your front view photo was that it looked pretty darned good, apart from the fact that the shoulders were a little long. The back view, however, clearly needs alterations. You are right, I think, to give the designer credit: She was trying to make it easier for us, but the truth is that no pattern fits all of us out of the box. There are too many body types, too many variations. We have to know our own body types and our measurements by heart. We also--without fail--have to 'flat-pattern measure' our patterns to check their girth in critical areas like the bust, waist, hips, armhole depth so that we can compare them with our REAL measurements, regardless of the appealing prose on the pattern's envelope before we cut into our fabric.
8/30/11 6:55 PM
cerulean said...
I'm glad that you posted this and showed what sort of issues can come up! We don't all age the same!
8/30/11 6:50 PM
Erika Abner said...
I had a similar experience with this pattern and am returning to Christine Jonson's line, which fits well out of the envelope.
8/30/11 6:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Burda 7423

photo
by: HRigg

Review
Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
The Whimsy Bag

The Whimsy Bag

Buy Now