SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1208 (Tom & Linda Platt bias dress)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1257 times 
Reviewed by:jenleeC
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jenleeCstar
WA Australia
Member since: 6/4/11
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/12/11 0:07 AM
Last Updated:9/12/11 10:22 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 31 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Flying Seamstress said...
Simply fabulous dress, suits you perfectly! Love the PJ shorts too.
9/12/11 0:14 AM
Vonnevo said...
Totally Fabulous !!! Thanks so much for your VH review :)
9/12/11 0:37 AM
mm said...
Great fit and lovely dress.
9/12/11 1:28 AM
Aroura said...
This is so pretty! A very wearable "muslin" The fabric is SO great. I hope your silk dress turns out just as well or better.
9/12/11 1:52 AM
lakaribane said...
I love it! Thanks for making this pattern. I'm Petite too and a 10 or 12 in Big 4 patterns so I think I'm going to do like you and cut out the 8. I vote for more shaping at the waist, btw. Can't wait for the silk version but this one is a winner...for a calico!
9/12/11 9:26 AM
kkkkaty said...
gosh, so pretty!
9/12/11 10:36 AM
MNBarb said...
I'm so casual that I like the PJ shorts as well as the dress. This is such beautiful fabric and perfectly matched pattern for it. Your bow looks professionally done. I think it stands alone without waist shaping.
9/12/11 11:26 AM
Camerio said...
Beautiful dress in a very nice print.
9/12/11 7:28 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Absoutely adorable! How cute and I agree that your fabric is perfect for the dress!
9/12/11 10:28 PM
JanineMck said...
drop dead gorgeous . Will there be a pair of PJs pants in emerald silk as well ??
9/12/11 11:26 PM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous dress! Love the fabric for your toile.
9/13/11 0:21 AM
Christas said...
Gorgeous dress! Can't wait to see the emerald green one. This one turned out so nice.
9/13/11 0:31 AM
ChristmasHills said...
I love it too. I don't think it needs any more shaping, looks great as is.
9/13/11 1:58 AM
Renren said...
Perfect. Love the fabric. Love the dress. Will be watching for the next one.
9/13/11 2:34 AM
margk said...
What a fabulous review and gorgeous dress! I agree about the hem. It could be nice with more waist shaping, but doesn't NEEd it. Love the shorts too : )
9/13/11 4:17 AM
zuzu_petal said...
Fantastic review. Your ironing assistant looks a bit disgruntled if you don't mind me saying. Oh, I suppose I look a bit that way, too, when I iron.
9/13/11 6:39 AM
Fran G said...
Beautiful dress..you look so cute ! The Kantenband tape that you used..it looks like a strip of fine fusible interfacing..is it similar to that? And did I understand correctly..you laid it in the seam allowance, just catching the edge in your stitching? Thanks for your review and with my questions.
9/13/11 7:32 AM
NJcowgirl said...
Beautifully done. Looks great. It's more than a trial dress. I think more shaping at the dress will change the great line you have now. I have the pattern and wasn't excited about the bow till I saw how well your bow turned out. Looks great--so do the shorts!
9/13/11 8:26 AM
Oh2Sew2 said...
Very flattering for such a simple design. I like the bow in the slightly smaller size...as for the shaping, that is a personal call regarding fit preference, it drapes wonderful. I do understand though, because I too like to have an "essence of waist" on my tops as well as my dresses.
9/13/11 8:36 AM
sewbehind said...
Very pretty and very flattering. Great job.
9/13/11 11:13 AM
waltzqueen said...
Thank you for the wonderful review! Your dress is beautiful and suits you very well. I like the drape the way it is. Simply and elegant.
9/13/11 1:09 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Beautiful dress!
9/13/11 1:43 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
Very cute! Love your fabric choice. This is a great review and turned out to be a great project! Nice job!
9/13/11 7:41 PM
Karine said...
Beautiful dress! Aren't you glad you did a finished garment instead of a toile! Looking forward to seeing your silk version. You've got a winner here.
9/13/11 8:26 PM
Raye Ann said...
Thanks so much for the review. I bought this pattern and have been on the fence due to poor/ few reviews. I love yours! I am going to give it a try in a fabric similar to yours before I cut the " best" stuff to see if the style will suit me.
9/13/11 11:30 PM
Deepika said...
I was so excited to see your review and the dress. This pattern is currently on my table! I don't make any muslins either, so I can relate to your experience. I can only wish my wearable muslin looked as beautiful as your dress. Love the fabric too! So pretty!
9/15/11 10:41 AM
JodieT said...
Great review, thank you. I have this pattern and I am tall and slim. I am also afraid of bias and cutting expensive fabric. I really like your machine hem. It give the dress more character. You look beautiful in this!
9/15/11 6:27 PM
jenleeC said...
Thank you everyone for the lovely comments. I am glad the review was helpful, even if it turned out a bit long. It is always a bit nerve wracking to try a pattern that has had a poor review. Lakaribane, NJcowgirl, RayeAnn, Deepika and Jodieth, I am looking forward to seeing your versions on PR. And yes, there will be some silk PJ's, but this time for me instead of DD! Cranky puss is happy now I have finished sewing and can devote all my attention to her!
9/16/11 0:02 AM
Bonnie123 said...
Cute dress. Nice work!
9/16/11 9:24 AM
NC Carol said...
Thanks so much for the review. Good to know about the waist measurement. I bought this pattern last fall to make a Christmas party dress but never made it. (well, maybe this year, eh?) Your kittie is adorable. I get similar help here from my cat, Smidgen. :)
9/17/11 11:48 AM
Spool64 said...
Your "muslim" turned out great! I really like the hemline-the proportion looks just right. I do not understand how you came to choosing to cut out a size 8 when your measurements were telling you otherwise. Looks like the right decision, but how did you know to forego the sizes applicable to your measurements?
9/18/11 5:20 PM
jenleeC said...
Spool64, I guess this just comes from experience and finding out the hard way what sizing seems to suit your particular body the best. I always check the finished garment measurements as well as assessing the general look of the garment (loose, fitted etc). I have learned that for a fitted garment I need to sew to my size and even add extra in at the hip/thigh area, but for a loose garment a smaller size fits me better around the neck & shoulders provided there is enough ease in the hip & butt, LOL! Being petite I can't wear garments with as much ease as a taller person can so going down a size seems to work well for me. Hope this helps...mostly it is just learning about your particular body shape and also assessing the pattern style.
9/19/11 10:04 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
You made a beautiful dress and wrote a very helpful review. Thank you so much!
9/20/11 7:22 AM
Alison RSA said...
Looks stunning!
11/30/11 3:50 PM
sew4pidi said...
You did an awesome job. You inspired me to go ahead with making this. I like the PJ pants too. Thank you!
1/22/12 0:24 AM
Skittl1321 said...
Beautiful! Did you ever make another with your special fabric?
2/9/12 2:47 PM
velosewer said...
I've just cut my version out and your review is already very handy in getting this dress to work. The fabric I'm using might be a cheaper silk so I'm not being that precious about the construction aspect of this dress. I will pay attention to the shaping at the waist.
8/3/12 0:35 AM
knovak said...
You look adorable in your dress!
8/24/12 2:50 AM
PrincessLeah1 said...
This is one time I didn't make a muslin, cuz I didn't want to go out an buy more fabric. I am working with a very slippery lovely silk Charmuse - so yes, a lot of seam ripping ensues. One thing I am happy to see on your dress as well, the neck line in front ends up a little asymmetrical - nothing like what the pattern shows. Also, I like your two versions of hems, I prefer the machine one - since that ripply hem (and the bow) are what attracted me to the pattern in the first place, will post my own review soon
2/15/14 2:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns V2899

photo
by: Dibs Maxwe...

Review
You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Buy Now