Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8581 (MISSES' TUNIC) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 657 times 29 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:Christas
photo
Friend of PR
About Christasstarstarstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 3/16/06
Reviews written: 119
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 107 people
patterns reviewed: 116
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/10/11 5:18 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
It's really beautiful and you look gorgeous with the top and jeans - poor Annette!! I have been looking at this pattern but was put off by the elstic hem at the bottom - am happy to see you didn't use it and it looks so nice - so now I must get this pattern!! Great work as usual and very helpful review - thanks
9/10/11 5:34 PM
FreyaStark said...
A really pretty top, and it looks great on you. I like it better without the hem elastic, too.
9/10/11 5:45 PM
JanieBee said...
Lovely top!
9/10/11 6:01 PM
Elemenopeo said...
I've been hemming and hawing about adding this pattern to my collection but it is such a nice top you sold me.
9/10/11 6:02 PM
Karendee said...
Christa, thanks for all the excellent hints in working with this great pattern. You blouse is a wonderful example of a feminine, elegant , easy to care for blouse. It can be worn with jeans and an elegant skirt. You definitely have a winner with this blouse, and it does look wonderful on you. Great review.
9/10/11 6:07 PM
angeleyes88 said...
The top is just stunning.
9/10/11 6:30 PM
jannw said...
how pretty on you!! Great job on the neckline..it looks perfect!
9/10/11 7:11 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Spectacular look! Love this top!
9/10/11 7:40 PM
Annette1 said...
I can't believe you took this pattern and made THIS gorgeous top! That's what I call VISION. :o) If I were you, I'd wear it till the DAY I DIED --ha! I absolutely LOVE the way you've styled it. Believe me, I WOULD have kept that fabric were it not for the H-O-T F-L-A-S-H-E-S, which kind of take away from the whole effect -- ha! That's so funny that Bernard even KNOWS what a PEASANT TOP is. I can assure you Bailey doesn't. :o)
9/10/11 8:03 PM
Catbird said...
Oh my goodness, I can't keep up with your pace these days! Every time I turn around you have a new creation. This is so beautiful on you and such a perfect choice for that pretty fabric from Annette. So funny . . . I thought the same thing as Annette did about Bernard's comment. It's impressive that he knows what a peasant top is!! This looks like a pattern you could use over and over and over -- it's a great look for you and I love the belts & accessories.
9/10/11 8:08 PM
Barbara V said...
I can hear the regret already coming from Annette!!!! What a dear friend to share such gorgeous fabric. That really is beautiful fabric and a great style for which to use it. I love this style on you - really elegant feminine to the max. Lovely work! P.S. I see that Annette's comments have arrived - yep, regret, but sadly out of her control!
9/10/11 8:22 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Ooooh, that is so pretty!
9/10/11 10:13 PM
Erin D said...
I love both versions of your top. Good call with keeping the elastic out of the hem. So much prettier without it.
9/10/11 11:27 PM
khunter said...
wow..... you look great in this top. I love your version.
9/10/11 11:37 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Great top - cream certainly looks good on you!
9/11/11 2:04 AM
LakesideLady said...
Looks great. Fabric is so pretty !
9/11/11 7:54 AM
1SewSweet said...
Oh Ms. Christas!!! I love you! This is one of my favorite patterns and I've only made it once because I hated, hated, hated the way the neckline was put together, but I love the look of the top! Your idea is perfect and as well as the look of your top!! Just absolutely gorgeous!! This will probably be my very next sun dress! Beautiful work and thanks so very much for the great tip!!
9/11/11 8:32 AM
cleverkitty said...
So feminine, fresh and pretty. I love it paired with the belt. Fabric is beautiful...
9/11/11 8:53 AM
MNBarb said...
You are miss-sewist-with-a-purpose this week and every garment looks fantastic on you. I'm so glad you returned to Joann's for those nine more patterns. I'm blaming you for my loss of control which caused the buying of two more Vogue patterns. This blousy style really suits you. It's loose and flowy but doesn't envelop your face and body. I'm sure if I said "peasant" at this time of year to my husband he would mistake it for "pheasant". He would then don his camouflage clothing and be gone for a week to the hunting shack. I'm impressed that you have a gentrified spouse who knows about such things! Congrats on a very successful top!
9/11/11 10:16 AM
Diane E said...
Beautiful! Good thing you beat Meggie to the fabric --- it's perfect!
9/11/11 12:07 PM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous top! I like the way you omitted the elastic from the hem. I had not thought of doing that. Your top looks wonderful on you and I like the way you accessorized it.
9/11/11 12:08 PM
Heatherrique said...
Your top is more appealing than the pattern envelope's sketches. I adore those sleeves on you!
9/11/11 12:11 PM
KrissyB said...
Wow, it's gorgeous! I don't think I have sewn anything from Vogue before. I just figured their patterns would be too difficult but you have inspired me and I think I will try this one. Thanks!
9/11/11 9:10 PM
KrissyB said...
Wow, it's gorgeous! I don't think I have sewn anything from Vogue before. I just figured their patterns would be too difficult but you have inspired me and I think I will try this one. Thanks!
9/11/11 9:10 PM
taylormade said...
thanks so much for this great looking top. The fabric is lovely and it's a great style on you.
9/11/11 10:17 PM
taylormade said...
thanks so much for this great looking top. The fabric is lovely and it's a great style on you.
9/11/11 10:17 PM
dukaqwn said...
Great looking top!! I like it better, too, without the elastic at the bottom. I had thought about that pattern but hesitated for that reason. Glad you tried it without that "bubble look" to let me see that it really is a great pattern!!
9/12/11 8:29 AM
Mahler said...
Very Ralph Laurent !!! The belt is perfect with it.
9/12/11 9:45 AM
GodsgirlT said...
Another GREAT top added to your wardrobe. Love this with the belt and jeans!
9/13/11 8:16 PM
MamaSewing said...
Another great top, love the fabric (all of Annette's fabrics are great!) and the way you altered the pattern to suit you perfectly.
9/14/11 8:20 AM
Pam in Amsterdam said...
peasant blouse I would say, beautiful, it suits you very well. Itīs a shirt for every occasion. Is your friend Annette not jealous, you didnīt make this garment for her?
9/29/11 7:31 AM
darkdesertmoon said...
Striking......absolutely beautiful.
10/25/11 0:27 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Vogue Patterns 7281
photo
Review by Renren on 2/28/11
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Poncho Pizazz Pattern
SewBaby  Poncho Pizazz Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Belle Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Belle Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pink Fig 14 The Mia Top
photo
Review by hiberniala... on 2/19/12
Read Review

Kwik Sew 4026 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4026 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6693 Pattern ( Size 101/2-12 1/2-14 1/2-16 1/2 )
McCalls 6693 Pattern ( Size 101/2-12 1/2-14 1/2-16 1/2 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us