SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Salsa Blouse (Salsa Blouse)

4 more reviews
Viewed 2516 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 384 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/22/04 1:57 PM
Last Updated:4/4/08 0:17 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisette said...
Beautiful wrap top.
9/22/04 3:09 PM
Linda E. said...
wow that is a great top I have the pattern and some super fabric for it just having got around to making it.
9/22/04 3:27 PM
Skymom said...
Gosh, that looks great on you, Ann. I've been hesitant to sew this pattern because it looks so full and gathery in the drawing. How do you think this would work for the A-cup and below crowd? I have a feeling I'd end up with a lot of droopy fabric across the front.
9/22/04 3:34 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Ann, your top looks great! I think SW did themselves a disservice by pairing the top with a full skirt on the pattern envelope...I may have to get this one after all...thanks for the reveiw!
9/22/04 3:45 PM
Modiste Madness said...
I always look forward to your reviews and seeing you lovely creations. This is another busy one.
9/22/04 3:52 PM
Ann Smith said...
Skymom, I think it would be fine for an A cup body. The draping is graceful. Just make the smaller size.
9/22/04 4:01 PM
jlg said...
So much prettier than I thought this pattern would be. Gorgeous on you Ann.
9/22/04 4:16 PM
Cassandra59 said...
This pattern looks so much better on you than on the envelope! It looked so full and bunched up in the drawing, I couldn't imagine it looking as refined as it does and, as someone else pointed out, the full skirt it was shown with was not a good suggestion. Thanks for the warning about the sizing.
9/22/04 7:27 PM
mm said...
I didn't like this pattern when I first saw it but it looks lovely on you.
9/22/04 11:50 PM
SueV said...
as usual your project has inspired me. I love all your stuff (I looked through your album where this blouse is). went to SW site and ordered 3 patterns! Great blouse, and nice work!
9/23/04 11:31 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
This is great looking on you, as usual. I have the pattern and hope to cut out within the next few weeks. I have a question about the collar: does it turn over at all to the front? I guess what I'm asking is does the fabric have to look the same on both the right side and wrong side? The pattern doesn't say the fabric needs to be the same on both sides, but when I looked at it, I thought the collar would roll over. Hope it doesn't because I have a fabric I want to use that is not the same on both sides. Thanks again for a great review.
9/24/04 9:30 AM
Debra H said...
This is very helpful. Top looks better than I expected so photo is great! Too bad they can't use your picture on pattern.
9/24/04 3:27 PM
Amanda L said...
So lovely, and so much better than the pattern drawing that now I have to buy this pattern! This would look very sexy in white shirting, I think. Thanks for the inspiration!
9/24/04 3:31 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Your top looks better than it appears on the pattern. Love the color. Looks great on you.
9/24/04 4:02 PM
CarolynGM said...
An unusual design that is very flattering on you, much more attractive than the pattern picture.
9/24/04 6:19 PM
Ann Smith said...
Harriet, the fabric rolls inward at the collar so the backside doesn't show. Be sure you have a fabric that drapes and rolls. Thank you everyone for your compliments.
9/25/04 0:52 AM
kedge said...
I could not get to the picture (moved to Flikr?) - could Ann repost?
10/18/07 1:04 PM
sew2little said...
The fabric may have been a nightmare, but the results are dreamy! Marci
4/4/08 0:18 AM
Ronda Rae said...
I really like it and it look great with the jacket. I cannot help but envy your scenery. It appears you've been gardening already. It's still a bit dreary here and Kansas; I want to be where you are right now! :-)
4/4/08 8:08 AM
Barbara V said...
Very creative use of border print! Even though fussy, the fabric was ideal for the soft collar treatment. It looks great on you.
4/4/08 10:21 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Graceful and elegant blouse, Ann, that is most becoming to you and fills the front of your stunning jacket just beautifully. I love your use of a border print, and that your left shoulder is devoid of strong print but retains just a few details of the fabric. Very designer boutique. You've sold me on this beauty and it's now on my wishlist. -Lily
4/4/08 1:39 PM
DorothyK said...
Stunning. I definitely must make this blouse. But first I have to find a fabric as beautiful as yours.
4/4/08 7:27 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Fabulous and wonderful!
4/5/08 2:19 PM
Mahler said...
This is such an interesting pattern. Thank you for making me discover new pattern sources. The fabric you used is simply fabulous. You seem to have a passion for asian inspiered patterns and fabric... As usual, this piece is gorgeous !
4/19/08 9:18 AM
Nancy K said...
Looking on the Sewing Workshop site I found this blouse and of course I looked for a review here on PR. I wasn't surprised to find your review and it really looks fabulous on you. I have shied away from these patterns because they the fit always seems so big. But really love the fit and lines on this one. This is definitely going on my list.
10/17/09 9:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Simplicity 2812

photo
by: facesunder...

Review
McCall's 5651

photo
by: NhiHuynh

Review
Lily Pocket Purse

Lily Pocket Purse

Buy Now
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Buy Now