SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8685 

23 more reviews
Viewed 1280 times 
Reviewed by:Christas
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Christasstarstarstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 3/16/06
Reviews written: 119
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 109 people
patterns reviewed: 116
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/13/11 9:43 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jenleeC said...
Your dress looks lovely and such a versatile style! Looking at the photo of your back "wrinkles" I guess if you are being really, really fussy the bodice is just a tad long in the waist for you but I don't think anyone else will notice!
9/13/11 9:54 PM
silverlakegal said...
What a classic dress. I like your flared version better than the one with the narrow skirt, which seems like it would require a perfect body.
9/13/11 9:59 PM
mm said...
You have been busy. Another lovely dress off the production line. I am looking forward to the next one.
9/13/11 10:36 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Darling dress and so perfect for any occasion. I place my order for you to make more winter clothes so summer will stay longer. :-)
9/13/11 11:10 PM
Aroura said...
Love your dress, it looks very nice! I'm sure the weather will change back soon enough, and you'll get to wear it often. I'm generally not a vige fan (never sewn one, I just mean the styles), but this one looks so great on you! I may have to add this to my rare vogue wishlist. :)
9/13/11 11:45 PM
SewWil said...
Your dress is very beautiful and looks great on you. I like the 3/4 sleeve a lot.
9/13/11 11:57 PM
NJcowgirl said...
The style and color look terrific on you. It's such a classic style you'll get a lot of wear from the pattern. I also like the 3/4 sleeves. They're very attractive. Your garments always look great!
9/14/11 0:16 AM
Annette1 said...
I LOVE your new NAVY dress -- WITH the tights, of course. :o) Ha -- I almost just said, "This dress looks like it was MADE for you," which it was, of course! You have the PERFECT figure for the seaming detail and the silhouette, and I can see you in the slim-skirt version, too. :o)
9/14/11 1:52 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
You have achieved a great fit and the dress is very flattering on you!
9/14/11 3:49 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely dress! I like 3/4 sleeves also. It fits you very well. Please continue to sew clothes for colder weather so I can have warm weather!!
9/14/11 5:30 AM
1SewSweet said...
I love this dress on you! It's perfect! The color and the style! I have this pattern and have not made it yet. I may need to move it up in my que!
9/14/11 5:59 AM
Peggy L said...
Great dress!
9/14/11 7:04 AM
becca a said...
What a lovely dress! I love the waist seaming. I will have to pull this pattern out of the stash and sew it up. Thanks for the inspiration.
9/14/11 7:18 AM
cleverkitty said...
I love this dress on you, I was looking at this pattern at the last pattern sale and passed it up at the last minute, the top stitching, shaping and sleeves is what attracted me to it, the zipper must have been hard to put in matching up all those seams. You did a great job putting it in. Fabulous dress I just may reconsider, I just don't have many places to wear a dress other then Church but thats a good reason to make it... right
9/14/11 7:45 AM
JenniferMM said...
Oh, I love this! I have this waiting to be cut in a light blue modal but I may need a navy now one too. Lovely fit and great job on all of that topstitching.
9/14/11 7:47 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
What a pretty dress! You did a lovely job on it, as always! Sew some summer clothes for us in Texas!!
9/14/11 7:49 AM
sewingsilly said...
I have a "zip tip" for you. When inserting a zipper, make a tiny clip into the zipper where the seam meets through both sides of the zipper tape. Then when your sewing the zipper in make sure the notch matches up at the waist seam on both sizes. This is something I learned while working in a Bridal Manufacturer years ago. Every seam intersection will match perfectly with this technique.
9/14/11 7:51 AM
sewingsilly said...
Your dress really turned out fantastic and it fits beautifully!! Wonderful Job!!
9/14/11 7:53 AM
MamaSewing said...
I love this dress! I think the seams are fine - no one else will think they don't match unless you tell them they don't!
9/14/11 8:00 AM
Irene Bullock said...
Good job, excellent winter dress! This pattern is also on my list, but it has just jumped the queue.
9/14/11 8:41 AM
slmstyle said...
Great job on your lovely and flattering classic dress! I'm certain you'll wear this for many occasions. I'll have to relook at having this one in my growing stash-and get sewing as fast and as well as you do!
9/14/11 9:01 AM
carolynw said...
Lovely dress - as usual it fits you perfectly and your work is impecable - love the the way those seams match perfectly at the back with an invisible zipper no less!! Way to go. Versatile dress - looks elegant on its own and casul well dressed with the scarf.
9/14/11 9:23 AM
annie11 said...
You look lovely in this style, and you did such a beautiful sewing job! Great work, Christa!
9/14/11 9:49 AM
sewbehind said...
You could wear this anywhere! Great looking dress. It looks great on you and is nicely styled.
9/14/11 10:24 AM
Barbara V said...
Nice to see you in such a great sewing mode. I hope to get with it again here soon. This is such a beautiful dress with lovely style lines that looks gorgeous on you. Even though it is warm now, in just a few weeks the weather will change and you will have ample opportunity to wear your pretty creation - super job!
9/14/11 10:40 AM
Terri A said...
Very pretty dress!
9/14/11 12:04 PM
Annette1 said...
Great tip, sewingsilly! I'm going to definitely try that next time I'm putting in a zipper crossing a seam. :o)
9/14/11 12:11 PM
Christas said...
Thank you all so much for the really nice comments! I will definitely use your wonderful tip for the next zipper, sewingsilly! Thanks!
9/14/11 1:05 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Lovely dress and the way you styled it is perfect!
9/14/11 2:05 PM
Karendee said...
Christa, you are a vision in this gorgeous navy dress. The design accentuates your wonderful shape and is such a versitle garment. You have done such a wonderful job on all the topstitching and other dressmaker details. I hope you use this patterns several times this fall. Amazing.
9/14/11 4:36 PM
JoanneM said...
YUM!!!!! I love this version. Copycat here I come..... !
9/14/11 5:22 PM
Sue Parrott said...
What a great dress! It fits you so well and looks great! I keep looking at this pattern and now I will add it to my ever growing stash!
9/14/11 7:21 PM
Catbird said...
At first glance I thought this was black and I thought how beautiful you look in black. Wrong! It's navy, but you still look beautiful, and I would say this pattern could turn into a perfect LBD for you, maybe in the sleeveless version with the narrow skirt. It would look great and the problem you mentioned with the wrinkles would be solved. Besides, you need to make this again so you can practice that excellent zipper tip from sewingsilly! The unusual seaming on this dress gives it so much style and creates such a pretty, feminine shape. I bet you'll wear this a lot this fall.
9/15/11 8:48 AM
MNBarb said...
You are having a string of successes lately. Who would think someone could look beautiful in a navy blue dress. This style is perfect for your figure and is so flattering. Nice work in pattern selection and sewing skills.
9/15/11 4:56 PM
blue mooney said...
This style really shows off your figure - good choice!!
9/17/11 7:45 AM
eugenia123 said...
A very lovely dress indeed! This looks like a real wardrobe hero - one of those gorgeous dresses that can be worn quite casually or dressed right up to look very glamorous. And, being a knit, it is comfortable to wear. You look wonderful in it!
9/18/11 6:25 PM
JanJanB said...
This dress is lovely on you
2/3/12 1:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Buy Now