SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2556 (Issey Miyake)

7 more reviews
Viewed 2236 times 
Reviewed by:Oziroo
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Oziroostar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 9/7/03
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/25/04 4:31 AM
Last Updated:9/25/04 8:23 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KathleenS said...
It IS a bit like a sarong isn't it. I wouldn't like this either, because I prefer to know what my clothes are going to look like, rather than having it different each time you put it on (and needing to rearrange it constantly).
9/25/04 9:01 PM
sewgirl said...
It looks pretty cool in the picture...I'm sorry it's not comfortable :(
9/25/04 9:13 PM
drsue said...
I think you need to be very tall, very thin, and very young to get away with this skirt.
9/25/04 9:32 PM
candyo said...
I agree- what a terrible design.
9/26/04 8:22 AM
AnneM said...
It does kind of look like a towel wrapped around you. As DrSue said, it might work for certain builds & styles, but not most.
9/26/04 8:37 AM
Pattern Junkie said...
Oh no! I just picked up fabric to make this skirt -- luckily it was a great deal from the L.A. fabric district! I think the skirt looks great on you, but it sounds like it's a nightmare to wear...
9/26/04 10:36 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I think that his patterns look great on some and not on others. I think, tall and willowy when I see his patterns. I am neither. Thanks for your review it will aid some in deciding to try or not.
9/26/04 4:11 PM
Skymom said...
Gee, I kinda like the way this looks on you, but it IS a "look," and I don't know that I'd be able to wear it either. I hadn't even thought about how the back would work, and clinging like a damp towel is not a style statement I'm willing to make! thanks for the review--I own this pattern but will probably put it on the bottom of the "to sew" list for now.
9/27/04 9:48 AM
nanneke said...
Thank you for the review, I bought the pattern and made it. I think it looks nice on you, but if you don't feel good in it, you don't! Years later: I took it apart, didn't work for me either.
5/19/07 9:39 AM
bevog said...
Shame you don't feel comfortable in it. I actually think it looks great!
4/30/09 3:20 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns 9949 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Buy Now