SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2921 (Scarf-Collar Tops)

99 more reviews
Viewed 426 times 
Reviewed by:Aroura
photo

 
 
About Arourastarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 7/30/09
Reviews written: 146
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 26 people
patterns reviewed: 141
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:9/29/11 5:26 PM
Last Updated:8/13/14 10:19 PM
Project Photo:Jalie: 2921 by Aroura

Jalie: 2921 by Aroura    
Pattern Photo:Jalie 2921
Jalie Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Polyester Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Edit for Version 2: 8/13/14
I made a new version of this top for summer, as my first version is more for cool weather.
So this one has the cap sleeves, and I didn't add to the length of the body like I did before. I actually shortened the tie about 2". (I like it longer, now that I've done it both ways).

The fabric is this crazy knit with sparkly stuff glued all over. I have no idea what possessed me to buy it, but once I did, I felt obligated to make it into the planned top. Not sure how much I like this color or the blingy-ness on me, but this pattern and fit are still good!
I did spend some time cutting the 2 front pieces carefully, so the diagonal splash of sparkles looks continuous. It's one of those silly things that would look bad if done wrong, but you don't even notice if done right.

OLD VERSION
Do we really need another review of this top? Yes, we do!
No one, as far as I see, has tried this top for a child. It's true that I wondered if it would be appropriate for a kid, as it is a pretty adult look, but it takes so little fabric, I figured it couldn't hurt to try. I think it looks nice, a bit dressy, but not too fancy. I really wanted to tie the scarf neck into a bow on DD's version, but I fail at bow tying 101 for kids.

I love Jalie because I can make clothes for DD and myself for the cost of one pattern, and often (though not this particular time), I can make her top out of the remnants from making mine. It's like free clothes for her!

Pattern Description:
Women's knit tops with scarf collar attached with a buckle (A), through opening at center front (B), or tied in a bow (C).

A great thing about this pattern is that although you must pick a sleeve length, you can have ALL the scarf looks in every top! Just leave the small CF opening and viola! 3 looks+ for the price of 1.

Top with buckle (View A)
Through CF opening (View B)
Tied in a bow (View C)
DD's top, in a loose neck tie

Pattern Sizing:
Like all Jalie patterns I've seen, 2 through 22.
For my daughter I cut a 3 (G), which is intentionally a little big on her, as I wanted some growing room for this top to last through this fall, winter and next spring.

For myself, I cut a T on the top, and tapered it to a U at the hips, as I seem to be keeping the weight I put on my hips last year.
As usual with Jalie, the fit is perfect.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, very much!

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes.
I know it's already been expressed half a hundred times, but it bears repeating. After reading many other reviews about the unusual burrito roll collar technique, and how it "might" be confusing but really isn't, I was worried I'd be that one person who couldn't work out how to do it. But everyone is right. The illustrations make it quite clear, and it turns out to be a very simple technique, just really cool and tricky.

It is also a very quick to sew pattern. I am usually a pretty slow sewist, but I managed to get both of these done in record time. Not including tracing and cutting, it took me about 2 hours each to sew these tops. Now, that isn't including hems, because I hand hemmed the sleeves of both, and the bottom of mine, which took a few more hours. I just love hand hems. If I hadn't spent the time to hand sew the hems, I could have finished these in 2 days.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
What is there to dislike? This is one of the best patterns I've ever sewn! This deserves to be in the hall of fame eventually, imo. It can be worn in SO many ways, even more than the 3 that the pattern describes. It can be casual or dressy, and it has absolutely no negatives I encountered.

I LOVE that I can wear this top in a variety of ways with just an easy change. I think I liked the buckle best, but also like the CF opening loose hanging look, and the bow.

I do not think the neckline is too low at all (some people raise it a tad). The scarf provides plenty of coverage, and I felt quite comfortable with it in all 3 positions. I think the cut and fit is perfect.

Fabric Used:
For DD, an inexpensive 100% polyester Jet-set knit from Jo-anns. I got it for 99c a yard with coupons, and DD picked the color. It was not a good choice of fabric for this pattern, as it doesn't have 2-way stretch. My mistake in missing that note on the pattern.
Also, it's just a chap fabric overall, and although easy to sew and easy to wash and won't wrinkle, I won't be buying any more of this kind of fabric.

For my top, I got this 1-5/8 yard remnant back on the clearance isle. From a burn test I did, I think it is cotton, but it doesn't wrinkle when wadded up, so I'm not sure. I know I've seen other reviewers use this exact same fabric before. It's nice, has a great drape and soft hand (is that the right way to say it?)

I'm not sure about how "young" this print looks on me though. As I was finishing it up, DD says to me "That's a pretty top for Grandma". Yeah, she thought it looked like something Grandma would wear, so now I'm not so sure how this print looks on me either! :/

I decided to try the buckle on mine, and just salvaged one off an old belt that no longer fits. I wish I had a round one as the pattern calls for, but the rectangle actually looks good, and matches all my silver jewelry (as I own almost no gold).

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I lengthened the sleeves to full length on mine to make it into a fall/winter/spring top. I also added 2" in length to the bottom as other reviewers have mentioned, and I like it pretty well, it covers my bottom. :D

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes and yes! Although, I probably won't be making more for DD, as I think it isn't really a child-friendly looking top (though she like it).

I already plan on making more for myself for winter. I may or may not not add the 2" length again.
This is sure to be a TnT pattern for me!

Conclusion:
My new favorite knit pattern of all time! Though my experience with knits is very limited, to be sure.
Suitable for almost all figures (and ages), and very versatile. A truly great pattern!

Check out my blog for more photo's, and other fun details.

Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JanJanB said...
I really like this top on you. And no it doesn't look like a grandma top!
9/29/11 5:49 PM
bethsews said...
I just bought this pattern, and your review (along with many others yes!) is a great help - thanks so much for the all the detail, and I agree, the top looks great on you, not grandma-ish at all - feel free to wear it!
9/29/11 8:32 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice job and I like the print. Not grandma-ish at all. Kids don't understand age like adults do. Everyone over 10yo is "old" to them. :) And besides, maybe your DD thinks grandma is young and hip, hence why she thought grandma may like it. :)
9/29/11 8:52 PM
cleverkitty said...
I have this top cut out right now ready to sew and if all goes well I will be making another following it. I cut the sleeves full length too. Your fabric is very nice and looks great on you. I remember seeing that fabric at Joann's which is perfect for this pattern. Your daughter looks so delighted in her new top. Thanks for reviewing I was excited to see your version.
9/30/11 8:24 AM
Diane E said...
Your top and your DD's top are very very pretty. Thanks for the photos demonstrating the different wearing options. We're seeing these kinds of tops all around right now -- very on trend.
9/30/11 10:42 AM
portercs said...
Your top looks great. I have this pattern and really need to get sewing....
9/30/11 1:02 PM
Calendria said...
so cute!
9/30/11 1:06 PM
JEF said...
Wonderful!
10/2/11 10:53 AM
TJSEWS said...
Love this top! I have this pattern. I really must get around to making it someday. I will refer to your review when I do!
8/13/14 10:37 PM
cleverkitty said...
I think the fabric looks great you can't go wrong with this pattern. I have made every sleeve length for every season. Your color is perfect for this time of year thanks for taking the time to post another version :)
8/14/14 7:27 AM
HRigg said...
Nice top. The sparkle placement is perfect. A new pattern to me so good to hear about Jalie.
8/14/14 7:45 AM
marec said...
It's a TNT for you, great fit and a good style on you. Fun review too.
8/14/14 10:42 AM
SewWil said...
No Grandma top there. Pretty top! I never tire of seeing this pattern sewn up.
8/14/14 12:49 PM
canei said...
Nice!
8/14/14 2:21 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
What a lovely, thorough pattern review. I think it looks wonderful on you, not at all like something grandma would wear.
8/15/14 9:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-123A

photo
by: tsedai

Review
Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Buy Now
Checkbook Cover

Checkbook Cover

Buy Now
Simplicity 5351

photo
by: westmoon

Review