Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
StyleArc: Pippa\'s Dress (Pippa's Dress) - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 1195 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
Reviewed by:mollymolly
photo
About mollymollystar
MN USA
Member since: 2/14/10
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/29/11 5:40 PM
Last Updated:9/29/11 5:42 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
Wow, this is your muslin and it looks amazing on you. Very flattering. I can't get over how well it fits out the envelope. (Well maybe I can because I'm a huge fan of Style Arc and their drafting.) Your wedding dress is going to be out of this world! Great review and it's good to see a review of the infamous Pippa dress, so thanks! Good luck with sewing the real thing.
9/29/11 5:48 PM
hpsauce said...
You look gorgeous! That style is perfect for you. Great job on rewriting the instructions - I'm sure they will help others.
9/29/11 6:02 PM
michellep74 said...
Fabulous, fabulous dress! I can't wait to see the final version of this. I have no need (or the figure) for this dress, but I loved the original and have been dying to see someone make it up!
9/29/11 6:37 PM
EMSB said...
That is beautiful! I can't imagine sewing my own wedding dress. My mom nearly melted down over sewing mine. Some very dear friends stepped in finished it for us. And wouldn't take payment! You look wonderful! Please post the official version. I look forward to seeing it. And I felt teary at the mention of your grandmother. I too still have those moments over my great-grandmother I lost nearly 13 years ago. But I also still hear her voice in my head when I need a little encouragement. She believed in me, so I should too :-). Your grandma would be beyond proud of you!
9/29/11 6:56 PM
JillyBe said...
You absolutely do look smokin' hot in this dress! Even though I have no plans on making it myself, I've been looking forward to a review - thanks for such a thorough one. I look forward to seeing the final dress :)
9/29/11 8:27 PM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful. I can't wait to see the wedding dress too! It looks lovely on you.
9/29/11 11:18 PM
Aroura said...
Amazing and beautiful! Congrats on your upcoming wedding. You are brave (and talented!) to make your own wedding dress!
9/29/11 11:59 PM
velosewer said...
The dress looks great on you. You're instructions are worth their weight in gold.
9/30/11 0:11 AM
mm said...
Great fit and great review. It will be a great wedding dress. Well done.
9/30/11 4:47 AM
Lori V said...
Fantastic dress, this is going to be such an amazing wedding dress.
9/30/11 7:07 AM
becca a said...
What a stunning dress! This "muslin" looks fabulous on you and I'm sure you will be a gorgeous bride. I'm tempted to sew this pattern even though my daughter and I have no need for such a fancy dress at the moment.
9/30/11 7:34 AM
RadarRadiance said...
I can just picture this dress done up in a beautiful silk, it has the most beautiful lines and you did a fantastic job on the dress. It looks great! Congratulations!!!
9/30/11 10:27 AM
slmstyle said...
Stunning! I can't wait to see your wedding dress in the silk version. Congratulations on your upcoming wedding and for challenging yourself to make your own wedding gown! Now I wish I had made my own gown as I had originally planned to. Great review too!
9/30/11 12:52 PM
portercs said...
Lovely -- Great job!
9/30/11 12:58 PM
slee said...
Your muslin looks wonderful on you! It's reassuring that StyleArc is so helpful when you are stuck. I can't wait to see your completed wedding dress! Please post a review for it.
9/30/11 4:16 PM
a life in stitches said...
This is looking really promising, and it looks as though the real thing will turn out well. The shape certainly suits you. I expect you have already done the research, but just in case it helps, remember that every fabric behaves slightly differently, especially on the bias, there is lots of info in books such as Claire Shaeffer's couture book, Marcy Tilton's Easyetc (it's the Tops section that is valuable, and Vogue Sewing Book). Interesting to see these bridal patterns coming through. For those of you who prefer Big 4 patterns, I see Butterick have a version, B5710, and they also inspired by That Wedding they have B5731 bridal gown and B5705, child bridesmaid.
10/1/11 5:53 AM
qz said...
wow!! this dress looks amazing on you - like other's have said ---smokin'....!! Style Arc's patterns are awesome...
10/1/11 7:33 AM
jenleeC said...
Your dress is looking fantastic! We'll all be watching for the final wedding dress. I noticed the Butterick pattern too but think the cowl and the sleeve caps look nicer on the Style Arc version.
10/1/11 8:42 AM
JEF said...
Wow! Beatiful you and beautiful dress. Can't wait to see the wedding version.
10/2/11 10:59 AM
JenniferBee said...
Another WOW! your wedding dress is going to look fantastic. Thank you for the detailed review of this pattern. Must admit every thing I've made from these patterns fit beautifully.
10/4/11 2:30 AM
meggy said...
I am loving StyleArc too and proud they are Australian, like me. Your dress is gorgeous and I would love to see your completed wedding dress once you have made it. It is exciting to see a review of the Pippa dress. I know what you mean about the instructions with StyleArc patterns, no problem for me yet with their other designs but I am sure your ammended version will help others!
11/9/11 10:09 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Green Pepper 401
photo
Review by cleverkitt... on 6/7/13
Read Review

Simplicity 1786 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1786 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8020 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )
Vogue 8020 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Indygo Junction IJ733
photo
Review by SewLil on 7/31/08
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Juliana Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Juliana Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns
Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us