Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Ottobre Woman Magazine: 05-2011-04 (Everyday scoop neck) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 329 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:angeleyes88
photo
About angeleyes88star
ON CANADA
Member since: 2/11/10
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 44
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/29/11 5:43 PM
Last Updated:9/30/11 9:20 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Julia C said...
Very nice coverstitching. I wonder how it would do as a sweater since it is loose & low cut.
9/29/11 9:51 PM
Ericaeli said...
I just made this one up too. I thought the neck was low too. I even added a band rather than binding to raise it up a bit. Mine is the same color as yours too.
9/29/11 10:48 PM
rivergum said...
I like your version f this top, but I think it may be a piece meant for layering, i.e. for a tee underneath with a higher neckline.
9/30/11 1:13 AM
Christas said...
Really nice! Your neckbinding is wonderful, too. Ottobre patterns are some of my all time favs!
9/30/11 1:45 AM
blue mooney said...
Love a good basic like you made! Thanks for the warning on the neckline.
9/30/11 7:28 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
Cute top! Thanks for the spray starch binding hint. I never use binding attachments because it is so fiddly getting it all to work right...maybe this will be the trick.
9/30/11 7:42 AM
angeleyes88 said...
I just edit my posting to add how I attach my binder. I was apprehensive about using mac tac (I thought it was cheesy) but it really works well I usually use the first two needles from left to right for attaching binding with the settings at 4 for the needles and 3 for the lower looper. The differential feed is set to 1 and the stitch length is set to 3.5. You might have to turn down the tension of the lower looper to 1 or 0 when going over seams. Hope this helps!
9/30/11 9:25 AM
Levone said...
Cute top! Great review with good tips. I definitely think this was made for layering (hence the low neckline) so thanks for pointing that out.
11/15/11 9:12 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Butterick 3955
photo
Review by mowse on 11/30/07
Read Review

Chelsea
Chelsea

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1150 DRESS
photo
Review by Sandi S on 4/2/13
Read Review

Simplicity 1513 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1513 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3772 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3772 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us