Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: 40 (Pyramid Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 554 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:DorothyK
photo
Friend of PR
About DorothyKstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 3/13/06
Reviews written: 87
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 80 people
patterns reviewed: 86
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/30/11 11:14 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marthamyers said...
Exciting is a great word for this. Lovely on you too. I have heard of this method, but haven't ventured into it myself. More fabulous inspiration from your adventures. Thanks for sharing.
9/30/11 11:20 PM
Elona said...
How brave of you to attack this most unusual pattern! The result is very, very pretty on you.
10/1/11 3:47 AM
jenleeC said...
Such a cool pattern! Love it! It reminds me of the Pattern Magic books in that the design and construction is so different from standard flat pattern making.
10/1/11 4:07 AM
NVK said...
I remember the first dress you made using the subtraction method. This is really a fun way to make an outfit. I like how well you look in the dress. It is fastinating to see the pattern cut out. I can't wait to see your next version.
10/1/11 8:15 AM
Patti B said...
What a stunning and very successful experiment. They look so interesting on you; are they fun to wear? Your accessories are the perfect finishing touch. Thanks for the reminder that we need to play more in the sewing room.
10/1/11 10:13 AM
rivergum said...
Ooooh, like, like, like! Thanks for being such an adventurous sewist and drawing my attention to these patterns. Your versions look fantastic and have really whetted my appetite.
10/1/11 5:57 PM
Irene said...
Wow, these are fabulous! The photo of your pattern layout is worth a thousand words--out of the box, indeed!
10/1/11 9:02 PM
Barbara V said...
Dorothy, I so enjoyed reading your review of your beautiful subtraction dress and tunic especially after seeing you wear the dress in person. I remember how rich and gorgeous it is, and all of the compliments you received from others who noticed it. I'm glad you posted the picture of the pattern layout which really helped demonstrate the concept of the garment. Nice work as always!
10/6/11 12:19 PM
kiddo said...
Thank you for a great review. Your results are fabulous! As stunning as the dresses are, I love that they emphasize your unique personality. Your choices of jewelry/accessories are perfect. Thank you for the great review
11/19/11 9:27 AM
jmcilyar said...
Have you made the longer-length dress? If so, did you use 60" wide or 45" and add to the width? If 45", did you add on two sides for balance? I would like to make this dress for a special party but would like it long!
3/3/12 4:52 PM
DorothyK said...
jmcilyar, I haven't made the longer dress yet but I did recently get fabric for it. It's 60" wide. For 45" fabric, I would definitely add the fabric equally on both sides.
3/4/12 8:29 AM
oldsewandsew said...
Interesting and unusual - I have this pattern, but am hesitant, as I'll need a FBA, and I'm not sure how to do that with this method. Any help you or others could give me would be appreciated. Your dress is really nice, and would love to get mine made up to see how I like it.
9/19/13 2:13 AM
ChixRule said...
you made both the patterns I also have! Great to see how well these turned out and have some tips. Looks great on you…especially like the tunic version.
1/3/14 5:31 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 1941 Misses blouse
photo
Review by SuzyBee on 6/19/12
Read Review

New Look 6463 Pattern
New Look 6463 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4885 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Butterick 4885 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 7196
photo
Review by Kim Winson on 11/5/02
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Blank Tank Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Blank Tank Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us