SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 2718 (Misses' Fitting Shell)

4 more reviews
Viewed 713 times 
Reviewed by:ArtAttack
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ArtAttackstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/11/11
Reviews written: 160
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 96 people
patterns reviewed: 152
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/3/11 1:03 AM
Last Updated:10/3/11 1:09 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pinkli said...
great review, thank you!
4/16/14 3:30 PM
Gendun said...
Great review - the detail will be extremely useful. I got hubby to agree to help me over the Xmas holidays. Score one for the girls! (hehe)
12/26/12 8:12 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
ArtAttack, I have a quick question as regards to choosing the pattern size based on the high bust. I assume you correlate your high bust to the closest "bust" measurement on the back of the pattern and not on the finished garment measures (which is how I typically decide which size to cut). If so, in my last dress I should have cut a 12 bodice which seems that it would be too big. Is this also the size I should purchase to make my sloper?
10/30/12 4:25 PM
ArtAttack said...
Gendun, I sent you a private email with fabric requirements. Thanks for the comment!
6/18/12 1:52 PM
Gendun said...
Ohhh... THANK YOU! I so badly wanted to do this, and a custom dressmaker here (who services the posh set matrons) told me McCalls had the best one. Apparently he makes one for each of his regular customers. Anyway, I ordered it last week, and your excellent & thorough review has really notched up my confidence. Can't wait! btw... my pattern has not arrived from McCalls yet. Do you have a rough ballpark idea on the yardage/meterage needed for the med sizes, please? Thanks again! :)
6/17/12 4:00 PM
Kandita said...
What an awsome fit! I can tell you put a lot of work into it. Should really help you in the future. I'm very interested in doing this also.
10/4/11 10:10 AM
Re Becca said...
Fabulous fit! You did a great job, I am sure it will be very helpful.
10/3/11 9:53 PM
sewbehind said...
This is something that I have always wanted to do. I even have the sloper patterns for Vogue, Butterick, Burda and New Look! Your review explains this process very clearly. I'm sure you will find that this benefits you immensely.
10/3/11 4:12 PM
ArtAttack said...
KathleenS...thanks. I did fit the sleeve and did not have any fitting issues there. Pati and Marta's advice was not to bother setting in the sleeve unless there were fitting issues. I took advantage of having permission not to do so!
10/3/11 12:28 PM
jenleeC said...
Very interesting! I am glad to hear you recommend this process as I have the Vogue fitting shell on my desk at the moment and have been trying to find the inspiration to spend a lot of time on an unwearable garment!! Now I am inspired, thanks!!
10/3/11 10:05 AM
KathleenS said...
It looks great. It might be worth putting the sleeves in - having got this far - just in case it reveals anything (I personally have problems with sleeved dresses that I don't notice in sleeveless garments.) I didn't realise this sloper pattern had cup sizes so thanks for mentioning that. I think when I bought a sloper pattern ages back it came with FBA instructions rather than cup sizes.
10/3/11 6:55 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
I have never sewn one of these before and am so glad to read a review from someone who has. Thank you! The pencil skirt result alone is worth the investment.
10/3/11 6:52 AM
MaryDB said...
Thanks for the thorough review. I just bought this pattern and "Fit for Real People" with the intention of making a sloper. Your review is very helpful!
10/3/11 2:36 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

KnipMode Magazine 01-2011-6

photo
by: treefrog

Review
You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

Buy Now