SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 2718 (Misses' Fitting Shell)

4 more reviews
Viewed 683 times 
Reviewed by:ArtAttack
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ArtAttackstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/11/11
Reviews written: 155
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 85 people
patterns reviewed: 147
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/3/11 1:03 AM
Last Updated:10/3/11 1:09 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MaryDB said...
Thanks for the thorough review. I just bought this pattern and "Fit for Real People" with the intention of making a sloper. Your review is very helpful!
10/3/11 2:36 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
I have never sewn one of these before and am so glad to read a review from someone who has. Thank you! The pencil skirt result alone is worth the investment.
10/3/11 6:52 AM
KathleenS said...
It looks great. It might be worth putting the sleeves in - having got this far - just in case it reveals anything (I personally have problems with sleeved dresses that I don't notice in sleeveless garments.) I didn't realise this sloper pattern had cup sizes so thanks for mentioning that. I think when I bought a sloper pattern ages back it came with FBA instructions rather than cup sizes.
10/3/11 6:55 AM
jenleeC said...
Very interesting! I am glad to hear you recommend this process as I have the Vogue fitting shell on my desk at the moment and have been trying to find the inspiration to spend a lot of time on an unwearable garment!! Now I am inspired, thanks!!
10/3/11 10:05 AM
ArtAttack said...
KathleenS...thanks. I did fit the sleeve and did not have any fitting issues there. Pati and Marta's advice was not to bother setting in the sleeve unless there were fitting issues. I took advantage of having permission not to do so!
10/3/11 12:28 PM
sewbehind said...
This is something that I have always wanted to do. I even have the sloper patterns for Vogue, Butterick, Burda and New Look! Your review explains this process very clearly. I'm sure you will find that this benefits you immensely.
10/3/11 4:12 PM
Re Becca said...
Fabulous fit! You did a great job, I am sure it will be very helpful.
10/3/11 9:53 PM
Kandita said...
What an awsome fit! I can tell you put a lot of work into it. Should really help you in the future. I'm very interested in doing this also.
10/4/11 10:10 AM
Gendun said...
Ohhh... THANK YOU! I so badly wanted to do this, and a custom dressmaker here (who services the posh set matrons) told me McCalls had the best one. Apparently he makes one for each of his regular customers. Anyway, I ordered it last week, and your excellent & thorough review has really notched up my confidence. Can't wait! btw... my pattern has not arrived from McCalls yet. Do you have a rough ballpark idea on the yardage/meterage needed for the med sizes, please? Thanks again! :)
6/17/12 4:00 PM
ArtAttack said...
Gendun, I sent you a private email with fabric requirements. Thanks for the comment!
6/18/12 1:52 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
ArtAttack, I have a quick question as regards to choosing the pattern size based on the high bust. I assume you correlate your high bust to the closest "bust" measurement on the back of the pattern and not on the finished garment measures (which is how I typically decide which size to cut). If so, in my last dress I should have cut a 12 bodice which seems that it would be too big. Is this also the size I should purchase to make my sloper?
10/30/12 4:25 PM
Gendun said...
Great review - the detail will be extremely useful. I got hubby to agree to help me over the Xmas holidays. Score one for the girls! (hehe)
12/26/12 8:12 PM
pinkli said...
great review, thank you!
4/16/14 3:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

Buy Now
Other Lined Snap Tape Purse

photo
by: Renren

Review