SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vintage Fashion Library> VFL139 (Spadea 1149 by Ceil Chapman)

1 more reviews
Viewed 832 times 
Reviewed by:lauramae
photo

 
 
About lauramaestar
CA USA
Member since: 4/28/09
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 99 people
patterns reviewed: 165
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/4/11 6:17 PM
Last Updated:11/15/11 3:20 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ChristineX said...
Fantastic!! <3
12/16/11 8:32 PM
nancy2001 said...
Congratulations, Laura Mae for winning the Threads contest!
12/6/11 1:27 PM
nancy2001 said...
My uncle, was the brother of Samuel Chapman, Ceil Chapman's first husband, whom she divorced before I was born, so I unfortunately never got to meet Ceil at family functions. But my uncle continued to work for Ceil until she retired, and he regularly brought my grandmother remnants of the most beautiful fabrics. One of my favorite early childhood memories is of going through piles of the most extravagant laces and silks with my grandmother so that I could choose the perfect combination for my Barbie doll's "Ceil Chapman" wedding gown which Grandma made for me as a birthday present. But it was only when I began sewing a few years ago that I began to appreciate Ceil Chapman's role as a leading American fashion designer of the postwar period.
11/16/11 7:42 AM
lauramae said...
Nancy Congrats to you! And how fantastic to be so closely connected to Ceil Chapman do you have any original gowns or sketches? I love each and every Ceil Chapman design I have ever seen and cannot imagine being a part of creating them!
11/15/11 11:59 PM
JillyBe said...
This is the essence of vintage glamour!!! Love love love the photo shoot. What a beautiful creation :)
11/15/11 8:55 PM
Wino said...
Very impressive workmanship and just beautiful on you. Love the color and embellishment.
11/15/11 7:37 PM
sewbehind said...
Stunning. You look beautiful in this. The colour and the style. I love how it looks from the back as well. Like Marec, I wonder where you wear these dresses? You would/will certainly make an entrance.
11/15/11 7:17 PM
nancy2001 said...
Lovely vintage dress, beautifully designed and crafted! I'm sure Ceil Chapman would be proud (my uncle was her head cutter and brother-in-law). By the way, I am also one of the finalists in the Threads Contest (Italian Chic by nancynancy). It would be wonderful if the winner came from the Pattern Review community.
11/15/11 4:21 PM
FreyaStark said...
Fabulous! A very impressive effort. I love the colour.
10/13/11 4:15 AM
ReginaLit said...
Your work is fabulous, OUTSTANDING!!!
10/10/11 7:08 AM
MichelleE said...
What a gorgeous masterpiece!!! Bravo!
10/7/11 6:05 PM
Marge99 said...
Well done, that is an impressive frock!
10/7/11 1:02 PM
JTink said...
I can't even find the words to describe how lovely this is. You did a beautiful job and look stunning.
10/7/11 9:15 AM
ghijsmom said...
This is the most stunning dress I've seen in your collection. Beautiful fabric. Beautiful work. You should be so proud of your accomplishment.
10/7/11 5:04 AM
ghijsmom said...
This is the most stunning dress I've seen in your collection. Beautiful fabric. Beautiful work. You should be so proud of your accomplishment.
10/7/11 5:03 AM
ClioBklyn said...
What a triumph! This dress is stunning - a real work of art. I can't imagine the hours that went into creating it. Brava!
10/6/11 3:47 PM
squirrellypoo said...
WOW! That bodice!
10/6/11 6:13 AM
manola6176 said...
Rarely have I seen such a gorgeous dress. It is divine ! Btw, where do you wear all your dresses ?
10/6/11 4:37 AM
manola6176 said...
Rarely have I seen such a gorgeous dress. It is divine ! Btw, where do you wear all your dresses ?
10/6/11 4:32 AM
Karen6790 said...
That is an amazing dress, and your color choice makes it absolutely perfect - flattering on you and yet perfectly true to the period. Beautiful work.
10/5/11 11:30 PM
moushka said...
You look like a vintage Vogue cover come to life! The dress is a masterpiece. Please, tell us about the event to which you wore it. The colour is lovely on you. Did the pattern say what year the design is from? I'm guessing early 'fifties. The New Look shape was so feminine.
10/5/11 10:12 PM
Diane333 said...
You are amazing! How can you accomplish so much sewing...it seems that you feature major outfits that you've sewn every week.
10/5/11 8:23 PM
calypso said...
You look like you stepped off the cover of a vintage Vogue magazine! Fabulous job. I hope you have an event to show this off - it's so gorgeous!
10/5/11 7:20 PM
Stephanie C. said...
That is a stunning dress!!! And you wear it well. Great job!
10/5/11 6:27 PM
SewWil said...
Stunning!!! Love your fabric selection.
10/5/11 4:05 PM
Norsecross said...
Heaps of drama in the gown!The neckline is pure glamor, which generally means hard to wear and needs all those specific undergarments! Wow, look at the effect when it all lines up!
10/5/11 10:50 AM
Judy Kski said...
All your efforts were well worth it. Your dress is just gorgeous!
10/5/11 6:38 AM
Rlkataja said...
WOW!! Gorgeous!
10/5/11 6:18 AM
tess said...
Oh your dress is simply stunning and you look beautiful in it! Thank you for your detailed photos really helpful!
10/5/11 5:21 AM
lauramae said...
Thank you all for your lovely comments! Poppykettle: I used 6" horsehair braid purchased from Vogue Fabrics. I have used 1/2" and 1" previously, and the 6" really made all the difference for me (although, I suppose, it would depend on the look you are going for). Also, I am wearing two fluffy petticoats as well to create the extreme silhouette.
10/5/11 2:59 AM
ChristmasHills said...
Wow, wow, wow. That says it all really.
10/5/11 1:52 AM
tsedai said...
Wow. That is an AMAZING dress. Just lovely.
10/5/11 1:11 AM
Terri A said...
Gorgeous! The fabrics you used for this dress are amazing.
10/4/11 11:23 PM
poppykettle said...
(Do = Did!) I see from your blog that you did - can I ask what width? I'm planning to use it in a skirt similar to yours and the moment and am flummoxed over which width to choose!
10/4/11 9:56 PM
poppykettle said...
The sleeves and neckline on this dress are just so gorgeous - the fabric colour really suits you too. Do you happen to use horsehair braid at all in your skirt hem?
10/4/11 9:52 PM
marec said...
Wow!! I am always interested in your projects and wonder "Where does she go to wear such gorgeous clothes?" My lifestyle is a bit ...rural... :-) Fantastic dress!
10/4/11 7:34 PM
Raye Ann said...
LauraMae, this is so beautiful! Congratulations on such a gorgeous creation.
10/4/11 7:00 PM
margk said...
You look divine! Wow, what a dress!
10/4/11 6:29 PM
Aroura said...
Wow!! That would have taken me weeks (if ever) to complete. You make the most amazing things, and in such good time!!! Absolutely, amazingly, completely beautiful.
10/4/11 6:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Kwik Sew 3672

photo
by: myeclectic...

Review
Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Buy Now